We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silent Sport Lodge Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wolverine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silent Sport Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Silent Sport Lodge Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
14750 Old Sturgeon Road, Wolverine, MI 49799   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Wolverine B&B and Inns
Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
303 reviews 303 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We spent one night here on a return trip from further North & wished we'd had time to stay longer. It is a beautiful log cabin in a gorgeous setting. Rhonda & John were fantastic hosts, it was very comfortable talking with them. Breakfast was great. It's location is convenient to many activities that can be done during the day then return to the Lodge for a peaceful evening. We definitely plan to go back & hope to make it this winter to one of their "snowshoeing" weekends.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Tucked off the main road by the Sturgeon River the Silent Sport Lodge provided comfortable lodging in a beautiful wooded setting. John and Rhonda were great hosts, cooked up delicious breakfasts, and made welcoming campfires. The rooms were very clean. Flower beds were beautiful. Finishing the afternoon sitting on the dock by the river was very relaxing. Oh, the homemade maple syrup was a plus.

Going green is a way of life for this lodge.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

Our recent long weekend stay at the Silent Sport Lodge was our first visit and it was terrific! Welcoming owners Rhonda and John have built a beautiful lodge in the woods and they are super hosts. Each day started with an outstanding breakfast, often featuring delicious food grown or raised on the property. Each night, we retired to a very cute and clean room nestled in the eaves of a gorgeous log house. In between, there was hiking in the forest, relaxing on the beach, shopping in nearby towns, and lots of communing with nature right on the lodge property and all throughout the area. Can't wait to visit again when we have more time to get in some fishing and boating.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

Our new favorite get away destination, went four times in past year, enjoying each season there. The setting is all peace...set in woods, with river, beaver pond, trails for hiking, cross country skiing, plenty of spots for reading, bird watching on the grounds. Sturgeon River is great for year 'round solo kayaking or winter rafting with a guide. Petosky is nearby for those who want town fun, not far from the Mackinac bridge.

The beautiful lodge has total privacy, room to be on your own or with others as you wish. Hosts, John and Rhonda are very talented, interesting people who know how to make a stay memorable. They offer guided walks, skiing, maple sugar tapping, great garden, outdoors knowledge. Always some animal friends around, currently raising ducks. Great breakfast in the sunroom overlooking the gardens. Cleanliness and comfort abound.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

This was our 6th visit to Silent Sport. In addition to great accomodations and breakfast, John and Rhonda are fabulous hosts. They are a wealth of information on things to do in the area, Rhonda created an ecofriendly B&B before it was a tread and offers homegrown fruits, flowers and veggies in season along with homemade maple syrup. In the winter months they offer weekend packages. We enjoyed one this year that included dog sledding, river rafting (yes, it was COLD) and snowshoeing/cross country skiing. Rooms are as seen on their website. We've staying in each room and all offer a quiet and comfortable setting. The lower level rooms have their own living room and are great for couples traveling together.

Winter activities on the property include snowshoeing or cross country skiing tours with John or Rhonda. Summer includes trout fishing on the property and nearby kayaking on the Sturgeon River. If they are able, John and Rhonda will assist in spotting you on the river or make arrangements with the local liveries.

An hour drive takes you to the best of Michigan: Mackinaw, Petosky, Charlevoix, etc.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, MI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2008

My wife Janine and I have visited the SSL once or twice a year for the last few years, and we have always enjoyed our stays. Starting with the house itself, it's simply gorgeous inside and out. Full logs all around, and little (many of them homemade) design accents and crafts everywhere. We really enjoy watching to see who shows up at the bird feeders; the procession to and from the feeders is endless. If you're lucky you'll even see a bald eagle soaring by. We've stayed in both the River Room and the Cedar Room, which has an enjoyable jacuzzi. Love those vaulted log ceilings upstairs, too!
It's hard to decide what time of year to go, Fall colors peak in the area around October 14, so it's spectacular then. John and Rhonda are always helpful suggesting possible outings, and have experienced first-hand all that they recommend. Last winter, we came up and made snowshoes (John is a very exacting snowshoe-making teacher, and results are properly-made shoes that will last for a generation). After making the shoes, we broke them in on two-plus feet of gleaming February snow. Ater dark, a little jaunt down to the hot tub at SSL has amazing restorative powers. It seem that, the colder the outside temperature, the more enjoyable that tub is!
The food at SSL is not just a meal, it's an experience. Again, it's the little things that add up to create that experience. From home-made maple syrup and jellies to moose napkin holders to Rhonda's pumpkin waffles and zesty omelettes, there will be no need for lunch after one of those breakfasts.
Finally, the hosts, John and Rhonda, are what make the SSL so truly enjoyable and worth returning to. They are easy-going, intelligent and down to earth people who share a passion for the North Country, serving their guests, and running an environmentally-friendly business. They bend over backwards to meet our sometimes eccentric requests. A couple of years ago, we decided to canoe the Sturgeon River in mid-40s temperatures. The local canoe livery was closed for the season, but they found the man's home number, called him, and we were able to get our wish of canoeing the Lower Peninsula's fastest river. Luckily, we didn't tip the canoe that day!
Anyway, enjoy your visit to Silent Sport Lodge. Chances are, you'll go back, again and again!

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2008

The silent sport lodge can best be described as beautiful. The grounds, the common areas, the bedrooms are all simply beautiful. The hosts are extremely knowledgeable about the surrounding areas and extremely helpful in planning day excursions. The meals are tasty and filling. If you are into hiking, fishing, canoe/kayaking, or winter sports than the Silent Sport Lodge will not disappoint.

  • Liked — The location
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silent Sport Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silent Sport Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Address: 14750 Old Sturgeon Road, Wolverine, MI 49799
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Wolverine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wolverine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silent Sport Lodge Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.