We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tavern 109

Tavern 109
115 E Grand River Ave., Williamston, MI 48895
517.655.2100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 19 Restaurants in Williamston
Cuisines: American, Gastropub
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Haslett, Michigan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Have been there twice and both times were excellent. The pear pizza is as good as everyone claims it to be. Very unique but good flavors. The pretzel breadsticks are also amazing. The service has been good both times and we will definitely be making Tavern 109 a regular place to stop when in Williamston.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    20
    10
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamston, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great local place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

I am really glad Tavern 109 is in Williamston. It is within walking distance of my house, so we have visited several times. One of my favorite things is to get a margherita pizza and a red wine flight. They also have good burgers and fries.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owosso, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I found this place via the net. Wasn't sure what to expect. My wife, two friends and myself decided to give them a try and what a surprise. From our entrance to the exit it was a great experience. A warm, friendly atmosphere invites you to relax and enjoy your time together. Our server, Diana, was friendly, knowledgeable, and attentive. The food was fabulous and the pear pizza was as great as all had said. This is a pricey place if your used to Applebee's or the such. But as the saying goes, you get what you pay for. We will definitely return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delightful Tavern Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I was so happy to try this restaurant with my sister-in-law in the quaint town of WIlliamston. The atmosphere in this establishment is warm and inviting with it's brick walls and charming deco. We ate in the bar area and marveled at the flameless fireplace on the wall. A group of leather chairs invites you to join them after you have eaten your lunch.
The food was superb-our server was happy to let us sample the squash soup and white fish chowder.....a hard decision to choose which one as they were both excellent. We also shared the caesar salad with homemade dressing-I have never had such a smooth dressing!
The highly recommended Pear Pizza was unbelievable....we had pleanty to take home with us. Our server was very attentive and didn't mind that we spent several hours eating and catching up on our lives.
We plan to bring our husbands back and try the dinner entrees which sound fantastic. We are happy to hear they take reservations!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa, Japan
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“a good place to go for American fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

this relatively new restaurant in Williamston is good. We had whitefish sandwiches and they were really delicious. I don't understand why Williamston has 5 independent and good restaurants when the rest of the lansing area has so few, but this Tavern is a good addition and welcomed. Service was excellent an the atmosphere was very hip with exposed brick and an open kitchen. Great fun.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavern 109 also viewed

 

Been to Tavern 109? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tavern 109, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.