We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, beat up place!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Michillinda Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Michillinda Lodge to your Saves list
Michillinda Lodge
5207 Scenic Drive, Whitehall, MI 49461   |  
Hotel amenities
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Old, beat up place!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

This hotel is nothing like it is shown in the pictures on their website. Everything looks like it is from two centuries ago. By this I am not referring to style , which is supposed to be rustic and it would be fine if this was the case, but I am talking about a the very shaggy accommodations that desperately need some upkeep!!! The houses/cabins look like they could fall apart any moment, and smell inside is hard to cope with.. Tap water also has this smell of rusted metal.. not something you would want to brush your teeth with! Their private beach is extremely small, there is barely space to fit in 10 people.. also it is not very clean. The pool is dirty, small and the lounge furniture that is by it - most of it is broken.. Then was the mini golf area that is proudly posted as one of their attraction/activities sites - when we saw it, we thought it was a joke..
The only thing that helped us to be a little bit more positive about this place was the view of the lake. It was truly the best thing there. So if you are still going there make sure you book a room that is on the second floor with a view onto the lake (first floor is very low - will not see nothing but bushes).
Staff was somewhat helpful.
Average age of visitors - over 55.
I would not recommend this place to anyone.
The price that they ask for it is insane!! one night came out to 210 with taxes and a service charge of 17.50, which as we were explained, was to cover room maintenance. It didn't not make any sense, as we only stayed there one night - obviously there was no maintenance involved until we left....

Room Tip: Surf side structure, top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    11
    9
    5
    8
See reviews for
20
9
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We have a family reunion here and booked about 10 rooms, everything was perfect. I had never been to this area before and would highly recommend this place for couples with or with out children. We LOVED it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

$175 / night no matter the room...some rooms are much better than others - inquire before reserving.. some rooms do come with a/c. So get detailed info when reserving.

If you are expecting Hilton quality rooms you will be disappointed.. Yes, the beds are uncomfortable but most rooms are within 100 feet of the Lake!!! The bathrooms leave a lot to be desired but do you really want to spend your vacation there?

Some carriers, namely Verizon, get good cell phone coverage..others (AT&T) do not

You are paying for the relaxed atmosphere, amenities on the grounds and nearby attractions. If you expect to be spoiled and pampered you are at the wrong place.

The on-site host family is incredible and will go out of their way to assist in any way possible! (the front desk staff does seem indifferent)

The food is solid and worth eating half your meals at. Breakfast buffet is ok but ask for a menu instead as breakfast is included. Most regulars seem to eat offsite for a few lunch and dinner meals.

The resort has an onsite heated pool, playground, tennis courts, basketball, putt-putt course, shuffleboard (again - all not in the greatest shape) but charming. The beach usually is 10-30 wide depending on the lake levels. Summer activities include - bingo, campfire, talent show.

The maintenance staff is constantly doing improvements and the resort has looked better year after year lately IMO

Their website is outdated and doesn't go into nearly enough detail so hopefully this might help give a better picture.

There is a reason why so many families keep coming back year after year - Location, but also the relaxed atmosphere cannot be stressed enough!!!! Everyone seems to be rushing around and Michillinda is a welcome break from the grind.

Room Tip: all the rooms are the same price no matter the view, size, and amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

I recently got married at Michillinda Lodge and I must say that my wedding was perfect. Great food, great service, beautiful ceremony and reception site. I would recommend Michillinda for any brides considering having their wedding there. However, the majority of my guests stayed at the Lodge and were very unhappy with their experiences. The staff was rude and unknowledgeable. Restaurant service was poor. Rooms outside of the Lodge were dirty and stuffy. No air conditioning, irons or blowdryers in any room. Grounds are not well kept. The pool was filthy. No cell phone reception.

It seems to me that it is an issue with the management being unequipped and the staff not being trained well. Hopefully they can get it together before it is too late because Michillinda truly used to be a hidden gem on beautiful Lake Michigan.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

The pictures do not accurately dipict what you get. Rustic, dirty, terrible service and not worth the money is what the tag line should read. While the place could be very nice the staff is inexperienced, we wondered if anyone even worked here? The beds are terrible, the grounds are unkept, the annex and out buildings smell of mildew not to mention are dirty and in serious need of a scrub down. The dining facilities have good food but it took almost a half hour to get a waiter, then they did not bring the salads, and the food took almost an hour to be served from the time we ordered. They are totoally unorganized from a dining standpoint which is too bad since the food is good but not worth the issues. They charge extra for kids, not worth the $30.00 a day, and they advertise that breakfast is included in the price, then why do they charge a service charge? The pool needs some work and a good cleaning. The one upside is that the beach is pretty nice but difficult to get to especially if you are taking anything down there. Save your money and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Michillinda Lodge for three nights in August for a friend's wedding, which was held onsite. The Michillinda is definitely past its prime; if you're looking for a "rustic lakehouse" experience, it would definitely fit the bill. The following is a brief rundown of the pros/cons:

Pros:
- We stayed in one of the lakefront rooms in the lodge, and the view from our room was stunning; we also enjoyed hearing the waves lap against the beach at night
- The lodge is a 1/4 mile from the Duck Lake State Park, which has a nice Lake Michigan beach
- They have a decent breakfast buffet that is included in the price of your stay
- The service and food at the wedding was wonderful! I would definitely recommend the location for a special event.

Cons:
- The beds/pillows were uncomfortable; I would definitely recommend bringing your own pillows and blankets.
- The shower was a spigot about four feet high; a friend of ours had to shower on his knees in order to get clean
- The towels were small and thin; I would recommend bringing your own
- There is not an iron/ironing board available to guests, so we had to bring our own

The hotel staff could not help this aspect of our stay, but there is absolutely no cell phone reception at the lodge. Since there are not phones in the rooms, we had no way of communicating with friends who were staying at other hotels unless we used the lodge's business phone. My husband also missed several important business calls due to the lack of reception. If you are someone who needs constant contact via cell phone, I would not recommend this area.

I personally would not stay at the Michillinda again, simply because I expected more amenities for the price. However, if you are looking for a no-frills, escape-from-reality lakeside experience, it may be right up your alley!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

Just to be fair I waited one week to write this review. I think I figured out why this place has confusing reviews. If a family or anyone that has been going there for years the place is ok, like an old shoe. If you are new like us the chances are you will not enjoy it. Then there things that are just wrong. So here goes what we have seen as newbies.

Website in some cases not accurate, that family beach pic not sure where it was taken. The beach there is a size of sliver.

The buildings are new and old, no one should stay in the old. The charm of old with rotting wood and mold gives you mixed feelings, but I just can not call it charming.

We got put into cabin c, no one should be allowed to stay in that cabin unless they are drunk and don't know any better. Smell, rot, mold, broken window, rust in the water just to name the few. Shame on them for booking seasoned travelers in that cabin.

The welcoming wagon: what is your name?, here are your key's, go to your room is how I felt. Hardley charming,

Very steep stairs lead to a sliver size beach, we never spent any time there since a large beach is available just few miles away, in reality nice beaches are all over.

Breakfast, we sat down in a pretty much empty room and ate, then the waitress shows to ask if we need anything. We never ate there again, plenty of other places in the area like Red Rooster.

The dining area does have charm and is very nice.
The patio has great view and is very nice.
The grounds are clean and well managed.(flowers and grass)
Maid service was very good, sorry for no tip, we left in a hurry upset.
2 small towns on the lake are just a drive through, light house visit is good for an hour or so.
Great state parks and beaches, worth a visit.
Silver lake is worth a visit.

In few days we did few hundred miles driving the back roads, cool,

I have some nice pics of the area if interested.

Cheers,
Chris

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Michillinda Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michillinda Lodge

Address: 5207 Scenic Drive, Whitehall, MI 49461
Location: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Whitehall
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Whitehall
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Michillinda Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michillinda Hotel Whitehall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michillinda Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.