We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome Inn !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Swan Inn Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added White Swan Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
White Swan Inn Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   303 S. Mears Avenue, Whitehall, MI 49461   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
$40 towards dinner
Ranked #1 of 5 Whitehall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sterling Heights, Michigan
1 review
“Welcome Inn !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

One of the best B&B's we have been too ever, from the warm welcome of our 2 night stay to a great goodbye everything was beyond our expectations. The Suite was great and the bed was even better. Would love to see the area in the summer when everything is at it's splendor.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, upgrade to the suite for the experience of the air driven claw foot tub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
56
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
White Lake, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Everything at White Swan Inn was wonderful! Cathy was very accommodating when we couldn't get there until after 10pm to check in. The room we were in (Jasmine Room) was spacious and comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious and different each day. We enjoyed the coffee, tea, and snacks that were available too.

Even in winter weather, we found things to do. We toured the Silversides Submarine & Museum, went to the West Michigan Symphony at the beautiful Frauenthal Theatre and had dinner at a great restaurant that Cathy suggested.

I highly recommend this Bed & Breakfast!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyandotte, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Even in the worst winter Michigan has seen in decades we enjoyed our stay at White Swan. The beds were comfortable and rooms cozy. We appreciated all the little extra amenities (robes, coffee, tea, cookies, chocolate). Wonderful attention to detail that didn't go unnoticed. Breakfast was delicious.

Room Tip: Owners do have a cat that roams the house. He was very friendly and didn't bother us however if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy R, Owner at White Swan Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
We are pleased that your getaway was enjoyable. Thanks for mentioning our cat, Max. When taking a reservation by phone we always let guests know that we have a cat in residence. If a guest is hyper-sensitive to cats, this is not the place to stay. It is important to us that guests are comfortable. And on the flip-side, we have many guests that are thrilled when they learn that we have a house cat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehall, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Beautiful restored home has lovely architecture, plenty of charm and wonderful and friendly service. The breakfast will not leave you wanting! Delicious homemade food is beautifully presented and served by Kathy. They definitely aim to please and they made our stay a wonderful memory to cherish, so thankful they open their home for us all to enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Our stay at the White Swan was very enjoyable. Our room was comfortable and quite spacious, with a king bed and two comfortable chairs. The inn keepers were very warm and friendly and prepared an excellent breakfast each morning. The scenic drives through the Fall colors were beautiful. This was truly a great place to relax and enjoy the surroundings.

Room Tip: The Covell room was very comfortable. Just be aware that the "fireplace" is electric.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy R, Owner at White Swan Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
We have chosen to utilize "electric" or all-season fireplaces in our guest rooms as a safety precaution. While different from a natural flame, there is still a realistic look and creates a romantic ambiance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

The house has a lot of charm, the bedrooms are spacious and the bed and armchairs very comfy. Cathy was exceptionally gracious and updated us to the Cygnet room, which has a HUGE bathroom with 2 sinks, a spacious tiled shower room and a romantic looking bathtub with a jacuzzi.
Breakfast was gourmet home cooked with fresh fruit, homemade muffins, and baked veggie omelet or nut crusted French toasts. I very much enjoyed the lightly baked grapefruit with brown sugar on top.
Max the house cat is very friendly and we enjoyed playing with him.
Maria and Jared

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed at the White Swan in mid-November and it was the perfect cozy relaxing getaway. The house has a lot of charm, the bedrooms and bathrooms are clean (our bedroom was very spacious as well), and breakfast was very good. The only reason I wouldn't give it 5 stars is that there isn't a lot to do in Whitehall (Christmas walk was going on when we were there...but there are only about 3 shops). It's close to the water but since we were there during a snow storm we didn't really take advantage of that. But if you're looking for a weekend of low activity and taking a deep breath this is the place :) Oh yea, and the "always open" coffee and tea machine and homemade goodies in the hall upstairs by the bedrooms was also a nice treat.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Covell Room...lots of room even with a king bed, and the chairs by the window were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to White Swan Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Swan Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 303 S. Mears Avenue, Whitehall, MI 49461
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Whitehall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Whitehall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — White Swan Inn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning White Swan Inn B&B is your destination for a romantic getaway with relaxing accommodations and full breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your White Swan Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Swan Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.