We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful visit at the White Swan!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Swan Inn Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added White Swan Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
White Swan Inn Bed & Breakfast
303 S. Mears Avenue, Whitehall, MI 49461   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Whitehall B&B and Inns
Lansing
1 review
“Beautiful visit at the White Swan!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Cathy and Ron are wonderful hosts and the place is beautiful. The food and extras added just that much more to make our visit comfortable and special. My music partner John Latini and I were treated to beautiful rooms after our performance across the street at The Howmet Playhouse and the added bonus of getting to hang out with Cathy and Ron made it even more fun. They are also supporters of the arts and music scene and we can't wait to visit again!

Jamie-Sue Seal
Smokin' Sleddog Records
www.SmokinSleddogRecords.com

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
54
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stayed at the White Swan Inn Bed & Breakfast our 1 year anniversary, and we spent our special weekend there. Upon our arrival, we were greeted cordially by both Cathy and her kind and helpful husband, Ron. We were shown very clearly how to enjoy all the many accoutrements that the (Cygnet) room has to offer (the fireplace, the lighting, the whirlpool bathtub etc.). Breakfast was a dream both mornings - we're vegetarians, and Cathy was more than willing to accommodate that with lots of fresh fruits served with breakfast, and healthy frittata, multigrain waffles and poached pears with homemade blueberry sauce were lovely. Cathy is an AMAZING cook, really an artist, and her meals are not only delicious but beautiful to behold. During our stay, she made up two delicious breakfasts that left us feeling healthy, full, and ready to hit the shops! She also connected us with a really fun gentle yoga class in neighboring Montague, which is right across a small bridge from Whitehall. Cathy also gave great advice regarding the best places to see a Lake Michigan sunset. I could go on and on. I also loved the two sweet cats, Max and Cricket. The atmosphere of the house is very lovely and quaint, with lovely wooden filagree and a cool double/stand-up bass in the living room, and there is quite a teacup collection which was really fun to have our coffee and tea with! I could go on and on. Most of all what I appreciated was how easy Cathy and Ron are to talk to, and how helpful they are. I highly recommend it and I look forward to returning!

Room Tip: Cygnet room is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Spent a couple of nights at this cute, clean, & cozy BB. Breakfasts were delicious.
We had our first big snowfall and I was surprised to find that Ron had cleaned off my car!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

My fiancee and I were in town for New Years to visit family and choose to stay here rather than get stuck on a sleeper sofa. Very wise decision!!! Kathy and Ron could not have been more gracious hosts, the inn is gorgeous and was dressed to the nines for the holidays! We stayed in the Mariner room which was perfect for us, cozy but not cramped at all. There was a coffee and tea bar right outside our room, perfect for a little pick me up before heading down to breakfast and breakfast itself was outstanding. I could go on forever about the homemade cappuccino muffins, savory french toast and fresh fruit and juice. We are frequent bed and breakfast goers and this place was one of the best we've ever experienced. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

We were looking for a nice quiet place to spend a few days with some friends. This has become our new "go to" Inn. The room was spacious and really comfortable. Love the self-serve tea/coffee service any time of day along with sweet treats.

The breakfasts were outstanding - Cathy and Ron made us feel right at home immediately. It was a treat to stay at the White Swan. We will most definitely returning.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

White Swan Inn B&B was discovered by our friends and passed along to us. We all stayed in the beautiful 1870's home in December. It was cozy and comfortable, with delicious breakfasts and well informed and interesting hosts. Talk was easy and we discovered we had mutual friends who lived in the area; a small world indeed. The bed was most comfortable and the claw foot tub with original oak trim was a delight to sink into. The treats and selection of coffees and teas made us feel right at home. It was the holidays, and walking around the town was lovely with all the festive lights. Easy parking and the Inn was beautifully decorated for the season with a giant concolored fir in the entryway that smelled wonderful! We'll be back again and again. Thany you, Cathy and Ron, for being great hosts.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We really enjoyed our "fall visit" to Swan Cottage. The cottage has a lot of character. We used the gas firepace to keep us toasty warm. We brought our 2lb. puppy with us. The back yard is fenced, so we could relax when the puppy was out. Cathy made us a welcome coffee cake, that was delicious. We enjoyed the well equiped kitchen to make a meal for our family who live close by. Cathy and Ron were always available as a resource - even when we locked ourselves out of the bedroom. Montague is a beautiful town. So typical "Small Town, USA" where the people are friendly, the shops close early and the streets are quiet. Loved, loved. loved every minute. Thank you. Lynda, Mary and Dixie-Grace.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Swan Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Swan Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 303 S. Mears Avenue, Whitehall, MI 49461
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Whitehall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Whitehall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning White Swan Inn B&B is your destination for a romantic getaway with relaxing accommodations and full breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your White Swan Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Swan Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.