We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay up until we went to sleep!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Whitehall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Whitehall to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Whitehall
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2822 North Durham Road, Whitehall, MI 49461-9155   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Whitehall
Rothbury
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay up until we went to sleep!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

I would have to say that me and my family always come to the comfort inn to relax and bring the kids to hang out in the pool, but I did not expect to wake up being bitten by
(BED BUGS), and I am not just talking about one bug they where all over the pillows and crawling behind the bed and up the wall. This room was very cozy and looked very nice but looks can be dicieving exspecialy when you turn out the lights, I was even more disscusted when the front desk lady had lost the bug she took out of the room to have proof, some where in the hotel . I was accomadated, but upset and grossed out checking my kids and clothes to make sure I wasn't going to carry them home with me.
Overall I hope for other the hotel will take care of the situation.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    46
    27
    11
    4
See reviews for
63
14
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

The rooms were clean and the hotel staff were friendly the breakfast was wonderful they provided

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

We stayed at this hotel twice, two weeks apart. The first time we were up through the night with a multitude of teen girls screaming, laughing, and taking the elevator constantly with its loud bell which could be heard down the hall. There is a music camp nearby, and one girl in the hotel began practicing her violin at 11 p.m. There was no parent control - even all the parents gathered in the halls and talked loudly. I couldn't believe the front desk couldn't hear them! The second time we stayed, we encountered the same problem, although these were large sports groups, a large family reunion, etc., with partying in the halls. We called the desk, and they quietened them down, but then the guests started up again at 2 a.m. While the desk service was friendly, the rooms clean, and the continental breakfast good, we will never stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mars, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

I realize that I wasn't in a big city, but heading to Ludington we had a one-night stay in Whitehall. The area wasn't bad, the service wasn't bad, but the room just wasn't very clean. The bathroom smelled of mildew and the carpet looked and felt dirty. In general, it just wasn't 4 out of 5 stars in my personal opinion.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexter, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

We just stayed the night at the Comfort Inn in Whitelake after a full day at the Michigan's adventure theme park. The hotel is about 6 miles from the park and was easy to get to without a map. Check-in was quick and friendly and the room was clean and comfortable. I was told the hotel was recently renovated and that was completed in Feb. 2010. You could see that most things were new, the carpet in the halls and stairwells still smelled new.
What we really liked...
LOCATION - Close to several fast food joints and restaurants in Whitehall, great for the late-night snack and drink after a long day.
BREAKFAST - Better than the normal continental breakfast, normal juices, coffee and donuts, the best part was make your own waffles! (ok, I love waffles) Worth the extra couple bucks we paid instead of staying someplace else.
What we didn't like.
NOISY A/C - this thing turned on and off all night, not great for a light sleeper, like my wife.
HOT TUB, NOT WHIRLPOOL - No bubbles in the hot tub, it was broken and didn't sound like they were going to fix it.
Overall, We will stay at the comfort inn again the next time we are in the Whitehall area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

The rooms were okay, too expensive for room value. The staff was very stuffy and it felt as if i was bothering them when i checked in.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

While visiting Michigan Adventure we chose this hotel since I have had pretty good luck wth Best Western hotels. Overall, the hotel is a good choice since there are not many hotels in the area. The indoor pool and spa was nice- the area clean and the pool large enough to accomodate lots of kids. The service is great- very friendly staff and they try to do their best to make your stay enjoyable. Computer/printer in the lobby for guest use and free internet in the rooms. We were upgraded to a "suite" which was a very large room with two beds and a fridge/micro. We requested a rollaway and was provided one for $10 a night- however, the rollaway was terrible- it was so old and badly used that it would have been more comfortable to sleep on the floor. The room was dated a little and was not the cleanest room I have ever stayed in- walls had some drips of coffee and the floors needed some attention. I do have to complain about the beds- they were really bad- pillows were flat and the beds were old and so you literally slept in huge dents. Decent free breakfast- cereal, bagels, juice, cofee, etc.

It's pricey for what you get, but I think that's just the area. I would still say it's probably the best choice in the area.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Whitehall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Whitehall

Address: 2822 North Durham Road, Whitehall, MI 49461-9155
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Whitehall
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Whitehall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Whitehall 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn hotel in Whitehall, Michigan is near Michigan's Adventure theme and water park. The Comfort Inn(R) hotel is less than five miles from Michigan's Adventure theme and water park, and is conveniently located near several area attractions. Local points of interest and businesses like Blue Lake Fine Arts Camp, the Muskegon County Airport, Baker College of Muskegon and Alcoa Howmet are minutes from this Whitehall, MI hotel.Outdoor enthusiasts will delight in the array of recreational opportunities afforded in the surrounding area, thanks to nearby Lake Michigan that provides a picturesque backdrop for activities like boating, fishing and swimming. Many golf courses ranging from beginner courses to championship links can be found close to the hotel. There are many retailers and restaurants in the vicinity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Whitehall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Whitehall Hotel Whitehall
Whitehall Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Whitehall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.