We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Whitehall

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Whitehall to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Whitehall
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2822 Durham Road, Whitehall, MI 49461-9155   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Whitehall
DETROIT
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very clean hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is one of the cleanest hotels I have stayed in. I am a bit picky about hotels but I was perfectly fine staying here. My son enjoyed the pool. The hot tub was more of a warm bath..but was still nice. 5-10 min drive to mich adv. About 15-20 to downtown muskegon. Breakfast was the usual plus eggs and sausage which was nice :-). Overall great stay:-)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    22
    17
    9
    2
See reviews for
35
6
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

A typical Comfort Inn – nothing special. A bigger property than is usually the case, so it felt crowded. It’s near an amusement park, so it appears to get lots of large, noisy families. If that’s your thing, you are in luck. The rooms were a good size but the doorways offered poor sound insulation, so you can hear all the hallway activity (see noisy families comment). The pool and hot tub were in a spacious room with big windows, which was welcome (they can be in dank, dreary places). The same can’t be said for the breakfast room, which was too small for the size of the hotel, dimly lit with food choices to match. I’d skip the free breakfast and drive a short distance away to Gary’s Restaurant as they do a great, cheap breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Heights, Illinois
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed at the Comfort Inn in Whitehall during a brief visit to the Manistee Forest. We had booked a first floor room which had a decent-sized bathroom. The highlight of the room, however, was the large hot tub which we took advantage of. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. A buffet breakfast was included in the stay, but the dining area was crowded every morning making it difficult at times to find a place to sit. The property included a pool located just off the lobby.

This Comfort Inn was easy to find, just east off US-31 taking the Whitehall-Montague exit. In turn this meant easy access to not just the Manistee National Forest but other areas of interest to the north and south.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westland, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

going by reviews on tripadvisor we settled on this comfort inn, over the one located in muskegon, for our overnight stay after Michigan's Adventure. Room was nice, linens were clean, bed was comfy. Carpet in room & hallways could have used a good steam cleaning. Bathrooms were clean & nice, fairly large. Pool area was nice & clean too. Breakfast bar was very good, waffle maker, donuts, muffins, scrambled eggs & sausage! coffee & juice. very well stocked & managed.
all in all a good stay!

Room Tip: we faced the woods on the 3rd floor. quiet & nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

My two daughters and I were greeted by a girl who was not happy to see us, clearly. The hotel is only 3 stories, so it is MUCH faster to simply take the stairs. Our room was as basic as it gets. We booked a room with two queen beds. Giant spider on the ceiling, but that happens in any place. Their was nothing special about the room. They don't have central air, they have an air conditioning unit built into the wall, under the window, which overlooks the parking lot. The air conditioner kept us awake every time it turned on, and didn't reach the second bed very well. This is a terrible way to control the climate in a hotel room. None of us slept. The bathrooms were relatively clean, that is not to say anything in the hotel room was sanitary. They have a tiny pool area, and I mean tiny. They have towels on a shelf, but only set out a few towels at a time and they are tiny; you can't wrap your body to dry off or keep warm. My girls like to swim, so it gave them a chance to swim and go in the hot tub before bed. The breakfast, which is free, was very nice, I have to say. They have an amazing set-up for home made Belgium waffles, one batter for regular, one batter made with cinnamon and two waffle irons and they are deeelicious, no kidding. The free breakfast also had scrambled eggs and sausage, various cereal offerings, bagles, muffins, toaster, etc. Coffee, juice, tea were offered. There is no express check-out offering, so you have to check out at the tiny front desk area which can't be called a lobby, it is more like a tiny foyer (where you can gawk at the swimmers in the pool because it is RIGHT THERE, again, no kidding. Oh, and this is funny, the work-out facility consists of one stationery bike, one NordicTrack and one treadmill, and it is in a room the size of a closet with a mirror; they are jammed in there. Hilarious. A gentleman asked the manager for a $60 rate for the night, she offered him a room at $99, he said he could go to the Ramada for a lot less and told her, in the winter, when he comes frequently, when it is dead there, he said, he expects a better rate or he'll go "across the street" (Ramada) and the manager said, "And it will be YOUR LOSS, kind Sir!" He said, "No, it will be yours because you won't have any business, come winter." Bad attitude from the manager, I thought.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We booked this hotel online. In the fine print on the page that printed out after I booked it (non refundable due to booking it after 4:00 pm on the day of the reservation), it said "Small Room." I did not recall this being indicated when I was considering my reservation online although I probably wouldn't have imagined this small. I assumed it was smaller than typical. I KNEW it must be smaller than typical when the check in clerk asked if I was told at the time of booking how small this room was. She said if I had called, I would have been "warned." As the room booking was non-refundable at this point, we didn't feel we had much choice. The main sleeping area didn't have much space at all, but wasn't awful. The bathroom, though, was like a poorly designed public restroom stall. To close the door, you have to enter and either stand on the toilet or in the bathtub or squeeze between the tub and toilet. To use the sink, you had to lean from in front of the toilet or kneel on the toilet. Really. The bed was okay. The a/c was very loud at points during its cycling (something metal rattled). Breakfast was decent. At $150 for the night, this was definitely one of the poorest values I've ever had for a hotel room.

Room Tip: Unless there are no other choices at this hotel or another in the area, or you like small spaces, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wixom, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Pretty decent. This hotel can get loud at sometimes with kids, but overall still quiet. Pool and hot tub are nice. Rooms are clean and kept up well, bathrooms are usually kept up very well also. Continental breakfast has scrambled eggs, sausage, hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, etc in addition to the normal items you would expect.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Whitehall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Whitehall

Address: 2822 Durham Road, Whitehall, MI 49461-9155
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Whitehall
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Whitehall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Whitehall 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn hotel in Whitehall, Michigan near Michigan's Adventure theme and water parkThe Comfort Inn® hotel is less than five miles from Michigan's Adventure theme and water park, and is conveniently located near several area attractions. Local points of interest and businesses like Blue Lake Fine Arts Camp, the Muskegon County Airport, Baker College of Muskegon and Alcoa Howmet are minutes from this Whitehall, MI hotel.Outdoor enthusiasts will delight in the array of recreational opportunities afforded in the surrounding area, thanks to nearby Lake Michigan that provides a picturesque backdrop for activities like boating, fishing and swimming. Many golf courses ranging from beginner courses to championship links can be found close to the hotel. There are many retailers and restaurants in the vicinity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Choice Hotels, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn Whitehall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Whitehall Hotel Whitehall
Whitehall Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Whitehall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.