We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pekadill's

Pekadill's
503 South Mears Ave., Whitehall, MI
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 Restaurants in Whitehall
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Simply the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We visit annually at the Blue Lake Fine Arts camp drop off and pick up (and once in between when my son talked us into dropping off his guitar mid-camp...if not for Pekadill's he may have been out of luck!). Wonderful fresh, healthy (and for those that prefer...not so healthy :) ) sandwiches and soup and of course loads of great ice cream concoctions for dessert! Friendly service and a beautiful garden setting-- a real up north Michigan treasure!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    21
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Royal Oak, Michigan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Charming Deli Restaurant and Ice Cream Parlor, all in one!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Come for the sandwiches, stay for the ice cream. Pekadill's restaurant is a few blocks off the beaten path from downtown Whitehall, but well worth the three or four block walk. The menu consists of a bunch of deli-style sandwiches and some occasional specials; the other night they were serving some ribs that looked really good. But it's the combo of good food, a lovely setting —behind the restaurant you'll find a garden with plenty of individual areas for seating and chatting—and, to top it all off, a great dessert and ice cream menu in which the sundaes are still served in glass bowls. Well worth diverting off US-31, if you are anywhere near Whitehall.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MUSKEGON, MI
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great deli & building takes you back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our sandwiches and salad. Generous portions, tasty, and very reasonably priced. Enjoyed our meal outside in the wonderful garden setting. Highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Thanks to tripadvisor we found this cute little restaurant on our trip to Michigan. Excellent food and fun ice cream flavors. I like the healthy choices of sides to go with the sandwiches and the prices were reasonable too.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, Michigan
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Yearly Destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I visit Pekadill's every summer while working as faculty at Blue Lake Fine Arts Camp. The food and service are both excellent. There are several meatless sandwiches on the menu and the food is not heavy or greasy. The garden out back is beautiful. This is a very kid-friendly place.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pekadill's also viewed

Whitehall, Muskegon County
Whitehall, Muskegon County
 
Whitehall, Muskegon County
Whitehall, Muskegon County
 

Been to Pekadill's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pekadill's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.