We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor View Grille

Harbor View Grille
115 N Mears Ave, Whitehall, MI 49461-1069
231-893-0403
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 restaurants in Whitehall
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great view and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

We just finished our dinner at this restaurant, and it was very good. We saw the billboard from the highway which piqued our interest, so we gave it a try. The service was wonderful--our waitress was very attentive. The bathrooms were clean. The food was very good. My husband recommends the black bean and corn cakes. I enjoyed my salad with bleu cheese, mandarin oranges, walnuts, and dried cranberries. The view of the wetlands and lake was a bonus. The price was very reasonable.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    49
    36
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
College Park, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, local food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The food at this restaurant was delicious. We had the jumbalaya and the pasta primavera, both of which were great. The meal started with bread and butter, also tasty. The server was exceptionally friendly, too. The deck seating was very comfortably. The restaurant isn't right on the water, but it's very close and still has a great view.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stumbled upon this restaurant and what a FIND! The food and service are outstanding. We had the Jumbalaya and a shrimp and pasta dish. We have recommended this place to friends and family and can't wait to go back! Y-U-M

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“It's fine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The breadsticks are awesome, the rest of our dinner was o.k. My husband thought the fish-n-chips had a bit too much breading. Nice view of the river and wetlands. We'd try it again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Must eat here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

During our week-long vacation in the area, this was by far our favorite restaurant. Inventive menu, great local wines, attentive waitstaff. The veggie pasta primavera was tasty, the flatbread pizzas were yummy, and as a family we went through several baskets of homemade breadsticks and marinara sauce from the appetizer menu. We ate at Harbor View Grille three times, and will be back again!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbor View Grille also viewed

Whitehall, Muskegon County
Whitehall, Muskegon County
 
Whitehall, Muskegon County
Whitehall, Muskegon County
 

Been to Harbor View Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor View Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.