We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Danesfield House Hotel And Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Danesfield House Hotel And Spa to your Saves list
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Henley Road, Marlow-on-Thames, Medmenham SL7 2EY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Medmenham
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Had a lovely relaxing time with friends, shame the weather was bad as the views were amazing. The bread was fresh, the scones were warm & the mini cakes were delicious. Highly recommend. After the tea we sat in the lounge chatting, so comfortable. The building is amazing & the grounds are spectacular. Plenty of parking. The waiter service was very professional.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danesfield Hous... a, Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Herby69

Thank you for posting your review on Twitter and sharing your experience of Danesfield House Hotel & Spa. Afternoon Tea is very popular indeed and for all the reasons you mention.
Sadly the one thing we can't arrange is the weather! But hope you managed to see some of the views.

We hope you will visit us again soon and perhaps try The Orangery or The Oak Room. We have a new Executive Head Chef, Billy Reid, who is fabulous!

Kindest Regards

Georgia Lacey
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    191
    123
    68
    39
See reviews for
71
339
18
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Burnham-on-Crouch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed at Danesfield house to celebrate my wife's birthday and had on the whole a superb time. My wife thought the spa treatments were amazing in particular the "Danesfield Trilogy". We had a light lunch at the Spa juice bar which was very tasty and the service was excellent. The pool facilities were very good although a few of the frescos had peeling paintwork. The public rooms in the hotel are all beautiful and manage a nice balance between being grand but also relaxed. Some of the corridors etc however are showing signs of being in need of renovation.
The room itself was extremely nice with views over the gardens and the river thames, the bathroom although perhaps a little small was very well appointed and the shower was excellent. The bed was perhaps a little soft but that it is personal preference. The only real disappointment with the room was the pillows which were ridiculously thin (a surprise for a luxury hotel in the UK although something I have come to expect from hotels in Germany) that said the hotel was very quick to provide additional pillows when we phoned to ask for some.
Dinner in the Oak Room was superb the main courses dishes (I had the turbot and my wife the Sea Bass) stood out in particular. Service was efficient and discreet as you would expect, and the sommelier was both knowledgeable and very helpful (which isn't always the case). Breakfast was good although perhaps understaffed a little as the toast and coffee took too long to arrive given that we were on our second trip to the buffet before they showed up.
Overall a very enjoyable stay and I would gladly recommend Danesfield House to friends especially if like us there were able to take advantage of a special offer.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms have the best views over the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danesfield Hous... a, Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Andrew M,

Thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Danesfield House.

I was delighted to read that your wife enjoyed her birthday treat and that the experience was all that you had hoped for. I note your comments about the areas of improvement needed, and you may have noticed during your stay that we are currently carrying out an extensive refurbishment programme for bedroom and public areas with the first phase due to be completed later this year.

Nevertheless, the team and I were especially pleased to read your complimentary comments about service both in the spa and Oak Room restaurant, and I am glad our housekeeping team were able to accommodate your requirements for additional pillows in your room.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Danesfield House very soon.

Kind regards,

Tim Healey
Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

we stayed for two nights ,the Hotel is lovely old building in good condition ,we had a standard room which was nice but the bathroom is a trifle small or should i say compact.It was my wife's birthday and the staff had put a nice birthday cake in the room ,which i thought was a nice gesture.
All of the staff we met were very attentive and friendly .Breakfast was very good although the fruit selection was a little on the spartan side. We ate one night in the orangery which was very good,the only downside they had almost run out of cheese and could only find three types instead of the six on the menu,

I would recommend that smoking is not allowed by the front door having to walk passed a number of people smoking does not improve the image but then that's just a personal view.
All in all a nice place to stay and that was on a wet and windy January weekend. I did not use the spa due to an injury but it looked very nice with the nice touch of free fruit in reception .

Room Tip: I think you get what you pay for and the standard room in our case was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danesfield Hous... a, Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear hantshawk,

Thank you for your review of Danesfield House, and for your kind comments. We were so pleased to read that your wife enjoyed her birthday with us.

I take on board your comments about the Orangery and breakfast, and have shared the points you raise with both the hotel Head Chef and the restaurant team for action. I understand you were not able to use our award-winning spa during your stay with us, but I most certainly recommend it for next time you are here.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Tim Healey
Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed at Danesfield House Hotel & Spa for a couple of nights in January as a London getaway. It is a beautiful building with a fascinating history, set in well kept gardens. The bedrooms are a good size and there is a wonderful lounge with roaring log fire - the perfect spot for afternoon tea.

We dined in the Orangery which, perhaps as it was a Sunday night, was quiet but due to its layout didn't feel empty with just a few tables occupied. The food was tasty, portions perhaps slightly on the smaller side, but we left feeling full - not stuffed! There's a great library with a full size snooker table, where we relaxed with a couple of drinks in the evening.

The spa is outstanding - one of the best indoor pools I've seen in a UK hotel. We both had a massage which was towards the more pricey end (£89), but the therapists were professional and thorough, asking whether I wanted focus on any particular areas.

The town of Marlow is a short drive away and well worth a visit for its boutique style shops and cosy pubs.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
385 helpful votes 385 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We went to the Oak Room for a meal last Saturday lunch time. The experience could not have been better, it was a wonderful meal. The service was simply perfect, and the food too. Two menus were available, the lunch menu (£29 for 3 courses) and the a la carte menu (£55 for 3 courses). I chose dishes from the a la carte, whereas my husband chose the lunch menu. I had the foie gras poêlé as a starter and the fillet steak as main course. My husband had gnocchi with minced venison and poussin with creamed parsnips. Everything was absolutely superb. We cannot wait to go back and try the other dishes on the menu.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danesfield Hous... a, Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Lappini,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Oak Room restaurant on Trip Advisor, it was a pleasure to read and your comments have been shared with both the kitchen and the front of house teams.

We are delighted to welcome Billy Reid as Executive Chef here at Danesfield House, and hope to entertain you again in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Tim Healey
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We were going to London for my husbands birthday and I wanted to surprise him with a stay in a good hotel en route. I chose Danesfield House after researching a lot of hotels mainly because of its wow factor. I must admit I was very pleased with my choice. From check in to check out everything was perfect. The room was beautiful Fab Four poster and we were even allowed to bring our small dog who had his own bed and bowls .cocktails were delicious the three coarse menu in the orangery was inventive and beautifully served the fillet steak was one of the best I've ever had.Service was also excellent.We finished off with a drink sitting in front of a crackling log fire..what could be better. Thank you Danesfield for a most enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Room 101is a junior suite which has a door out to the garden so you can take your dog
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danesfield Hous... a, Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Linda C

Thank you for sharing your experiences of our hotel with other hotel enthusiasts.

Welcoming dogs to Danesfield is new to us and as a team of dog lovers we truly understood the restrictions that arise in being able to enjoy a luxury hotels with our furry friends.

Therefore it seemed only natural that we have special rooms allocated so all the family may come!
I do hope we get to welcome you all back to Danesfield in the near future, we will have the water bowl and warm fires ready for you.

Yours sincerely

Matthew Drinkwater
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed at Danesfield House Hotel for our work Christmas 'Do' on 11/01/14. We were very impressed with the appearance of the hotel and the friendliness of the staff.
We were slightly concerned after learning that the Head Chef (Adam Simmonds) had left the hotel, however were very pleasantly surprised with the quality of the food at the Oak Room restaurant, which was to a very high standard with very generous portions.
The Spa also was to very high standards and the fruit bar in the spa area is a nice touch. I had a 55min aromatherapy message, which was fantastically relaxing with a very professional and well trained therapist.
We enjoyed a room service breakfast, which was all served hot and fresh and at the allocated time.
All the staff encountered were friendly, attentive and helpful and we could not fault any part of the stay. would definitely recommend and would love to return in the future.

Room Tip: We had an upgrade to an Executive Double room, which had fantastic views of the garden and the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danesfield Hous... a, General Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear agtf1

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your Christmas “Do” and delighted to read that all aspects of your time with us where fantastic.

Naturally we will share all of your comments with the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Danesfield in the future.

Please do contact me directly so I may help with any arrangements for you next visit personally.

Thanks again

Very best wishes,


Anthony

Anthony Cox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Danesfield House Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danesfield House Hotel And Spa

Address: Henley Road, Marlow-on-Thames, Medmenham SL7 2EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Medmenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Medmenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Danesfield House Hotel And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Danesfield House Hotel and Spa is an award-winning, luxury 4-star country house hotel located between the fashionable boutique shopping towns of Marlow and Henley-on-Thames in beautiful, rural Buckinghamshire. Privately owned, we represent a quintessentially British establishment overlooking acres of manicured gardens and the River Thames. Located near the M25, M4 and M40 motorways, just 45 minutes from the centre of London and 35 minutes from fashionable West London we are the ultimate Buckinghamshire Hotel to escape to. Each of the 86 rooms offers unique charm and character with the most enchanting traditional British interiors exquisitely combined with classical design. Our awards include: One Michelin Star awarded in Michelin Guide Great Britain and Ireland 2011AA, 4 Red Rosettes for Culinary Excellence, 12th Top UK Restaurant 2012 awarded by Good Food Guide 2012, Most Relaxing Spa UK 2011 awarded by Natural Health Magazine Spa Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Hotel.de, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Danesfield House Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danesfield House Hotel And Marlow
Danesfield Hotel Marlow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.