We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Danesfield House Hotel And Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Danesfield House Hotel And Spa to your Saves list
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Henley Road, Marlow-on-Thames, Medmenham SL7 2EY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Medmenham
Maidenhead
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We went to an evening wedding reception at Danesfield House Hotel just before Christmas. The location is fantastic. Ther service was excellent, and the food very good indeed.
We were told by guests who were staying there, that the rooms were wonderful too.
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    177
    111
    64
    38
See reviews for
66
316
17
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I used to work as restaurant manager many years ago. So it has a place in my heart.
Since then we have stayed on a number of occasions. Everything has always been wonderful.
The spa is lovely. Yes it's a little tired here and there and it lacks in some areas but it reaches expectations for what you pay.
There's nothing like sitting in the lounge in front of the roaring fire after enjoying dinner and a game of snooker with my boy.
Love it..

Room Tip: Go for executive rooms. Family rooms are spacious though and good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This was our third overnight at Danesfield, and as with previous occasions, the hotel and service did not disappoint.

The hotel was fairly busy considering it was a Sunday which made for a nice atmosphere in the bars/restaurant and everywhere was beautifully decked out for Christmas. We had cocktails in the bar and a meal in the Orangery as the alternative is closed on a Sunday. Food was lovely – although don’t expect massive portions. The room (305) had a fabulous four poster and great views down across the river Thames (such a shame this is spoilt by the caravan park)!

In particular we found all of the staff to be very friendly, helpful and keen to make you at feel at home and happy.

My only little niggle would be that the steam room was a bit stinky – I felt it almost needed a jolly good clean and some essential oils to make it smell nice. It was not particularly pleasant to sit in.

As with previous reviews, this hotel is not a cheap option but I am feel to outlay is appropriate for the overall experience.

Room Tip: Room 305 was lovely but anything at the back that overlooks the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Perched high above the Thames in rural Buckinghamshire, Danesfield House has real presence as you first arrive, with its gravel driveway, beautifully manicured gardens and long history giving it an inviting atmosphere.

My wife and I stayed for a night for a meal with my work colleagues, but once we'd settled on Danesfield we actually checked-in during the afternoon to take in some of its facilities. We were offered an unprompted upgrade to an executive suite and this didn't disappoint. A truly stunning south-facing view of the Thames, four-poster bed, fireplace and lead-lined bay window with a marble-tiled bathroom provided all the quality you could need.

I took advantage of the adjoining Spa, which features a wonderful deep blue pool and jacuzzi, before we waited for colleagues in reception. Staff were keen to assist and ordered a 7-seat taxi for us which arrived on time.

On our return at around 1am, a Christmas party had just finished and many people were still milling around, but the bar remained open. When we retreated to our room, the thick carpets, walls and distance from the main part of the hotel isolated us from any noise.

Breakfast was also terrific, sitting in the conservatory at the south-side of the building so we could take in the winter morning views. Although there is a surcharge for a cooked breakfast, it was of good quality and we were well attended to.

There was little to dislike about our stay. With a fine-toothed comb you could find some weaknesses; some of the bathroom sealant had come away, there were faint dried water marks around the sink, a bit of wear on the carpet and the elevator could use some refurbishment. But given the building's age and rich history, these are but small quirks of an otherwise fantastic place to stay. True, it is expensive but as a rare treat, you couldn't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a south-facing room to see the Thames and get sunlight into the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Especially in the Summer, views are beautiful. Great Afternoon Tea. Beautiful at Christmas. Excellent service. Lovely hotel and restaurant and spa.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Relaxing atmosphere and we were made to feel very welcome. Staff were only too happy to help us. The weather was cold but the views outside we're stunning.
The well managed gardens were a pleasure to walk round after a big breakfast In the orangery.
My partner and i were celebrating, and delighted to find a chocolate cake with a personalised icing message in the room on our arrival (I did ask for it) served with tea which arrived shortly after. Looking forward to staying again.

P.s. the spa is a MUST!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I was recently treated to a stay at Danesfield to celebrate my 30th birthday and couldn't fault it in any way. My partner and I dined that evening at the fantastic Adam Simmonds restaurant; i was blown away by the grandeur of the room and it was honestly some of the best food I have ever eaten, it almost looked too good to eat!
After retiring to my room, very contented and full I was impressed with the facilities and standard of cleaniness. My partner and I both slept very well as the bed was so comfy.

The staff from check in, waitresses and bar staff couldn't have been more helpful and showed an impressive level of knowledge and care in their area of expertise. My only regret is that I only stayed for one night! I will be back soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Danesfield House Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danesfield House Hotel And Spa

Address: Henley Road, Marlow-on-Thames, Medmenham SL7 2EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Medmenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Medmenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Danesfield House Hotel And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Danesfield House Hotel and Spa is an award-winning, luxury 4-star country house hotel located between the fashionable boutique shopping towns of Marlow and Henley-on-Thames in beautiful, rural Buckinghamshire. Privately owned, we represent a quintessentially British establishment overlooking acres of manicured gardens and the River Thames. Located near the M25, M4 and M40 motorways, just 45 minutes from the centre of London and 35 minutes from fashionable West London we are the ultimate Buckinghamshire Hotel to escape to. Each of the 86 rooms offers unique charm and character with the most enchanting traditional British interiors exquisitely combined with classical design. Our awards include: One Michelin Star awarded in Michelin Guide Great Britain and Ireland 2011AA, 4 Red Rosettes for Culinary Excellence, 12th Top UK Restaurant 2012 awarded by Good Food Guide 2012, Most Relaxing Spa UK 2011 awarded by Natural Health Magazine Spa Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Danesfield House Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danesfield House Hotel And Marlow
Danesfield Hotel Marlow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.