We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous property in dire need of investment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Danesfield House Hotel And Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Danesfield House Hotel And Spa to your Saves list
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Henley Road, Marlow-on-Thames, Medmenham SL7 2EY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Medmenham
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Fabulous property in dire need of investment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The hotel is architecturally and historically fascinating but the rooms really need to be renovated. There was paint peeling off the windows, all the curtains were stained, the door of the cabinet that housed the minibar came off in my hands and the gas pipe to the artificial log fire was disconnected and hanging loose. I could go on - but the number of lamps not working in our room was matched by those not working in the rest of the property. Those that were working were courtesy of low energy lamps bulbs that didn't fit the housing (those by the lift had burnt the housing). All rather sad.
We ate at the Michelin starred restaurant - where someone has forgotten to tell the chef that "nouvelle cuisine" and miserable portions are no longer in fashion. The "cheesboard" was oustanding in this respect. A small shaving of each cheese (the shavings were so thin that the hard cheese was transparent) were accompanied by half a teaspoon of other stuff (apple compote, bacon pieces, etc). I was convinced I was in a Harry Enfield sketch. Service and cooking excellent, portion sizes laughable.
The breakfast was very good - but in order to make it through to breakfast we had ordered sandwiches from room service.
Such a shame - this place could be truly great, but I'd avoid it for now.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanesfieldHouse, Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear John

Thank you for sharing your feedback, I am most disappointed that you did not have the opportunity to share your feedback with our Duty Manager during your stay to highlight the issues you experienced and allow us to rectify them for you. You may not be aware but we are currently undergoing an unobtrusive refurbishment programme of our bedrooms and some public areas to ensure that we maintain the highest of standards moving forward, however we will of course rectify any issues immediately that we are made aware of.

The Adam Simmonds Restaurant has won various awards for its food from the Good Food Guide and Michelin, with this we have constant unannounced visits to monitor our quality to ensure we continue to offer outstanding food, which is why I was most shocked to read you were not impressed by the restaurant. I am truly sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations on this occasion , I can assure you that we wish for all our guest to have a memorable time whilst dining with us.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Yours sincerely

Matthew Drinkwater
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    177
    112
    64
    38
See reviews for
66
316
17
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Our stay was a 2 night deal including a spa treatment each, breakfast and part-payment towards dinner in the Orangery one night and the Michelin star restaurant the other night. After agreeing and booking and paying for this deal, they rang back to say that they had made a mistake and they would not able to give us a booking in the Michelin Star restaurant which was very disappointing. We also upgraded to a junior suite, but it was just a larger room, not a suite of any kind. The food in the Orangery was good but the menu was very limited (only 4 choices of entree, main and dessert and no specials). After we left our room for breakfast the first morning, we found that we could not re-enter our room and went down to reception to be told that they thought we were checking out after only one night. We showed them their own check-in documents which showed we were on a 2 night package as well as the key folder which showed a 2 night stay!! As a result of THIS mistake, they had cancelled our dinner booking for the second night which then meant it couldn't be re-booked for the original time meaning we had to wait longer for dinner. The place is a bit tired and there seems to be a big focus on functions - there were 3 weddings in the 2 days we were there - to the detriment of in-house guests. They need to work out if they are a hotel or a function centre! The Spa however was good except that the relaxation rooms after treatments are separate male and female and we were not told this. The (indoor) pool is very large. The grounds are lovely and it is in a lovely setting near the Thames. This place has so much potential to be great but just doesn't get there. Orangery staff were the best for service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is the second time we've stayed. This time was a one-night deal with a Spa treatment. We were lucky to get a complimentary room upgrade too! It included a 3 course meal in the Orangery Restaurant (superb) and Breakfast the next morning. Great hotel in beautiful grounds overlooking the Thames if you're lucky to get the South facing side. Pleasant walks in the grounds and beyond. Peace and quiet, great friendly service. Not the cheapest by any means but value for money? I think so.

Room Tip: Worth asking for views to the south but may be more to pay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

A wonderful spa weekend at Danesfield House Hotel. Such a wonderful place in a beautiful setting. The room was clean and cosy, conveniently next to the spa. Food was excellent in the Orangery and staff are so friendly and helpful. Treatments at the Spa are fabulous and the best spa lounge we'd come across in ages! Breakfast was surprisingly more than continental with its range of fruits and fry-up breakfast. The complimentary walk in the woods with the chap who told us the local history rounded this so nicely for our relaxing weekend away.

Room Tip: The room we were in was spacious and on the ground floor; a stone's throw from the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed for one night which cost us nearly £800 - what an utter waste of money and we left feeling totally ripped off. The hotel is in dire need of renovation and the decor is tired, dated and tatty. Our room was a good size but the bathroom was tiny and inadequate with mold & mildew and a cheap plastic shower rail and tacky shower curtain. There were stains on the sofa and chairs in the room. I had possibly the worst pedicure I've ever been given in the spa and the spa pool was cold as the boiler had broken. The staff were disinterested and alouf, we had to carry our own baggage to our room - none of which you expect from the supposed quality of this hotel and the price they charge. The only good thing was the incredible food at the Adam Simmons restaurant - everything here was perfect and well worth the price and its excellent reputation but sadly it is let down by the rest of the hotel and spa. Not the romantic anniversary break we had hoped for - we felt cheated and let down by this hotel and as a result would never recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oeiras, Portugal
Top Contributor
362 reviews 362 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Beautiful setting, comfortable rooms (although it's a bit of a lottery if you can a really nice one or something that looks like a "Upstairs, DOWNSTAIRS" kind of room).
The Orangerie is a very nice restaurant with good food at dinner. At breakfast, the continental choice is rather poor, with limited choice of bread.
haven't tried the spa & pool facilities (unfortunately)
The gardens are really beautiful and if you have the time it should be great just to have a walk
I really like staying here for the whole package, even if it is not perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Beautiful grounds however in desperate need of renovation. I have no idea how the spa can be a finalist in the best spa competition, with paint coming off the walls in the pool area, mould around the pool and general poor up keep. We have been to many spa breaks and this was extremely poor and an expensive mistake for our holiday!

The rooms need updating and the toilet and shower were not functioning considering it was an executive suite.

The room was that hot we had to ask for a fan as no air conditioning.

We spent a lot of money on this 2 night break away and even changed hotels based on the fab reviews of this hotel, however we were extremely upset at the end of the break and extremely disappointed. Please think twice before booking its not worth the money by no means.

Room Tip: Chose a room in a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Danesfield House Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danesfield House Hotel And Spa

Address: Henley Road, Marlow-on-Thames, Medmenham SL7 2EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Medmenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Medmenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Danesfield House Hotel And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Danesfield House Hotel and Spa is an award-winning, luxury 4-star country house hotel located between the fashionable boutique shopping towns of Marlow and Henley-on-Thames in beautiful, rural Buckinghamshire. Privately owned, we represent a quintessentially British establishment overlooking acres of manicured gardens and the River Thames. Located near the M25, M4 and M40 motorways, just 45 minutes from the centre of London and 35 minutes from fashionable West London we are the ultimate Buckinghamshire Hotel to escape to. Each of the 86 rooms offers unique charm and character with the most enchanting traditional British interiors exquisitely combined with classical design. Our awards include: One Michelin Star awarded in Michelin Guide Great Britain and Ireland 2011AA, 4 Red Rosettes for Culinary Excellence, 12th Top UK Restaurant 2012 awarded by Good Food Guide 2012, Most Relaxing Spa UK 2011 awarded by Natural Health Magazine Spa Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Danesfield House Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danesfield House Hotel And Marlow
Danesfield Hotel Marlow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.