We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's OK....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Billy's Tip N Inn

Billy's Tip N Inn
6707 Highland Rd, White Lake, MI 48383
(248) 889-7885
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 30 Restaurants in White Lake
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
White Lake, Michigan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“It's OK....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We went to Billy's for the first time in a couple of years in March with friends. We used to go often for ribs and their fish entrees. We had not been there in a few years, not for any good reason. They use to have a number of choices of fresh fish on the menu which is no longer true. Our food was OK, I got a "sandwich" with no lettuce or any other garnish....just the sandwich on a plate. I had also ordered fries...again, just on a plate. The service was obviously a new staff person, who did not know the menu and didn't seem to care that the food presentation and delivery were less than acceptable for the cost of the meal. The rest of our table had similar views. There are always new places to try. We might try again for a lunch but not dinner. Sorry to be negative.....but TripAdvisor asked me!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    19
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
White Lake, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Ribs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This is my favorite local establishment for ribs. They have a dry rub version or one with BBQ sauce, and both are great. Slow smoked and very tender, sides are tasty and generous. I have had a steak there on occasion and it is only fair, and the fish was good, but not great. Stick to the basics - ribs - and you can't go wrong.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Lake, Michigan
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very happy with service and food every time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Billy's Special Mostaccioli and their ribs for 2 are excellent. This is my boyfriend's favorite place in the area to get ribs. He loves ribs! We have been here numerous times and have never been disappointed with the food or services.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Lake, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It's just ok....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The food isn't bad but not great. It is kind of a cozy place but my husband loves IPA beer and they don't carry it. So if you are looking for a good IPA. You will need to go somewhere else.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Lake, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Consistently Great Meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Billy's has a huge variety of meals from excellent perch dinners to the best pasties I've ever had (and that includes the UP!) The portions are huge and pricing very reasonable. If you are going late and just want a good dinner be sure to sit in the dining room and not a high-top in the bar area as when the band starts it can get quite loud.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Billy's Tip N Inn also viewed

 

Been to Billy's Tip N Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Billy's Tip N Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.