We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Look Elsewhere the Next Time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising to your Saves list
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9926 M-28 East, Wetmore, MI 49895   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wetmore
Certificate of Excellence
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Would Look Elsewhere the Next Time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed here for one night in September 2012. Pros: very clean rooms, inviting lobby, standard continental breakfast. Cons: didn't sleep well at all--water from the AC/heating unit from the room above kept dripping on to our windowsill making it impossible to get a good night's sleep. Also, the Internet was not working--my laptop & iPhone reported a full signal, but couldn't get anywhere on the Internet. As a result, I would try a different hotel the next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pobrecito33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Cedarville, Michigan
Level Contributor
156 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Just returned home after an overnight in Munising. Very friendly desk staff! Room was clean and well kept. We did not try the pool. Breakfast was typical motel fare, offerings were well stocked . Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saltedradish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

The suite that we stayed in was very large especially with two kids. They have an indoor giant water slide which only goes on in the morning and after 4pm which is a little weird. Maybe they are saving money. The pool itself needs a good scrubbing. Breakfast was nice, but won't have the biscuits and gravy again. Overall it's a nice hotel and IT'S ONLY 5 minutes away from the Pictured Rocks cruises/etc. We would stay here again!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, MI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed at this AmericInn the week after labor day. It was the first pet-friendly hotel we have ever used. We were impressed that even though dogs are allowed in the rooms, the room was still clean and in great shape. Staff was very friendly. Free breakfast was as expected. It was a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RSmithClarkston_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I booked this hotel for our family of 5 during our vacation to the U.P. I chose this hotel because I thought the waterslide would be fun for the kids. Our stay was pretty disappointing. The only thing good about it was the waterslide. The beds were EXTREMELY uncomfortable. So much so that our 9 year old complained. Our bed was not only hard, it slanted to one side. In addition, an empty tube of something was between the bottom sheet and mattress...absolutely disgusting! The sheets were hard and pilly. There was something going on with the air conditioner/fan as well...it didn't work properly. The breakfast in the morning was an absolute joke. We were in a time crunch to get on a boat tour of the Pictured Rocks otherwise we would definitely have eaten elsewhere. This was the worst hotel we stayed at during our vacation and the one that was the most expensive. To sum it up, if you don't care about a good night's sleep or a decent breakfast, give it a whirl.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FamilyOfFivePeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We chose the AmericInn in Wetmore (outside of Munising) for its pool and location near the cabin where my sister-in-law was staying. The pool area is great for kids and families. There is a large waterslide for older kids, which is open for 2 hours in the morning and 2 in the afternoon. There is a small waterslide for younger children that's always open.

The pool doesn't get very deep, and one end of it is inclined so you can wade right in. The depth is 18 inches near the small slide, so it's ideal for small children. My daughter loved it there.

Our room had one king and a rollaway. It was an ADA room, which they may have given us to make room for the rollaway bed. We set the bed up in the wider-than-usual entryway to the room; fitting it in elsewhere probably would have meant moving the king-sized bed.

Looking at my credit card statement, it seemed like we were charged more than our reservation said it would cost. I had misplaced my receipt, so I called the hotel. They weren't able to e-mail me a copy of it, but they did send me one via snail mail. Everything was fine--I just had forgotten about the charge for the rollaway.

Breakfast: The complimentary breakfast had the usual continental options plus waffles and biscuits and gravy. They also had flavored syrups for coffee, which was fun. There was only 2% milk, though.
Bathroom: because this was an ADA room, it had a roll-in shower stall and a showerhead with a detachable handle.
Blow dryer: yes
Elevator: yes
Internet: free wifi. We didn't experience any problems with it.
Nearest playground: not sure
Recommend to friends with young children: definitely
Recommend to childless friends: yes, if they don't mind the pool being more like a water park than a place to swim laps
Website: http://www.americinn.com/Hotels/MI/Munising|http://www.americinn.com/Hotels/MI/Munising

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToddlerTravelsAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, MI
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My husband's work schedule changed unexpectedly and we were unable to travel. Not only did we miss out on our anniversary weekend. Americinn kept our money and refused to refund our money, even with a 5 day cancellation notice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PATRICIA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wetmore
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Munising -  Lakeview
5.0 mi away
White Pine Lodge
White Pine Lodge
#1 of 1 in Christmas
4.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
2.1 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Munising
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Cherrywood Lodge - Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
0.0 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Pictured Rocks Munising
1.7 mi away
Pictured Rocks Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising

Address: 9926 M-28 East, Wetmore, MI 49895
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Wetmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wetmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the AmericInn Lodge and Suites of Munising, Michigan. Centrally located in the beautifull Upper Peninsula of Michigan just miles from the shore of Lake Superior and Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore. While you are here enjoy the many area attractions and outdoor activities, then relax in one of our comfortable guest rooms. Enjoy our 100 foot waterslide, free breakfast, and quiet nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Lodge & Suites Munising Hotel Wetmore
Americinn Lodge And Suites Munising
Americinn Hotel Munising

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing