We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pet-friendly hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising to your Saves list
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9926 M-28 East, Wetmore, MI 49895   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wetmore
Clarkston, MI
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great pet-friendly hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed at this AmericInn the week after labor day. It was the first pet-friendly hotel we have ever used. We were impressed that even though dogs are allowed in the rooms, the room was still clean and in great shape. Staff was very friendly. Free breakfast was as expected. It was a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    68
    20
    12
    12
See reviews for
108
53
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I booked this hotel for our family of 5 during our vacation to the U.P. I chose this hotel because I thought the waterslide would be fun for the kids. Our stay was pretty disappointing. The only thing good about it was the waterslide. The beds were EXTREMELY uncomfortable. So much so that our 9 year old complained. Our bed was not only hard, it slanted to one side. In addition, an empty tube of something was between the bottom sheet and mattress...absolutely disgusting! The sheets were hard and pilly. There was something going on with the air conditioner/fan as well...it didn't work properly. The breakfast in the morning was an absolute joke. We were in a time crunch to get on a boat tour of the Pictured Rocks otherwise we would definitely have eaten elsewhere. This was the worst hotel we stayed at during our vacation and the one that was the most expensive. To sum it up, if you don't care about a good night's sleep or a decent breakfast, give it a whirl.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We chose the AmericInn in Wetmore (outside of Munising) for its pool and location near the cabin where my sister-in-law was staying. The pool area is great for kids and families. There is a large waterslide for older kids, which is open for 2 hours in the morning and 2 in the afternoon. There is a small waterslide for younger children that's always open.

The pool doesn't get very deep, and one end of it is inclined so you can wade right in. The depth is 18 inches near the small slide, so it's ideal for small children. My daughter loved it there.

Our room had one king and a rollaway. It was an ADA room, which they may have given us to make room for the rollaway bed. We set the bed up in the wider-than-usual entryway to the room; fitting it in elsewhere probably would have meant moving the king-sized bed.

Looking at my credit card statement, it seemed like we were charged more than our reservation said it would cost. I had misplaced my receipt, so I called the hotel. They weren't able to e-mail me a copy of it, but they did send me one via snail mail. Everything was fine--I just had forgotten about the charge for the rollaway.

Breakfast: The complimentary breakfast had the usual continental options plus waffles and biscuits and gravy. They also had flavored syrups for coffee, which was fun. There was only 2% milk, though.
Bathroom: because this was an ADA room, it had a roll-in shower stall and a showerhead with a detachable handle.
Blow dryer: yes
Elevator: yes
Internet: free wifi. We didn't experience any problems with it.
Nearest playground: not sure
Recommend to friends with young children: definitely
Recommend to childless friends: yes, if they don't mind the pool being more like a water park than a place to swim laps
Website: http://www.americinn.com/Hotels/MI/Munising|http://www.americinn.com/Hotels/MI/Munising

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, MI
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My husband's work schedule changed unexpectedly and we were unable to travel. Not only did we miss out on our anniversary weekend. Americinn kept our money and refused to refund our money, even with a 5 day cancellation notice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

First of all, I'm not a fan of hotels. I'm a very light sleeper, and my wife is a neat freak. But this hotel was very clean, and surprisingly quite. The staff was friendly and helpful as well. We didn't spend much time there, but the time that was spent there was pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, NW burbs
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

They overbooked, so gave us a King Suite for the price of a smaller room - no complaints there!
Little restrictive on their rules (short pool hours), and they make a big deal out of their 100-foot water slide. Maybe a big deal in that area, but 100 feet seem to really be pushing-it.
The desk staff (and breakfast staff) weren't the friendliest folks you'd ever meet.
The location is maybe 10-minutes away from all the action (I think it's the last hotel as you leave the area).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Americinn in Wetmore, MI is a short drive to Munising. It is a very laid back area with very friendly, helpful people. We chose the Americinn over the new Holiday Inn which is right on Lake Superior because it was quite a bit cheaper. It was a good choice. The room was a good size, clean and had soft towels, but extra amenities were poor quality. The hotel lobby was very nice with a good size business center. Check-in was okay. Our first room was on the 3rd floor next to the noiciest ice machine I've ever heard. We were moved to the 2nd floor which was very quiet. It was a good thing we moved down a floor because the elevator broke down the next day. The pool was very nice especially if you have kids. The slides and hot tub were fun. The breakfast area was adequate but the quality of the food was very mediocre. Check-out was a problem. It took longer than necessary because they couldn't find our receipt information. Considering the other hotels in the area, you would be okay staying here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinntc, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Thank you for posting a review. I believe you are looking to post about the AmericInn in Munising, MI location and somehow it was posted to the AmericInn Traverse City, MI location. We would love to however welcome you to the Traverse City location and show you how great AmericInn is and how our entire staff in Traverse City works so hard to make everyone’s stay memorable. Each AmericInn is independently owned and operated under a franchise agreement by AmericInn. We apologize you had some concerns regarding your stay at another AmericInn but glad you felt overall it was a good hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising

Address: 9926 M-28 East, Wetmore, MI 49895
Location: United States > Michigan > Wetmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wetmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the AmericInn Lodge and Suites of Munising, Michigan. Centrally located in the beautifull Upper Peninsula of Michigan just miles from the shore of Lake Superior and Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore. While you are here enjoy the many area attractions and outdoor activities, then relax in one of our comfortable guest rooms. Enjoy our 100 foot waterslide, free breakfast, and quiet nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, AmericInn Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Lodge & Suites Munising Hotel Wetmore
Americinn Lodge And Suites Munising
Americinn Hotel Munising

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.