We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Fairfield inn with great service to Platinum members” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Watervliet St. Joseph

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Watervliet St. Joseph to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairfield Inn & Suites Watervliet St. Joseph
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8258 Arnt Blvd, 140 and I-94; exit 41, Watervliet, MI 49098 (Formerly Ramada Watervliet)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Watervliet
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Fairfield inn with great service to Platinum members”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Stayed here on May 25th with my wife and 3 daughters. Andrew at front desk went above and beyond with booking my room and allowing us an upgrade to a huge suite. Room was clean and fresh. New carpet everywhere and lobby was very sharp and new. They waive cost to waterpark if you are platinum. I called before check in and talked to GM Brad. He was very friendly and told me they had been a Marriott for about a week. I read some negative reviews of this property however it was not the case with us. Outstanding service beautiful rooms and a wonderful waterpark. My kids are yelling that this is best hotel ever. I stay all over at Marriott properties and I will definetly recommend and stay here again soon.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNWL, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Watervliet St. Joseph, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive review of our hotel with the Tripadvisor Community. We are very happy you enjoyed your experience at the Fairfield Inn & Suites - Surfari Joe's Indoor Waterpark. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Brad Scmitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    9
    5
    8
    11
See reviews for
31
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Check in is at 3 we were told are room would not be ready until 4-5.. really ? We had a suit and for the price of the room should allow 6 in the waterpark thats why we got a sweet had to pay 50. More dollrs for the waterpark...for the waterpark the hot tub really stinks never got hot enough to be called a hot tub the pool was warmer..on sunday the hot tub was cold we were told hit had to warm up and would take a couple hours really ? We. Were checking out at 11 I was so disapointed with the water park..

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Watervliet hotels

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My family decided to stay over the weekend of April 6,2013 after hearing they were now Marriott , what a mistake,First over the phone I was told one price and at check in another.I booked 3 rooms as we had 2 other families joining us .they charged my CC at check in for the entire price of all 3 rooms, something I have never had happen at any other hotel even though i told them I was paying in cash at check out ,witch i did the next day they said the charges would be taken off my card and they still have not .Our rooms were clean though the beds and small chairs were uncomfortable.We went to the water park in the hotel and were treated very badly from the moment we walked in ,The Life guard that was controlling the water slides was barely paying attention he had his head down on the railing not really paying attention to anything until my niece wanted to ride she is 49 inches tall without shoes and the ride says you must be 48 inches he told her she needed to be with an adult to ride tho other kids smaller than her were riding ,so she got an adult then when we got all the way up again were told she needed a life vest again while other kids smaller than her had none so she had to go all the way down again to get it at that point i asked him why she was told these things and going back up and down for the third time and he was extremely rude told me to go get a drink from the bar instead of addressing the situation he could have merely measured her and all would have been settled instead he makes a little girl cry ,Nice job.... I brought this to the attention of the GM who actually screamed at me and was beyond rude,We finished at the watre park fed the kids and left them in the room with a sitter to do the adult swim we were told they would leave the water slides on for us ,they were not ! the hot tub also was turned off and the bar closed ,why advertise an adult swim time and tell us verbally that we would be able to enjoy the slides and hot tub child free if that is not the case, the arcade and fitness rooms were under construction as well and the ellivator was scary . We paid full price for all 3 rooms and were unable to enjoy all facilities just not right,the next morning in the water park the GM was alot nicer to us but not paying attention to kids he was letting in the pool small kids not required to wear a swim diaper and defecated in the pool ,the life guard tried to play it off as it was a bandaid he found but more than one of us adults saw it and even stepped in it Gross....!!!! The staff here from the GM down need to be trained on how to treat a guest.!! Unacceptable !!This was our first stay and our last I will drive to Grand Rapids or Shipshawanna before ever staying there again !!

Room Tip: Holiday in GR south only 45 min from here has a waterpark too .:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a few times in the last year. Wow, what a transformation! Every time I go I love to see the changes the new ownership has made. I love the new look, everything is very crisp, clean and modern. I was able to meet the new General Manager and was very impressed. The front desk staff was kind & courteous. I even spoke with a housekeeper cleaning my room, very professional. This hotel/waterpark is going to be fabulous when it is done. I would encourage anyone to go there. If you didn't have a good experience, try it again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNWL, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Watervliet St. Joseph, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive review of our hotel with the Tripadvisor Community. We are very happy you enjoyed your experience at the Fairfield Inn & Suites - Surfari Joe's Indoor Waterpark. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Brad Scmitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsburg, Michigan, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had 18 people there for my nieces 13th birthday party and we were all very pleased with the facilities. We were in rooms that all had been just remodeled and were very nice. I would suggest Safari Joe's to anyone for a nice little get away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNWL, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Watervliet St. Joseph, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive review of our hotel with the Tripadvisor Community. We are very happy you enjoyed your experience at the Fairfield Inn & Suites - Surfari Joe's Indoor Waterpark. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Brad Scmitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Watervliet St. Joseph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Watervliet St. Joseph

Address: 8258 Arnt Blvd, 140 and I-94; exit 41, Watervliet, MI 49098 (Formerly Ramada Watervliet)
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Watervliet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Watervliet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Watervliet St. Joseph 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surfari Joe's Indoor Water Park and Hotel is a 96 Room Property with an attached Indoor Water Park. We have recently been purchased and are under new ownership. The hotel has been newly renovated and is now open as a Fairfield Inn and Suites by Marriott on May 15, 2013. We are working on upgrading the look of the water park and the Ripcurl Arcade. The Water Park will still remain open during renovations. If you have stayed with us prior to May 15, 2013, please try us again to see the wonderful changes that have been made to the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Otel so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Watervliet St. Joseph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfari Joe`s Hotel Watervliet
Watervliet Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Watervliet St. Joseph, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.