We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel stay I have ever had!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Watervliet St. Joseph

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Watervliet St. Joseph to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Watervliet St. Joseph
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8258 Arnt Blvd, 140 and I-94; exit 41, Watervliet, MI 49098 (Formerly Holiday Inn Watervliet)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Watervliet
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best hotel stay I have ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

The beginning to the end of our visit was pure perfection. Warm welcome, bright clean lobby, close parking. Beautiful room- WOW! Really nice amenities. Had a king room that had a nice bonus room with a desk, couch, TV... Room had refrigerator and microwave. Literally had the best night of sleep in my life! So quiet and bed and pillows were perfect.
Then in the morning- went to then pool area for a swim and enjoyed the lazy river, hot tub and pool.
What a marvelous stay!
I can't wait to return!!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNWL, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Watervliet St. Joseph, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with the the Tripadvisor Community. We are very happy you enjoyed your experience at the Fairfield Inn & Suites - Surfari Joe's Indoor Waterpark. We truly look forward to your return stay.

Brad Schmitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    25
    12
    13
    16
See reviews for
63
7
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Zeeland, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Our family had a great time here! The hotel was clean, breakfast was great, staff was friendly and we had a fabulous time in the waterpark. Our kids ages 5,3 and 1 are already asking when we can go back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNWL, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Watervliet St. Joseph, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive review of our hotel with the Trip Advisor Community. We are happy you enjoyed your experience at the Fairfield Inn & Suites - Surfari Joe's Indoor Waterpark. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Brad Schmitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We've passed this place many times going to and from Chicago. This time we left the city late and decided to stop with our 6 year old. What a treat!! Rooms all new since Marriott took over! Great water park included with hotel stay! We'll make this stop a tradition on our travels to Chicago!

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNWL, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Watervliet St. Joseph, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive review of our hotel with the Tripadvisor Community. We are happy you enjoyed your experience at the Fairfield Inn & Suites - Surfari Joe's Indoor Waterpark. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Brad Schmitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed a few nights when a friend was hospitalized nearby. The weather was cold and renovations were almost complete. The desk clerk promised Marriott points and I went back at least once since then to get the points for the two nights but have not got them yet. The breakfast was standard Fairfield - self serve biscuits, coffee, machine juice and cold cereal. I'd go back (not on weekends when water park open) but I'd certainly like my marriott points. Rehab looked good, large hotel well positioned off the beaten path.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the north side (expressway is on south side) and avoid end of corridor rooms on wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I recently stayed at this location the night before meetings in Kalamazoo, as it was at least $30 less a night than any comparable hotels in the immediate Kalamazoo area. Very pleased that I did.
Arriving around 8pm, I was greeted by a very responsive and effective young lady at the front desk. She had me checked in and on my way in about 2 minutes which was great.
My room, a King with a small sitting area with a sofa and a second TV, was awesome. Everything was brand new, and it was much larger than I had expected it to be. Very nice to relax on a couch after a day on the road. Everything was spotless as well.
The hotel itself is completely remodeled and in great condition. Very convenient to the Interstate, and not more than about 30 minutes from Kalamazoo and less than that to St. Joe.
Breakfast was above average. Yes, the eggs were a little dry, but they had BACON, so all is forgiven.
My only real disappointment was that the bar/restaurant is closed on weekdays like the waterpark. Didn't need the slides, but a drink would have been nice after that drive, too. Oh well.

Room Tip: If Interstate noise bothers you (guess I'm a freak, it puts me right to sleep), ask for a room f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNWL, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Watervliet St. Joseph, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive experience of our hotel with the Travel Advisor Community. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at the Fairfield Inn & Suites - Surfari Joe's Indoor Waterpark. We are sorry that the bar was not available when you were here but the next time you stay, please ask the front desk manager and they should be able to provide you with an adult beverage from the bar in the lounge area. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to see you again.

Sincerely,

Brad Schmitz
General Manager
269-463-7946
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, Ca.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had great rooms, breakfast, friendly staff. Many amenities are available for business, family or individual stay. We stayed in a 3 bed suite, never seen that before. There was a big wedding party but we never heard a sound.

Room Tip: Ask for room opposite pool side to be away from the freeway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNWL, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Watervliet St. Joseph, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive review of our hotel with the TraveAdivsor Community. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at the Fairfield Inn & Suites - Surfari Joe's Indoor Waterpark. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Brad Schmitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Villa, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This property used to be a Ramada "Surfari Joe's" water park family hotel. I never stayed there under previous management, but currently the property is undergoing renovations to bring it more in line with Marriott standards. At this time, these standards are not met, but I'm sure with the problems we had during our three night stay, things will be attended to.

Breakfast food was in constant short supply with slow replenishment, was of very poor quality (I'm not that picky about scrambled eggs, but for three days they were like dried rubber....totally indelible). Coffee was constantly low or out, as we're plates, forks, cups, etc. You get the idea.

Wifi was so weak, that we could not use it in the guest room, and it barely worked in the lobby.

An added deposit service charge was added to our bill without our knowledge or permission that took several days to remove.

Noise on Friday evening clearly reflected a lack of control by management of guests talking in the hallways, outside in the parking lot, and slamming doors....we are talking 3AM here.

Simply put.... Give this place some time before diving in. Speaking of which, the water slides and water park are closed during the week, open weekends. It is a WONDERFUL indoor water park, so when this place hits its stride, it is going to be great.

Room Tip: If you are a Marriott Gold or Platinum, be sure to ask for an upgrade to a suite. I'm gold but n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNWL, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Watervliet St. Joseph, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community. It is always our goal to provide the best service to our guests. I am sorry to hear you experienced these issues. I have brought these issue to my team so we can avoid this happening to other guests in the future. I would very much like an opportunity to discuss this with you in more detail. Please contact me at the hotel at your earliest convenience.

Sincerely,

Brad Schmitz
General Manager
8258 Arnt Blvd
Watervliet, MI 49098
P-269-463-7946
brad.schmitz@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Watervliet hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Watervliet St. Joseph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Watervliet St. Joseph

Address: 8258 Arnt Blvd, 140 and I-94; exit 41, Watervliet, MI 49098 (Formerly Holiday Inn Watervliet)
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Watervliet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Watervliet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Watervliet St. Joseph 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only Fairfield Inn & Suites Watervliet by Marriott® gives you confidence that your trip will be a success because we consistently deliver a unique hotel experience that's just right. We provide you with just what you need, and skip what you don't, so travel is easy and productive. Our knowledgeable and courteous staff is available to help 24 hours a day. Take advantage of our complimentary amenities at every Fairfield Inn & Suites, including breakfast, in-room high-speed Internet and Wi-Fi in the lobby. Enjoy comfortable and spacious guest rooms that allow you to work and relax. Relax and unwind with our plush mattresses and fluffy pillows. Or work off some steam in our pool and exercise room. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, Fairfield Inn & Suites Watervliet Berrien County provides everything you need to make the most out of your stay. Great value and great service, all backed by a name you can believe in: Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Marriott and Orbitz so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Watervliet St. Joseph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Watervliet St. Joseph, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.