We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT EXPERIENCE!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Detroit/Warren

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Detroit/Warren to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Detroit/Warren
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7010 Convention Blvd., Warren, MI 48092   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Warren
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“GREAT EXPERIENCE!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011 via mobile

After checking out a couple other hotels in the area, this hotel exceeded my expectations! It was the only one I actually felt safe staying at. The building is well lit and very secure. I had never stayed at a Candlewood before and was extremely impressed with the room. The Tempurpedic bed was so comfortable that I wanted to sleep in it all day! The room, like the rest of the hotel, was very clean. The staff was helpful and courteous. The numerous positive aspects of this hotel-including the excellent price-are reasons I will be searching for a Candlewood Suites to stay at next time I travel. I highly recommended this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa T, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Detroit/Warren, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Thank your for your review, we appreciate you choosing us!

Theresa Thomas, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    13
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
6
7
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

I had a good experience at Candlewood Suites last week. It was a short business trip so I stayed only 1 night. The hostess was very friendly when I arrived and I felt very welcome. The room was very clean, neat, and welcoming. I would recommend this for the budget-conscious person who is traveling, either for business or leisure.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

The front desk staff was excellent. I'm not sure if I ever stayed at a Candlewood Suites before, but it was free because I was staying on points. The place just looked old, although it was clean and they were friendly.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2007

Overall, I would agree with most of the other writers; the Candlewood is nice. The room was nice and had a DVD/VHS player to play the films available for loan out at no charge at the front desk. The coffee maker was nice and could be fueled with extremely affordable packets of grounds from the property’s “honor store” (un-manned, just drop the money in a slot), which also stocked other food items and miscellaneous necessities. The staff was nice, the bed was firm and nice and the cleanliness was nice.

We didn’t use the workout room or laundry but both seemed (are you sitting?), nice. One reviewer mentioned not getting their room cleaned for a few days. They, like my wife and I, must have overlooked the small sign in the bathroom that explained the schedule and how to get housekeeping if you’d like. For $69.00 a night, we could not have really hoped for a much… nicer stay.

  • Liked — The value for the price
  • Disliked — We had some trouble finding healthy food in the area (it was all chains like "Chili's etc.)
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2007

I have stayed here multiple times. It is an average Candlewood. The rooms are nice and clean. All Candlewoods recently upgraded their bed linens to make them on par with other members of the Holiday inn chain. Thus the sheets are nice. The rooms are reasonably well appointed. The front desk has free movies which is a nice service. I also have never found an unhelpful employee. These people are the friendliest in Detroit!

The location is easy to find and many restaurants and shops near by. I normally am staying here on the weekend so traffic has not been an issue, but could be given the location.

Note Candlewoods are extended stay hotels. They cater to the traveling work crews who stay for a week and move on. Typically rooms are not serviced on short stays. Remember to take your own trash out if you stay more than one night. This applies to all Candlewoods.

Candlewood's motto is "where value stays" and as long as you got a value this location is fine.

  • Liked — value
  • Disliked — same cheap fitness equipment that is in all Candlewoods
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa, Japan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2006

It's ok as long as you didn't pay too much. The beds are not comfortable at all, which was my main complaint. I never really figured out housekeeping's schedule, as we were here 4 nights and never had our room cleaned. The free laundry is nice. The recliner in our room had a huge stain on the cushion so I never sat on it to find out how comfortable it was. If you can get it for under $60 a night, it's ok.

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Tree, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2006

I was going to stay here for a few days but when I checked in there was an overwhelming smell of deoderizer in the air. Overpowering and was bordering on making my wife sick. The check in was fine and the front desk person was very nice. I could look beyond the lobby smell and decided to look at the room. I went up and found a standard size room with a small kitchenette including a fridge, stove and counter top. The bed is queen size, not big enough for me (6'2") and my wife and the room had a deoderizer smell as well. It was not acceptable for us so we checked out. No problem with that part of the process as the front desk person was nice. I would not recoment this hotel.

Stayed January 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Detroit/Warren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Detroit/Warren

Address: 7010 Convention Blvd., Warren, MI 48092
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Warren
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Warren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Detroit/Warren 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience the New multi Million Dollar Renovated Candlewood Suites Detroit/Warren. Our Guest Suites are bright and modern and have all the convienences of home. Enjoy one night or extended stay that offers apartment type studio and one bedroom suites, similar to corporate housing. You can enjoy our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection, a fully equipped kitchen and complimentary high-speed Internet access while staying with us. Work out in our newly renovated fitness center while using our free guest laundry. Visit the Candlewood Cupboard, our on-site convenience store or relax with a cup of free coffee and watch a movie from our free CD and video library. Earn IHG Reward Points for free night stays, gift cards, airline miles and more! We are a pet friendly hotel so feel free to bring your furry friends. (Small Fees Apply) Conveniently located near major freeways and many Corporate Headquarters. Candlewood Suites Detroit-Warren, always offers State of Michigan and Federal government per diem rates.) Whether staying for business, pleasure or relocation, the caring staff at the Candlewood Suites would like you to Consider Us Home while visiting Warren, Sterling Heights, Troy, Madison Heights, Royal Oak, Roseville, Fraser,or Detroit Michigan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Detroit/Warren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Warren
Candlewood Warren
Warren Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Detroit/Warren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.