We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What has happened to the Nutwell Lodge!!!!!!!!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Nutwell Lodge

Nutwell Lodge
lympstone near exmouth devon, Lympstone, Exmouth EX8 5AJ, England
01392 873279
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 5 Restaurants in Lympstone
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: English, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Originally part of the Nutwell Estate, the Nutwell Lodge used to entertain shooting parties and guests of the Lord of the Manor who, at one time, was Sir Francis Drake. We have recently opened after a major refurbishment, and can cater for business meetings, functions and private parties. Call us to make your reservation, we look forward to seeing you soon!
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“What has happened to the Nutwell Lodge!!!!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This must be the worst restaurant I have ever been in and it used to be so good!
The staff were rude and unfriendly. The food was practically inedible! Never again! This used to be one of the best carverys around Exeter well that was until the new owners took over. Absolute rubbish so annoyed we even went in!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    59
    49
    38
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Carvery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We found Nutwell lodge was very suitable for a family gathering of 10 but you need to book ahead if your party is larger than 6. Tables are not too close together and the staff were all very accommodating. Good sized portions of Beef, Turkey or Gammon cooked beautifully with plenty of choice of vegetables. Larger portions had all three meats but we were glad we had just the two. You can help yourself to the vegetables which is really nice and not always an option. Not too far from Devon Cliffs Holiday Park if you fancy a drive. We would definitely go again if we were in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money,with friendly staff and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The waitress we had tonight (June 1st) could not have been more attentive even though she had several tables to attend to.we had a small problem but she insisted it be put right even though we said not to bother,this she did and we were all pleased with our food,service and good atmosphere.For a young waitress "Harriet" her attitude was "Keep the customer Happy" she is a little star and a bonus to her employers as we were so impressed.We will definitely be returning for the food,service and price! thoroughly recommend.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“alisonc”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Went on 30 may party of 7, very unimaginative menu. Young lady (age 18) was served on alcholic drink then had it taken away after drinking part of it cos she didnt look 21 !! Restaurant was almost unbearably hot but all windows were closed, half an hour wait but we were told about this. The rare steak (part of mixed grill) came to table almost black, the well done steak had blood oozing out of the middle & everyones peas looked dried out. On a positive note wexford chicken was tasty but did not outweigh the negatives, we left without ordering our intended desserts

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We hadn't booked a table to eat on a Sunday lunchtime but we were hopeful for a table. There was five of us and a toddler. The bar area was empty with menus on the tables but we were told they don't serve food in the bar area on a Sunday and that they couldn't help us with a table! The staff were very unhelpful and were prepared to turn away business rather than ask us to wait or look for an alternative. It has been a while since we visited The Nutwell Lodge and I can honestly say we WON'T be going again!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nutwell Lodge also viewed

 

Been to Nutwell Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nutwell Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.