We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great walk, great glacier, scary suspension bridge :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trift Bridge

Trift Bridge
Trift Glacier, Gadmen, Switzerland
033 982 26 26
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Gadmen
Type: Bridges, Landmarks
Attraction details
Zurich
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great walk, great glacier, scary suspension bridge :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I'm not great with heights, but after walking the 4km from the top of the cable car, I forced myself over the spectacular suspension bridge and got some great snaps.

I can really recommend this walk as it's spectacular, but not quite a crowded as famous day walks like the 5 Lakes.

The walk was steadily uphill most of the way on narrow paths. Good shoes and walking sticks recommended. There's plenty of water along the way in the fast streams from the snow melt.

Be aware that there's only 2 8 person gondolas, leaving every 15 minutes. This means that on the weekend you need to book your time slot in *both* directions. We arrived at the cable station on a glorious Sunday at 12:30, only to find we could book a ride up, but there were no rides down. So our planned 8k 800m delta altitude walk turned into more like 14k and 1500m delta altitude.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    4
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“More than a bridge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The Bridge itself is really nice, with a great combination among the glacier, the lake, the river, the mountains, the valley, and the hike. As almost like always in the Alps, there is the possibility to skip part of the hike for a cable-way, which I suggest for the beginning phase (the cable-way allows to substitute a 2h-2h30 hike and therefore save up some energy for the remaining 1h30 until the bridge, and offers a nice view of the valley). I also suggest to bring your meal and enjoy it while you admire the place.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great hike, wish the trail hadn't been closed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

A friend and I planned to hike from Gadmen, near the Triftbahn station, all the way up to the Triftbrucke, but after an hour or so and just a few miles of hiking, we came to a closed gate indicating that the gate was closed. Turns out it isn't very safe until more of the snow melts, so while we were hoping to get up before the masses of people who take the triftbahn, we found that the trail may not be safe to hike until mid-June, around the same time that the Triftbahn opens. Nevertheless we enjoyed the hike and the views (in spite of low clouds and rain) were magnificent and only would've gotten better the higher up we went. It was pretty steep on the alternate trail we took (on the right side of the gorge rather than left, as you go up), so not a good hike for young kids, but teenagers and anyone with a decent pair of knees should be ok. Recommend bringing trekking poles or ski poles and bringing plenty of water and food. Unfortunately I cannot provide guidance for the Triftbahn cablecar as I did not take it. To find the hiking trails, walk down the road past the Triftbahn parking lot, then back up, following the signs toward the red and white blazed trails.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The trail is closed. will open in May..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Was very excited about this attraction but found out that it as closed after walking halfway up. The trail was very scenic and I am sure it would have been a lot of fun if it were open.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhopal, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“suspension bridge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Amazing place..still wounding why anyone person make this bridge at that height.
Cable car really amazing.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trift Bridge also viewed

Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
 
Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
Meiringen, Bernese Oberland
 

Been to Trift Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trift Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.