We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place which could be hard to find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Detroit Utica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Detroit Utica to your Saves list
Courtyard Detroit Utica
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   46000 Utica Park Boulevard, Utica, MI 48315   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Utica
Colorado
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice place which could be hard to find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here last weekend. The room was comfortable but the room we originally reserved was not honored due to the hotel being overbooked. Side note, I never did understand how you make a reservation and the business over books their business, whether its car rental companies, airlines or hotels they all do a poor job of taking care of clusters who plan a head and book rooms.

We were coming in from out west so, we slept in and didn't get down to the dinning area until 10:00 am at which time the kitchen service was already closed, which meant getting something from their snack area or leaving the hotel to grab breakfast.

If your not familiar with the area a GPS might help you find their location which is located through a shopping center area which may not be a natural place to look if this is your first time here.

Overall our stay was very good and we would stay here again without question. Staff was great when we had a question.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    27
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
14
7
3
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Marriott was the first major hotel chain to bring big city hotel amenities to the motor hotel world alongside major highways. That was more than 30 years ago. I was a charter member of the Courtyard Club. Today, every chain has a version and my current favorite has been Hyatt Place.

Last weekend the Hyatt was booked. We settled for the Utica Courtyard Club for the first time in years and were pleasantly surprised. The hotel had been refurbished as well as reinvented. Management and staff were very accommodating, friendly and professional. Rooms were large and clean with extremely comfortable bedding. This particular hotel though did lack some room conveniences like an electronic connection station (though there are plugs for chargers bedside), microwave, and refrigerator/sink area. I understand that some rooms have refrigerators and can be requested.

The real star of the facility is the redesigned lobby. It offers large, open work and social areas with many conveniences for the business traveler. These include business centers, informational touch screens, boarding pass stations, a round the clock market and The Bistro for breakfast, light dinner fare and beverage service (beer, wine, cocktails). The morning scramble was quite good, enough for two and reasonably priced. We actually preferred the friendly prompt service (brought to table) and good food to the mediocre free breakfast buffets provided by many other hotels.

For a quick overnight or weekend, if this facility is any indication, the Courtyard Club is back in the game.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We recently stayed here for an overnight trip with our son's soccer team. Our room was spacious and clean, and the beds were comfortable. The staff was friendly, courteous and helpful. Plenty of room in the lobby to sit and socialize. We did experience a lot of road noise on our side of the hotel (309), so I'd recommend requesting a room on the opposite side of the hall. My only other suggestion would be to have refrigerators in all the rooms. Yes, you can get one if you request it, but the rooms are plenty large enough to include one permanently. We got a great rate, so overall it was a great value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

A recent remodel leaves this hotel as one of the better Courtyard properties i have used. It is a little difficult to get to. While it is right off the M-53, you must make a "Michigan left" to get onto the side street, then through a business park, traffic circle, river, woods, grandma's house, a small fruited plain, then there is the hotel. (Not that bad, but close.) That said, traffic noise is non-existant. Modern lobby with cool colors and functional seating make it comfortable space to meet before (or prep for) your meeting. Bistro across the lobby has limited but made-to-order light meals and cocktails. Pantry has the usual Courtyard stock of munchies, liquid refreshment and sundries. Rooms are new, well appointed, with bedside 110v AC plugs on both sides of the bed (how did we live without them?) and LCD flat screen televisions. Again, very quiet. Wireless third-party Internet was slow to log in and glacial in speed, preventing an "Excellent" overall score, I used 3G/LTE data instead. Staff were friendly, almost bubbly, and happy to see me. Will absolutely stay again.

Visited April, 2013.

Room Tip: Ask for a low, even number (102, 206, 304) to be away from the highway and hotel entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

From Chris the manager to all the staff at Courtyard Detroit Utica it is a pleasure to stay at this property. Very inviting lobby area, nice cafe style meals for breakfast and dinner, indoor pool/jacuzzi, ample meeting rooms and very nice rooms that are kept clean as a whistle by the housekeeping staff. Engineering and housekeeping both were very visible during my stay and to me it means maintenance and cleanliness is a priority. Right off the M-53 freeway Hall Road exit, so the location is convenient. Shopping and restaurants of all types are proximate from casual to fine dining & fine shopping. Partridge Creek Mall is about 4 miles away and between the hotel and there are a multitude of other choices with Partridge having the higher end retailers/restaurants/movies. This was my first stay and will not be my last. I found the lobby a great place for checking e-mails and doing some work when others were in the room. You will like the clean sophisticated ambiance of this property.

Room Tip: Rooms facing east might be a bit quieter than west due to highway off the west side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

A standard hotel room, recently renovated, with very comfy beds and generous shower. It's the staff that set it apart from the ordinary- attentive, responsive, and courteous. Bistro restaurant has limited offerings but the food is cooked to order. A good location for shopping and/or business in suburban Detroit.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I love this hotel. The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to make your stay great. The entire hotel was renovated and now sports trendy, modern decor throughout. I love the color scheme used in the wall coverings and carpets. The lobby bar/restaurant has royal blue faux suede chairs and orange leather booth seating mixed with platinum gray wallpaper, shiny silver accents, and marble table tops. The decor is vibrant and fun. The food is surprisingly good! Have an appetizer or light meal and a drink after work and watch TV. Don't miss breakfast because the thick cut French toast with fresh strawberries and syrup and a cup of Starbucks is AMAZING! Best French toast ever. I travel a lot and Courtyard by Marriott is an excellent value. This property in particular has excellent rates and service so if you are staying in the Utica, Shelby Twp or Clinton Twp areas, this hotel is my recommendation and first choice. I have stayed at all the nearby Hampton Inns and they can't compare.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Detroit Utica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Detroit Utica

Address: 46000 Utica Park Boulevard, Utica, MI 48315
Location: United States > Michigan > Utica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Utica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Detroit Utica 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new state-of-the-art lobby at the Courtyard Utica provides greater flexibility and choices to our guests. This Hotel features multiple spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to news, weather, maps, directions and city events via our 55 inch touch screen interactive GoBoard. The highlight of our new lobby experience is the Bistro - Eat.Drink.Connect. which provides guests fresh food offerings, a large choice of Starbucks beverages and artistic cocktails. Take advantage of our 24-hour Market for that anytime snack, relax at our indoor pool and whirlpool or stay fit at our fitness center. The Courtyard Detroit-Utica is located in the north east suburbs of Detroit, just a short drive from Chrysler, General Dynamics, BAE Systems, Boeing, Kuka, and Ford Motor Company. Our location is great not only for the business traveler, but also for the weekend get-away with shopping attractions such as Lakeside Mall and Partridge Creek Mall just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard Detroit Utica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Detroit Utica Hotel Utica
Courtyard Utica
Utica Marriott
Utica Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Detroit Utica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.