We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45555 Utica Park Blvd, Utica, MI 48315   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Utica
Santa Clarita, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

I usually stay at another hotel chain and was booked here because of limited availability do to quick travel needs. I wasn't sure what to expect and read some of the reviews that had been posted. There seemed to be a concensus this was a good choice. We'll ! It was. I've been here several days and have nothing but good things to say so far. It's clean, well managed, the service is great and the staff willing to please. They do offer a breakfast selection but the same items, after several days, will wear on you. No complaint just a personal point. You'll need transportation to find other eating establishments and there are many to choose from within a 5 mile radius.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica, responded to this review, October 11, 2014
Your review is much appreciated! Thank you for the kind words about our staff! We strive to ensure your complete satisfaction! We look forward to seeing you again in the future! Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    23
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
9
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Let's start off by saying you will see and here everywhere about the Satisfaction policy that they want to know if you can't give it a 10, well it's a 10 and they will make sure it's a 10 if you don't think it is. It is easy, don't like something tell them and they make it right period!
Hotel was very nice and clean, the room was large and had a very small but very useful kitchenette. It was great to have the sink, microwave, cupboards, counter and small fridge and at the counter you can get dining ware if needed. We didn't but if we stayed a few days it would have been very useful.
So what's near by you ask? LOTS! Dave and Buster in the adjacent parking lot, Applebee's, SAMs club and much more all within a minutes walk. There was lots we did and lots very close, there is a huge mall called Lake Side just minutes away which you could spend days at. There is an excellent outlet mall called Great Lakes just 15 minutes away and is also an excellent place to shop and/or walk not to say Frankenmuth which is also not far to visit.

Room Tip: We found Applebee's to be the best place for dinner which was just a couple minute walk but if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for the 5 star rating on your most recent stay! We are delighted we were able to give you that "wow" factor! We are glad you enjoyed all of our amenities in the room, and hopefully you got a chance to go to all the great places you listed! I am glad we were able to give you the perfect 10 experience! We hope to see you again in the future! Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I booked two rooms through Hotwire.com for my wife and I, and another couple. We went to see Queen at the Palace of Auburn Hills. The hotel was about 20 minutes to the venue but the price was more than half of what closer hotels wanted. The rooms were clean, staff friendly and the free breakfast was very good. we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for your review on your most recent stay! We hope you had a good time at the Queen Concert at the Palace! I am delighted to hear you had a positive experience.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future! Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelican rapids mn
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed here for several days and thoroughly enjoyed it! The staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were very clean and spacious. Breakfast was great!! Pool hours were somewhat limited. Only complaint was that our door would stick open so we had to make sure it closed completely every time we left the room! Would recommend this to others and definitely stay here again!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for the great review on your most recent stay! We are glad you had such a positive experience!
Thank you for informing us about your door, we will have this corrected immediately. We hope to see you again in the future!
Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Spent the whole week here. Lots of activity. The staff was very good and always greeted you with a smile and a hello. My friends stayed in the hotel behind this one (Courtyard). The HI express had a much better breakfast and was closer to the restaurants. It was busy in the morning, but the breakfast staff kept up.

I like a hot cup of coffee from the lounge in the evening (8pm-10pm). 3 nights it was hot. The other 2 it was not. Oh well. I had to make a cup in the room instead.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Good evening,

Thank you for the great review on your most recent stay! I am glad to hear our staff always greated you with a friendly smile. We pride ourselves on our customer service. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary hot breakfast. We hope you were able to enjoy some of our local restaurants. We hoper to see you again in the future!
Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stayed here overnight last weekend for a nearby wedding. Got a decent rate @ $99. Check in was fast, the room was very nice. Clean. I liked that they had 2 types of pillows on the beds (soft and firm). Our room had a mini fridge and microwave, bonus. I don't usually bother about the TV, but they have direct TV and the channels were awesome. Nice that the menu was easy to navigate ... some places it is more trouble than its worth. Anyway ... One minor complaint: I had asked the front desk guy to call us a cab, but he gave me the number to call instead. Ok ... no problem, we weren't sure if we were going to drink a lot at the wedding. Soooo that cab company had a huge wait and I called back down to inquire if there were any other local cab companies and the guy told me he'd call me back. He NEVER called back. I was going to thank him for the no call back on the way out after deciding to drive, but I figured it wasn't worth the hassle to hassle. Oh well. The breakfast was really great actually. Omelettes, bagels, biscuits, gravy, fruit, cereal and more. Believe it or not the coffee was actually REALLY good. Shocker I know, but true. So I guess what I am saying is that it's a good hotel to stay at in the area, especially for the price. I didn't use the pool but it looked decent. Cheers.

Room Tip: Cabs are hard to come by in Utica. Plan in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Thank you for your review on your most recent stay! We are glad to hear that you had such a great experience. I apologize that a call back was not made in a timely fashion regarding a taxi service. We value your feedback as a way to improve service, and avoid any problems again in the future. I am delighted you enjoyed our breakfast! We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Had the chance to stay at this hotel for 3 nights and was very impressed. The staff, from the manager to the house keeping staff, were all very accommodating and knowledgeable. We were always greeted with a warm smile and a friendly hello. The are lots of restaurants and shopping within an easy walk or drive. The only drawback I could find was the free breakfast left a little to be desired. The hotel was fully booked and the staff was having a hard time keeping up with the demand.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Good evening Byron,

I am very pleased that you had such a positive experience with our staff! We pride ourselves on ensuring the highest standards of customer service! I am glad that our location provided you with many choices of restaurants and great shopping areas! Thank you for the positive feedback!
We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica

Address: 45555 Utica Park Blvd, Utica, MI 48315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Utica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Utica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy comfortable accommodations near Detroit at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica. Our Michigan hotel is just a short drive from the Motor City and its activities.Your family will love staying at our hotel in Utica, Michigan, which is located just off Highway 59 with easy access to numerous area attractions. Nearby sights & activities include Stony Creek Metropark, the Palace of Auburn Hills - home of the Detroit Pistons downtown Rochester Hills, the casinos of Detroit and shopping at the Lakeside Shopping Center and Partridge Creek Mall.Business travelers will be impressed by the convenience of our accommodations near Detroit. Situated in the suburbs of Utica, MI, our hotel offers close proximity to many area businesses. Some of these companies include DaimlerChrysler, Ford Motor Company, St. Gobain Sekurit, Inc., Delphi, Selfridge Air Force Base and the General Motors Technical Center. While lodging in Utica, Michigan use our Business Center with a fax machine, copier, printer, available computer and free high-speed, wireless Internet access for all your business needs.Treat yourself right when you visit Utica, Michigan. Our hotel offers amenities including a heated, indoor pool, a modern Fitness Center and our famous complimentary hot breakfast bar. Book your reservations now to enjoy our great Utica, Michigan hotel deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Detroit-Utica
Holiday Inn Utica
Utica Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.