We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45555 Utica Park Blvd, Utica, MI 48315   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Utica
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed with my family. Nice room, very clean. Comfortable beds. Quiet room. You can walk to Dave and Busters and there are a lot of restaurants and shopping very close by. Pool facilities were clean, clean towels avaiable. Pool was a little chilly, but kids didn't mind. Breakfast was very good. Plenty of choices, including hot items, but not very well stocked. I would definitely stay here again. A little pricey though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarah S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to complete this review. We really do appreciate it and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at out hotel! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    23
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
9
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

The room was big. A refrig & microwave in each room was great. Breakfast was ok. Not much to choose from. Wish they had a waffle maker.
It took all day for our room to be cleaned. I didn't complain because it really didn't matter to me.
There are restaurants within walking distance. Dave & Buster's is there too for the kids.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarah S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
I am so sorry that your stay with us was less than satisfactory. We do offer a hot breakfast each morning which includes biscuits and sausage gravy, eggs, bacon and warm cinnamon rolls. We are working right now to add a pancake maker to mix as well. We are always open to suggestions to improve our breakfast bar. We greatly appreciate your feedback, as it helps us to improve and provide a better experience for all of our guests. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Nice, clean hotel but don't stay unless you are a heavy sleeper. We stayed 10/27/12 and got no sleep as you can hear everything in the rooms beside and above you. Couldn't have the heat on in the room as the heater was also so loud. Not worth the money when you can't sleep.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarah S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
I would like to thank you for taking the time to bring these matters to my attention, as it is only through receiving comments such as yours that I am able to constantly monitor the service and standards offered to the guests at our hotel.

It was, however, frustrating to hear of the issues you experienced regarding noise disturbance from neighboring guests, for which I would like to offer my sincerest apologies. Please be assured that we do try to ensure that all guests behave in an appropriate and considerate manner while staying with us. The front desk is always available to handle these types of complaints when they are informed of them. I have also informed out maintenance department about the issue with your heater so that this problem will be resolved immediately.

It is disappointing that you did not experience a perfect stay with us during your last visit. We would be delighted to welcome you back in the near future when I am confident we can re-establish your faith in us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Hotel was clean,staff treated us great , room was very clean, pool was very good , workout area was great . The breakfast that was included was great , each morning was great to get up and eat nice warm breakfast , different variety every morning eggs sausage what ever you wanted it was there , juice milk coffee fruit no complaints on this part. would stay there again

Room Tip: the room we had was on the 4th floor which is what we like not so close to elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarah S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
The staff and I would like to thank you for submitting this wonderful review. We are so glad that you were able to partake in our breakfast each morning. We continuously try to improve it to ensure that our guests are delighted with our breakfast selections. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

When we arrived they put me in a regular room even though I booked a suite. The front desk quickly rectified the situation though. The room was clean and comfortable. Perfect for two adults and a child on the pull out sofa. Breakfast buffet exceeded our expectations. Eggs, sausage, warm cinnamon rolls, muffins, biscuits & gravy, bagels, yogurt, cereal, something for everyone. Pool was heavy on the chlorine and a bit cold. Overall its a nice, clean hotel for the money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarah S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
I am very sorry to hear that you had an issue with your reservation when you arrived at the hotel. However, I am glad that the reservation was quickly corrected so that you could have comfortable stay with us! We are so pleased that your family enjoyed our breakfast buffet in the morning. We are constantly trying to improve it to satisfy all of our guests. I will have maintenance look into the pool issue so that future guests are not affected by the amount of chemicals. We do use a salt water system, so I am not sure what would have caused the chlorine issue.

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete this review! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

I travel at least 3 nights a week. I love the staff in utica, Mary, Karianne and Matt make the long day worth while. The rooms are very clean and accommodating, everything you need to relax and get a great nights sleep. Everyone is friendly and you always feel welcomed. This hotel is centrally located near dining, shopping and just about anything else that you could want or need. I travel several states for work and I rate this location a 9.5 out of 10. The only thing that would make it a 10, would be if they had a resturant and bar.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarah S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your recent review! We greatly appreciate your recognition of our front desk employees and I have posted a copy of your kudos for the entire staff. It is wonderful to hear from our valued repeat customers and appreciate your continued patronage. We look forward to seeing you during your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here one night in April for a shopping excursion. This was our second trip to this HI Express. The hotel was very clean and the guy at the front desk was very friendly. We booked a suite, as it was the only room left with 2 double beds. The room was huge, but was right above the front entrance, and right by the elevator. You heard everyone who came and went from the hotel, and everyone who entered and exited the elevator. Normally, we would have asked for another room, but it was late and we were tired from a long day of cross-border shopping!

Location is great; close to Lakeside Mall and every store you could imagine!

We will definitely stay here again, but will make sure we are nowhere near the elevator or front entrance.

Room Tip: Do not stay near elevator or above lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarah S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
The staff and I truly appreciate your recent review of our property. We pride ourselves in outstanding customer service and are very pleased that the front desk representative was able to take care of all of your needs during your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that there was an issue with noise during your stay here. We will look into finding a way to resolve this for our future guests. Hopefully we will have the chance to serve you again soon!

Partridge Creek Mall is also an excellent option to suit all of your shopping needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica

Address: 45555 Utica Park Blvd, Utica, MI 48315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Utica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Utica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy comfortable accommodations near Detroit at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica. Our Michigan hotel is just a short drive from the Motor City and its activities.Your family will love staying at our hotel in Utica, Michigan, which is located just off Highway 59 with easy access to numerous area attractions. Nearby sights & activities include Stony Creek Metropark, the Palace of Auburn Hills - home of the Detroit Pistons downtown Rochester Hills, the casinos of Detroit and shopping at the Lakeside Shopping Center and Partridge Creek Mall.Business travelers will be impressed by the convenience of our accommodations near Detroit. Situated in the suburbs of Utica, MI, our hotel offers close proximity to many area businesses. Some of these companies include DaimlerChrysler, Ford Motor Company, St. Gobain Sekurit, Inc., Delphi, Selfridge Air Force Base and the General Motors Technical Center. While lodging in Utica, Michigan use our Business Center with a fax machine, copier, printer, available computer and free high-speed, wireless Internet access for all your business needs.Treat yourself right when you visit Utica, Michigan. Our hotel offers amenities including a heated, indoor pool, a modern Fitness Center and our famous complimentary hot breakfast bar. Book your reservations now to enjoy our great Utica, Michigan hotel deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Detroit-Utica
Holiday Inn Utica
Utica Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.