We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, reasonably priced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45555 Utica Park Blvd, Utica, MI 48315   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Utica
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

When we arrived they put me in a regular room even though I booked a suite. The front desk quickly rectified the situation though. The room was clean and comfortable. Perfect for two adults and a child on the pull out sofa. Breakfast buffet exceeded our expectations. Eggs, sausage, warm cinnamon rolls, muffins, biscuits & gravy, bagels, yogurt, cereal, something for everyone. Pool was heavy on the chlorine and a bit cold. Overall its a nice, clean hotel for the money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarah S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
I am very sorry to hear that you had an issue with your reservation when you arrived at the hotel. However, I am glad that the reservation was quickly corrected so that you could have comfortable stay with us! We are so pleased that your family enjoyed our breakfast buffet in the morning. We are constantly trying to improve it to satisfy all of our guests. I will have maintenance look into the pool issue so that future guests are not affected by the amount of chemicals. We do use a salt water system, so I am not sure what would have caused the chlorine issue.

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete this review! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    23
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
9
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Utica, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

I travel at least 3 nights a week. I love the staff in utica, Mary, Karianne and Matt make the long day worth while. The rooms are very clean and accommodating, everything you need to relax and get a great nights sleep. Everyone is friendly and you always feel welcomed. This hotel is centrally located near dining, shopping and just about anything else that you could want or need. I travel several states for work and I rate this location a 9.5 out of 10. The only thing that would make it a 10, would be if they had a resturant and bar.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarah S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your recent review! We greatly appreciate your recognition of our front desk employees and I have posted a copy of your kudos for the entire staff. It is wonderful to hear from our valued repeat customers and appreciate your continued patronage. We look forward to seeing you during your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here one night in April for a shopping excursion. This was our second trip to this HI Express. The hotel was very clean and the guy at the front desk was very friendly. We booked a suite, as it was the only room left with 2 double beds. The room was huge, but was right above the front entrance, and right by the elevator. You heard everyone who came and went from the hotel, and everyone who entered and exited the elevator. Normally, we would have asked for another room, but it was late and we were tired from a long day of cross-border shopping!

Location is great; close to Lakeside Mall and every store you could imagine!

We will definitely stay here again, but will make sure we are nowhere near the elevator or front entrance.

Room Tip: Do not stay near elevator or above lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarah S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
The staff and I truly appreciate your recent review of our property. We pride ourselves in outstanding customer service and are very pleased that the front desk representative was able to take care of all of your needs during your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that there was an issue with noise during your stay here. We will look into finding a way to resolve this for our future guests. Hopefully we will have the chance to serve you again soon!

Partridge Creek Mall is also an excellent option to suit all of your shopping needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 149 cities Reviews in 149 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

The nature of my work requires that I sometimes arrive late in the evening (sometimes after 1:00) and leave again by 7:30 . . . not all the time so don’t think I need to find different work but that’s not the point of this review! This was a night when I arrived at 1:00 a.m. Parking was great, right near the entrance even at that hour! I was amazed to see how wide the hallway was AND that my room was still very large. I fell into bed exhausted and didn’t hear a peep all night. I woke up and enjoyed the French Roast (I like my coffee flavor more on the dark side) and, because of my own schedule, couldn’t wait for more eggs to be brought out. The staff was friendly and the one crazy night of this trip was made less crazy because my lodging was wonderful. The room was so comfortable, clean, and up-to-date I wish I could have lingered! If you are like me and travel with lots of electronics, you will appreciate the abundance of easily accessed outlets near the desk.

Room Tip: My room was facing the parking lot and entrance but I heard NOTHING.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarah S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you very much for completing this outstanding review of our hotel. We know you are very busy and we appreciate that you took the time to recognize us online. Hopefully in the future you will be able to stay with us longer so that you can take advantage of our other amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MI
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We booked a room at the HIE Utica just for the night, it was a great decision. Easy to get to, friendly staff, very clean! The room we got was a king jacuzzi suite. Very nice! The jacuzzi is in the room, not the bathtub. We had a Large room, with a king bed and loved that the pillows were labeled with Firm or soft...I discovered I loved a different pillow than I had thought. The pool was a little chilly, but didnt stop us from swimming. The breakfast was good and fresh and well stocked. Everyone we came in contact with was extremely friendly and a pleasure to talk to. We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarah S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
My staff and I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! I will look into the temperature of the pool today to ensure that it is not too cold for future guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Staff and service were exceptional. Our stay was prompted by a death in the family and the staff made sure we were as comfortable as possible. We all thank them very much.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarah S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you very much for submitting this wonderful review for our hotel. We strive to go above and beyond for each guest to ensure that they are as comfortable as possible during their stay with us. Hopefully we will see you again in the future during happier conditions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channahon, Illinois
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

My wife & I recently stayed at this Hotel (12/27/11). The rooms are very clean, the efficiency and friendliness of the staff were great and very accommodating! The continental breakfast was also good and kept very clean as well. The work out room was a bit small and the equipment was not in the best condition but overall a great stay and experience. Tons of shopping and restaruants in the area as well. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.

Room Tip: we stayed on the main floor directly across from the pool area and the room was exceptionally quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica

Address: 45555 Utica Park Blvd, Utica, MI 48315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Utica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Utica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy comfortable accommodations near Detroit at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica. Our Michigan hotel is just a short drive from the Motor City and its activities.Your family will love staying at our hotel in Utica, Michigan, which is located just off Highway 59 with easy access to numerous area attractions. Nearby sights & activities include Stony Creek Metropark, the Palace of Auburn Hills - home of the Detroit Pistons downtown Rochester Hills, the casinos of Detroit and shopping at the Lakeside Shopping Center and Partridge Creek Mall.Business travelers will be impressed by the convenience of our accommodations near Detroit. Situated in the suburbs of Utica, MI, our hotel offers close proximity to many area businesses. Some of these companies include DaimlerChrysler, Ford Motor Company, St. Gobain Sekurit, Inc., Delphi, Selfridge Air Force Base and the General Motors Technical Center. While lodging in Utica, Michigan use our Business Center with a fax machine, copier, printer, available computer and free high-speed, wireless Internet access for all your business needs.Treat yourself right when you visit Utica, Michigan. Our hotel offers amenities including a heated, indoor pool, a modern Fitness Center and our famous complimentary hot breakfast bar. Book your reservations now to enjoy our great Utica, Michigan hotel deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Detroit-Utica
Holiday Inn Utica
Utica Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.