We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful 2nd stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Union Pier

Save Saved
You added Inn at Union Pier to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn at Union Pier
9708 Berrien Street, Union Pier, MI 49129   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
PROCRASTINATOR'S SPECIAL!
Ranked #2 of 4 Union Pier B&B and Inns
Indiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful 2nd stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed for one night in October 2013. We were in the Dandelion room this time. We found this room very comfortable and spacious. We were able to use the fireplace this time and loved it. We feel very comfortable at this Bed & Breakfast. Bill is such a friendly and welcoming inn-keeper. I really can't say enough good things about him. (the other staff was wonderful too) Local wine and popcorn were served in the evening and such a delicious breakfast in the morning. I suggest you try the homemade granola, it is the best. There is always water, tea, coffee and cookies available. We appreciate this as we like to have tea in the evening before bed. The outdoor hot tub was nice to use in the evening. The house is very cozy and comfortable. There are many places to sit and talk, read or play board games. I would recommend this Bed & Breakfast to anyone looking for a welcoming and relaxing place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatUnionPier, Front Office Manager at Inn at Union Pier, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor. The Dandelion Room is my favorite because you can lay in bed and watch the fire while reading a book. You'll have to come back and visit after the first of the year to see what they've done to the Great House rooms. We are closed from December 8th through the 26th for renovations. Hope to see you for a third visit soon.

Mary Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    16
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
72
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We recently enjoyed a 2 night stay at the inn in the "Room With a View". The inn itself is very pretty. Our room was in the house across the gardens from the main in. We had a king sized bed which was very comfortable and we really enjoyed the unique fireplace in the room. The inn keepers are extremely friendly and very pleasant to chat with. The breakfast was very good also. The house is across the street and down a path from the beach, but don't envision long walks on the beach. The part that is for public use is pretty narrow with keep out signs on either side. When you pick a room, pick it based on the room itself and not the view. The inn really doesn't have a unique view of anything and is nestled in the middle of other houses. My only other advice is to bring your own shampoo, conditioner and soap. We were less than impressed with what was supplied.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatUnionPier, Front Office Manager at Inn at Union Pier, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your cozy retreat , breakfasts, and dining at our close by restaurants and wineries. I'm sorry those signs scared you off. We only have a small beach access but as long as you are down by the water's edge you can walk for miles north or south. We try to tell people who go down to the beach not to worry about the signs as long as you are down by the water. Room with a View is usually the most requested room because of the large balcony, spacious room, comfy king bed, and has a view of the Great House, courtyard, and English garden in the spring and summer. I can understand you might have thought it had a view of the lake, but on our website it says a view of the courtyard. The Lakeside room only has a view of the lake when the leaves are off the trees. Thank you for taking the time to recommend The Inn. Hopefully next time you come you'll be able to take another walk on the beach along the water's edge.

Regards,

Mary Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We recently held our company overnight retreat at the Inn and we could not have asked for a more lovely spot. Situated conveniently close to our home base of Chicago, we felt light years away from our regular routine.

The accommodations were lovely, the staff was as kind as anyone we have met, and the surroundings were invigorating and restful. We accomplished our work and were able to kick back and relax afterwards.

We all commented on how much we enjoyed this trip, and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatUnionPier, Front Office Manager at Inn at Union Pier, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Wow! Pristine Getaway! What a great recommendation. Thank you so much. We can see how relaxed people are even after only being here for one day. Hopefully when you come again you'll be able to stay for 2 nights. You'll have to come and check out the new renovations in the Great House. We're only 90 minutes away.

Kind regards,

Mary Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I recently hosted a global team of colleagues at the Union Pier Inn. We were a force of 25 and we took over the entire inn. The accomodations were perfect, the food delicious, the beds were comfy, the surroundings were magnificent, the gardens were in full bloom.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed at the Inn this past Sunday through Wednesday. Its our fourth stay here and they never disappoint. It is a fast hour and 45 minute drive from Chicago. The Inn is on a quiet street just a short walk to the beach. The grounds and the setting give instant serenity.

They have free bikes to ride along quiet country roads. We walked the beach for miles; completely alone. We hiked at Warren Woods; literally a 10 minute drive from the Inn.

We stayed in Madeleine's room. It was clean and spacious with a private balcony and chaise lounge perfect for reading. The breakfasts are a treat. The first morning we had s'mores waffles, the next was a vegetable fritata, our last was french toast; all delicious. In the afternoons they put out white and red wines from local winery's with popcorn to snack on. Tea and cookies are available all day.

The staff are very helpful without being intrusive. They told us about Monday rib night at the Red Arrow Roadhouse which is a 3 block walk from the Inn. They also recommended D'Agostino's Navajo lounge in Bridgman, a new favorite. Also not to be missed is dinner at Tabor Hill Winery overlooking the vineyard. Like being in Napa. Also, Brewsters for Italian food in New Buffalo. All a few minutes drive from the Inn.

We've been to Harbor Country many times for quick getaways and the Inn at Union Pier is always our first choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed in this B&B for a weekend in June. The location is great - close to the beach. Our room was cozy and clean. The inn is very charming! Breakfasts were very tasty and sophisticated. The staff was helpful and friendly. The common areas are well maintained and have outside seating were you can relax and enjoy the atmosphere. They have a lot of flowers everywhere. I definitely recommend this place.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatUnionPier, Front Office Manager at Inn at Union Pier, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you for taking time to comment on your stay with us. Sorry it took so long to comment back to you, but we were not sure where to respond and how. I definitely agree with you on the breakfasts. Next week in the Great House we're having the wood floors refinished on the main floor and rooms on second floor repainted and redecorated. We will reopen the weekend before New Year's Eve. Hopefully we will be seeing you again next summer or come and stay over the winter months and cuddle up in front of one of our Swedish fireplaces with some hot tea or cocoa.

Mary Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is a great weekend retreat and close to everything. We stayed in the Captain's Quarters room, it was quiet, spacious and comfortable. The Inn is on a beautiful side street, in walking distance to a public beach, with flowers and plenty of outside seating to rest and relax. The owners were very gracious and the full breakfast was prepared fresh each morning. They gladly recommended places to eat and made dinner reservations for us as we enjoyed a stress-free, relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at Union Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Union Pier

Address: 9708 Berrien Street, Union Pier, MI 49129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Union Pier
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Union Pier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1920's era Bed and Breakfast Inn with 16 guest rooms, private baths, real wood burning fireplaces and 250 foot steps to a beautiful Lake Michigan beach. Stay includes full breakfast, snacks & beverages during the day and wine & popcorn in the evening. Located in a quite residential setting within minutes of restaurants, shopping, antique shops, art galleries and wine tasting. Enjoy our hospitality in the casually elegant surroundings of a true country Inn. Open year round. Also available for family gatherings or corporate retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Inn at Union Pier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Union Pier Hotel Union Pier
Inn At Union Pier Michigan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Union Pier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.