We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for a great team retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Union Pier

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Inn at Union Pier to your Saves list
Inn at Union Pier
9708 Berrien Street, Union Pier, MI 49129   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Weekday 20% off 3rd night
Ranked #2 of 4 Union Pier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Thanks for a great team retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I recently hosted a global team of colleagues at the Union Pier Inn. We were a force of 25 and we took over the entire inn. The accomodations were perfect, the food delicious, the beds were comfy, the surroundings were magnificent, the gardens were in full bloom.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    22
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
112
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed at the Inn this past Sunday through Wednesday. Its our fourth stay here and they never disappoint. It is a fast hour and 45 minute drive from Chicago. The Inn is on a quiet street just a short walk to the beach. The grounds and the setting give instant serenity.

They have free bikes to ride along quiet country roads. We walked the beach for miles; completely alone. We hiked at Warren Woods; literally a 10 minute drive from the Inn.

We stayed in Madeleine's room. It was clean and spacious with a private balcony and chaise lounge perfect for reading. The breakfasts are a treat. The first morning we had s'mores waffles, the next was a vegetable fritata, our last was french toast; all delicious. In the afternoons they put out white and red wines from local winery's with popcorn to snack on. Tea and cookies are available all day.

The staff are very helpful without being intrusive. They told us about Monday rib night at the Red Arrow Roadhouse which is a 3 block walk from the Inn. They also recommended D'Agostino's Navajo lounge in Bridgman, a new favorite. Also not to be missed is dinner at Tabor Hill Winery overlooking the vineyard. Like being in Napa. Also, Brewsters for Italian food in New Buffalo. All a few minutes drive from the Inn.

We've been to Harbor Country many times for quick getaways and the Inn at Union Pier is always our first choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed in this B&B for a weekend in June. The location is great - close to the beach. Our room was cozy and clean. The inn is very charming! Breakfasts were very tasty and sophisticated. The staff was helpful and friendly. The common areas are well maintained and have outside seating were you can relax and enjoy the atmosphere. They have a lot of flowers everywhere. I definitely recommend this place.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatUnionPier, Front Office Manager at Inn at Union Pier, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you for taking time to comment on your stay with us. Sorry it took so long to comment back to you, but we were not sure where to respond and how. I definitely agree with you on the breakfasts. Next week in the Great House we're having the wood floors refinished on the main floor and rooms on second floor repainted and redecorated. We will reopen the weekend before New Year's Eve. Hopefully we will be seeing you again next summer or come and stay over the winter months and cuddle up in front of one of our Swedish fireplaces with some hot tea or cocoa.

Mary Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is a great weekend retreat and close to everything. We stayed in the Captain's Quarters room, it was quiet, spacious and comfortable. The Inn is on a beautiful side street, in walking distance to a public beach, with flowers and plenty of outside seating to rest and relax. The owners were very gracious and the full breakfast was prepared fresh each morning. They gladly recommended places to eat and made dinner reservations for us as we enjoyed a stress-free, relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
136 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed in the Room with a View. Nice room on the second floor. Clean with a comfortable bed and a great porch. It is a bit lacking on ventilation, but that seems normal for B&B's in Michigan. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is tasty and very filling.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a great time at this charming B&B. The hosts, Bill & Joyce, are super and the Inn offers everything you'd want at a Lake retreat - bicycles, hot tub, great breakfast, good parking, and easy access to the beach (5 minute walk). Would highly recommend for city folk who want a lake get-away retreat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

See above outstanding
Highly recommend.
Wonderful place and breakfast great restaurants close by, many places to sit and converse both inside and outside. Easy walk to Lake Michigan, bikes to ride on lakeside drive. Shopping, antics, gardens, and quaint towns close by. The staff are personable and anxious to make your stay memorable. Try it you will love it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Union Pier
4.4 mi away
Marina Grand Resort
Marina Grand Resort
#2 of 8 in New Buffalo
4.5 of 5 stars 212 reviews
22.3 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
4.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
4.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo
19.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Union Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Union Pier

Address: 9708 Berrien Street, Union Pier, MI 49129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Union Pier
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Union Pier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1920's era Bed and Breakfast Inn with 16 guest rooms, private baths, real wood burning fireplaces and 250 foot steps to a beautiful Lake Michigan beach. Stay includes full breakfast, snacks & beverages during the day and wine & popcorn in the evening. Located in a quite residential setting within minutes of restaurants, shopping, antique shops, art galleries and wine tasting. Enjoy our hospitality in the casually elegant surroundings of a true country Inn. Open year round. Also available for family gatherings or corporate retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Inn at Union Pier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Union Pier Hotel Union Pier
Inn At Union Pier Michigan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Union Pier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.