We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend get-away retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Union Pier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Inn at Union Pier to your Saves list
Inn at Union Pier
9708 Berrien Street, Union Pier, MI 49129   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romantic Winter Escape
Ranked #2 of 4 Union Pier B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Perfect weekend get-away retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a great time at this charming B&B. The hosts, Bill & Joyce, are super and the Inn offers everything you'd want at a Lake retreat - bicycles, hot tub, great breakfast, good parking, and easy access to the beach (5 minute walk). Would highly recommend for city folk who want a lake get-away retreat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    17
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
88
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

See above outstanding
Highly recommend.
Wonderful place and breakfast great restaurants close by, many places to sit and converse both inside and outside. Easy walk to Lake Michigan, bikes to ride on lakeside drive. Shopping, antics, gardens, and quaint towns close by. The staff are personable and anxious to make your stay memorable. Try it you will love it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We have been to this lovely place two times. The first was on a "Living Social" coupon; the second - well, we just wanted to go back! The rooms are quaint, clean and comfortable. Keep in mind that the main building is almost 100 years old so you can't expect to have individual air conditioning in each room, but there are lots of quilts & blankets! They have very charming Swedish furnaces in each room but we have only been there in the warm weather so haven't used them. Food ~ fabulous! Besides the delicious breakfasts, each afternoon at 3:00 pm, Michigan wine is served (red & white) along with popcorn. Coffee, tea and chocolate chip cookies are available all the time. We went with 2 other couples and it was easy and comfortable for us to sit and talk or play board games in the large, comfy "living room". There are very fun, small towns nearby not to mention Lake Michigan and some sand dunes! Some restaurants are within walking distance and the food is superb. The employees - do I really have to call them employees? They feel more like family! This area of Michigan is an undiscovered gem for Michigan residents. It is much closer to Illinois and Indiana. We will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: No problem with noise here - except maybe birds chirping! If you go in the warm weather, the air con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed at The Inn at Union Pier for a weekend in May. We are in our mid thirties and had never stayed at a bed and breakfast before. We wish we wouldn't have waited so long.
From the moment my wife called in to make a reservation, Bill, the owner, made her feel completely welcome. I can't say enough about how helpful the entire staff was, but especially Bill. He is very down to earth and kind. My wife and I enjoyed chatting with him several times over the weekend.
When we checked in we were given a tour of the inn and then we joined other guests in the living room for complimentary wine and popcorn. We enjoyed meeting other couples, everyone who was staying there was so friendly. They even gave us some great restaurant recommendations.
The Inn is not right on the water, but a very short walk to a beautiful beach. We also enjoyed the outdoor hot tub in the evenings and riding the bikes during the day. There is also a nice outdoor sitting area with a hammock that is very peaceful.
They serve a wonderful breakfast every morning, everything we had to eat was fresh and delicious. They also have cookies out in the afternoon and a nice selection of tea available all the time.
Our room was comfortable, the fireplace was a nice touch although they were already closed for the season so we were not able to use it.
The location is very close to some great places to eat. We choose Timothy's (very good but a little pricey for us) and Redamacks (a casual burger place **they only take cash**) and both were less than 5 minutes away. We went on a tour of the distillery Journeyman (only 15 minutes away)
and the wine trail (20 minutes away) and enjoyed both very much.
We would recommend this Inn to anyone looking for a relaxing and welcoming place to stay and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

A very comfortable place to spend time in Michigan's wine country. Down the road is a great place to eat called Timothy's. You can't ask for a more comfortable place to stay and the people who run it are just the nicest you will meet. We have stayed there twice and enjoyed it both times.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I never write reviews, but I can't say enough nice things about this cozy inn! The staff was very friendly and welcoming, the rooms were spacious and the fireplaces were a great touch! The breakfast was definately brunch worthy and very tasty! I will definately go there again!

Room Tip: We were traveling with friends and many of the rooms can be set up as either a king bedroom or as tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Went for a two-night stay at the Inn. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The accommodations were very clean and well-kept. The Inn feels like a step back in time. Great neighborhood and location across from the beach. Can't wait to come back!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Union Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Union Pier

Address: 9708 Berrien Street, Union Pier, MI 49129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Union Pier
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Union Pier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1920's era Bed and Breakfast Inn with 16 guest rooms, private baths, real wood burning fireplaces and 250 foot steps to a beautiful Lake Michigan beach. Stay includes full breakfast, snacks & beverages during the day and wine & popcorn in the evening. Located in a quite residential setting within minutes of restaurants, shopping, antique shops, art galleries and wine tasting. Enjoy our hospitality in the casually elegant surroundings of a true country Inn. Open year round. Also available for family gatherings or corporate retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Inn at Union Pier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Union Pier Hotel Union Pier
Inn At Union Pier Michigan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Union Pier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.