We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Union Pier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Inn at Union Pier to your Saves list
Inn at Union Pier
9708 Berrien Street, Union Pier, MI 49129   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
PROCRASTINATOR'S SPECIAL!
Ranked #2 of 4 Union Pier B&B and Inns
Indiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed at The Inn at Union Pier for a weekend in May. We are in our mid thirties and had never stayed at a bed and breakfast before. We wish we wouldn't have waited so long.
From the moment my wife called in to make a reservation, Bill, the owner, made her feel completely welcome. I can't say enough about how helpful the entire staff was, but especially Bill. He is very down to earth and kind. My wife and I enjoyed chatting with him several times over the weekend.
When we checked in we were given a tour of the inn and then we joined other guests in the living room for complimentary wine and popcorn. We enjoyed meeting other couples, everyone who was staying there was so friendly. They even gave us some great restaurant recommendations.
The Inn is not right on the water, but a very short walk to a beautiful beach. We also enjoyed the outdoor hot tub in the evenings and riding the bikes during the day. There is also a nice outdoor sitting area with a hammock that is very peaceful.
They serve a wonderful breakfast every morning, everything we had to eat was fresh and delicious. They also have cookies out in the afternoon and a nice selection of tea available all the time.
Our room was comfortable, the fireplace was a nice touch although they were already closed for the season so we were not able to use it.
The location is very close to some great places to eat. We choose Timothy's (very good but a little pricey for us) and Redamacks (a casual burger place **they only take cash**) and both were less than 5 minutes away. We went on a tour of the distillery Journeyman (only 15 minutes away)
and the wine trail (20 minutes away) and enjoyed both very much.
We would recommend this Inn to anyone looking for a relaxing and welcoming place to stay and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    17
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
88
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

A very comfortable place to spend time in Michigan's wine country. Down the road is a great place to eat called Timothy's. You can't ask for a more comfortable place to stay and the people who run it are just the nicest you will meet. We have stayed there twice and enjoyed it both times.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I never write reviews, but I can't say enough nice things about this cozy inn! The staff was very friendly and welcoming, the rooms were spacious and the fireplaces were a great touch! The breakfast was definately brunch worthy and very tasty! I will definately go there again!

Room Tip: We were traveling with friends and many of the rooms can be set up as either a king bedroom or as tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Went for a two-night stay at the Inn. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The accommodations were very clean and well-kept. The Inn feels like a step back in time. Great neighborhood and location across from the beach. Can't wait to come back!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

never in over 15 years have i been not pleased with the Inn or Bill. I truly think the comments by nicole w. were false and a set up by an Inn who I know is intimidated by The Inn at Union Pier. My rooms over the years have been perfect. Everything in working order. Service excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We went on a Living Social deal and were very delighted. Nicely kept inn, spacious rooms and very accomodating staff. Would highly recommend if staying in or passing through the area. Staff very knowledgable about local attractions and the local winery tours. Try a day trip to Three Oaks or New Buffalo, both towns are unique in there own ways.

Room Tip: Definitely stay in a room in the Pier House. Highly recommend "Room With A View" or "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My husband and I spent the first 2 days of our marriage at this lovely b&b. The staff is extremely warm and friendly. After a brief tour, explaining to us where to find everything to make ourselves at home (much appreciated), ours kept to themselves when they sensed we were in honeymoon mode. We arrived around dinnertime and easily found a great grille nearby thanks to the menus they have on hand - and by nearby I mean 7 blocks). Came back and hung out in the main living room listening to Christmas tunes and playing chess. Then after a couple cocktails (we brought our own), headed out back to the courtyard where there is a hot tub - easy to operate, great temperature - perfect. Day 2, we were served a fantastic breakfast - every day they have a main course (waffles, omelette), a muffin, and a fruit - all restaurant quality. Then we headed out to explore - even though it was Monday in December, our host was still able to recommend us some great antique shops, and Sawyer Garden Center that is so much more than a garden center - we picked up some rare cheeses, marinades, and chutneys. A short drive found us amidst a handful of wineries in a countryside setting that rivals that of Virginia. Enjoyed a lovely italian dinner at Brewster's (also recommended by the staff). We couldn't have asked for a better mini-moon (Hawaii is about 3 months out). We are already planning our return trip for the fall. Did I mention it's a mere 75 miles from Chicago? Doesn't get much better than that!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Union Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Union Pier

Address: 9708 Berrien Street, Union Pier, MI 49129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Union Pier
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Union Pier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1920's era Bed and Breakfast Inn with 16 guest rooms, private baths, real wood burning fireplaces and 250 foot steps to a beautiful Lake Michigan beach. Stay includes full breakfast, snacks & beverages during the day and wine & popcorn in the evening. Located in a quite residential setting within minutes of restaurants, shopping, antique shops, art galleries and wine tasting. Enjoy our hospitality in the casually elegant surroundings of a true country Inn. Open year round. Also available for family gatherings or corporate retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Inn at Union Pier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Union Pier Hotel Union Pier
Inn At Union Pier Michigan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Union Pier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.