We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome room, great, comfy stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Union Pier

Save Saved
You added Inn at Union Pier to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn at Union Pier
9708 Berrien Street, Union Pier, MI 49129   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
PROCRASTINATOR'S SPECIAL!
Ranked #2 of 5 Union Pier B&B and Inns
Arlington Heights, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome room, great, comfy stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed here as part of a wedding party, and we had a great, comfy stay. We stayed in the Whispering pine room -- it's in an additional part of the property and it was super cold over the weekend that was 100 degrees. We needed the cold AC, and we had a great stay. The room was large, clean and exactly as expected at a b&b. I was a little underwhelmed by the breakfast, but it was fine. They didn't give choices, there is fruit and muffins, with a main course. I guess i hadn't been to a b&b lately and didn't remember what to expect, but I wanted a few choices. We felt very welcome, there was lots of room, and I didn't feel cramped at all, which I typically think I may come across at a b&b.

Room Tip: Ask for the newer part of the property -- I think it's called an annex or something. Not in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    13
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
68
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We also bought this deal on Living Social but would definitely go back. The people were like long lost friends, they made you feel comfortable but kept their distance. I liked that we did not have to have a communal table for breakfast, you could sit at your own table. It was just so relaxing and you felt taken care of. I will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We were here on a Living Social escape and it truly was...if you want quiet, this is the place! We like B&B's because of the special attention given by the owners, and they did not disappoint. All the staff we met were kind, caring, helpful, and happy. The accommodations were very clean and had just been renovated. The amenities are: blow dryers in rooms, 24-hour availability of beverages and home-baked cookies, wine and popcorn in the afternoon (we enjoyed meeting others that were staying there and finding out where people were from-and the great room is large enough that if you want to be alone, you can just sit somewhere else), a baby grand piano, jacuzzi, bikes, access to a beautiful clean sandy beach with romantic sunsets. The small towns in the area have the usual gift shops, clothing, art, furniture with lots of locally-made items. You are in Lake Michigan wine country, so if you like wine tasting and eating out, there are plenty of excellent places to visit. All rooms have a private bath. They also were able to accommodate a special diet. Breakfasts were healthy and home-made with a meat, egg or starch, OJ, fresh fruit, muffins. It was a little cold in our room since the air was on. They gave us covers for the vents which made the room very comfortable. I would be happy to make a return visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Beachcomber which said you could hear Lake Michigan from it. I couldn't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

The Staff and property are designed for a homey and comfy experience. They deliver on all that. Breakfast was a full and creative meal, plated with elegance. The package we booked included a screening at nearby movie theatre (in Three Oaks), and wine tasting (Round Barn). The winery was not a place to return to, mediocre wines, and a dinner at Timothy's at the Gordon Beach Inn. A great meal with terrific staff too. The rooms are all as described in their materials, and the location is perfect for a Harbor Country getaway. A few things need attention in terms of maintenance, but would recommend this place completely.

Room Tip: Room with a View, and Lakeside room share a huge wraparound balcony in the "Lake House"
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farmington Hills MI
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We found out about this B and B through a Living Social promotion. I am very glad that we did, since it turned out to be a pleasurable experience. We were greeted in a friendly manner, given a tour, and escorted to our room which turned out to be cozy, clean, and containing charm. We enjoyed learning about the history of this property that was contained in books in the large first floor room. Refreshments our first day with popcorn and wine in the main room allowed us to chat with other guests. That night, we came back after dinner to use the outdoor hot tub.
The generous and tasty breakfast included a fruit parfait, french toast, muffins, beverages. Other choices were offered for the breakfast on the following day.
The location is great for those who love the beach, since it was just across the street.
Although not warm enough to take a swim in Lake Michigan when we visited, it was nice simply to see it.
Nearby beach towns are inviting so we were close enough to walk around New Buffalo and St. Joseph as well. If we were in the area during the summer, we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. However, unless we plan well in advance, it will be booked up.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, IL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

My hubby and I stayed at the Inn at Union Pier this past weekend on the Living Social coupon as an anniversary gift. We have been there before on a holiday weekend and loved it each time. This time, however, there were no crowds in New Buffalo so it made the experience even better. Bill and Joyce run the Inn with such grace and warmth you cannot help but love it. The weather was cool enough to use our Swedish fireplace at night and our room was cozy, quiet and we had a spectacularly restful weekend. Met nice people, drank wine. What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed here last month. We had purchased the Living Social deal and stayed Sunday-Tuesday. We were a little hesitant because we've never been to a B&B before. We're a couple in our early 30s and were concerned that we wouldn't fit in with the other guests but we had a great time. It was very laid back and we were able have a good time on our own. I look forward to returning in the future. I think it would be gorgeous in the fall.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at Union Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Union Pier

Address: 9708 Berrien Street, Union Pier, MI 49129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Union Pier
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Union Pier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1920's era Bed and Breakfast Inn with 16 guest rooms, private baths, real wood burning fireplaces and 250 foot steps to a beautiful Lake Michigan beach. Stay includes full breakfast, snacks & beverages during the day and wine & popcorn in the evening. Located in a quite residential setting within minutes of restaurants, shopping, antique shops, art galleries and wine tasting. Enjoy our hospitality in the casually elegant surroundings of a true country Inn. Open year round. Also available for family gatherings or corporate retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Inn at Union Pier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Union Pier Hotel Union Pier
Inn At Union Pier Michigan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Union Pier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.