We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden Grove B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Grove Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Garden Grove Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Garden Grove Bed & Breakfast
9549 Union Pier Road, Union Pier, MI 49129   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$30 off room rate
Ranked #3 of 4 Union Pier B&B and Inns
Roselle, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Garden Grove B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Looking to surprise my wife for a weekend getaway for her birthday. I chose the New Buffalo, MI area and Garden Grove B&B. I wanted a balcony room so we can hang out outside after a long evening and when we wake up before breakfast. I chose the Sunflower room With a huge maple tree in front of the balcony, it was a very scenic and peaceful view. The room was very clean. The bed was very comfortable. Bathroom had an excellent shower. Jacuzzi could fit 2 people easily and was great.
The place had a homey atmosphere with a couple of porches and the landscaping was awesome. Breakfast was homemade and fantastic. Paula and Jerry are fantastic people who make you feel welcome. It's a great location for beaches in the area, the casino, wineries, New Buffalo and it's very close to Chicago.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    12
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
30
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
oshawa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Just wrapping up another 3 night stay at Garden Grove with my wife and 2 kids, and as always, a perfect spot to locate for a Harbor Country vacation. The rooms are well appointed, super clean and the food is exceptional for the B&B sector. Jerry and Paula are wonderful hosts. Also, the proximity to the beach, Warren Dunes and many great dining options makes Garden Grove the only place you'll want to stay in the future for your Lake Michigan holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were so very lucky that Paula & Jerry assisted Christina in planning, hosting a wonderful time for our friends Deb & Harry! We did Lake Michigan waves, wine tasting & a brewery, the Roadhouse & a little shopping! The food was spectacular but company truly made our visit to Union Pier an outstanding, memorable trip! THANKS!! Nan & Tom

Room Tip: Carriage House although newer was created with a real flair for design & repect to the original...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborCountry, Owner at Garden Grove Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Paula and I want to thank you for your business and for the kind remarks. We're happy you enjoyed Garden Grove and some of the Harbor Country happenings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Sunflower Room in the main house over the long weekend. The room was beautiful. It included a comfortable queen bed, double jacuzzi bath tub and a balcony with chairs and table overlooking trees. The shower was small, but the separate tub made up for it. The property itself was lovely. The common areas were clean and inviting. We sat on 1 of the 2 outdoor swings and enjoyed the beautiful landscaping. The house also has a covered porch and deck. Breakfast was delicious and homemade. On the first morning we had fresh fruit, berry coffee cake, fresh Michigan asparagus, and vegetarian quiche. The second morning we had fresh fruit, blueberry pancakes, eggs, and sausage. The coffee was excellent.
Paula and Jerry were very welcoming. Jerry gave us a full tutorial of the bed & breakfast and surrounding area upon our arrival. Paula served us breakfast and gave us suggestions on what to do each day. There is plenty to do in the area. We covered the following over our 2.5 days in harbor county: Warren Dunes State Park, Warren Woods State Park, Greenbush Brewing Company, Journeyman Distillery Tour, Tabor Hill Winery. We didn't even cover all the shops and markets. We would definitely retun to Union Pier and stay at the Garden Grove B&B.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My fiancee and I just got back from a Memorial Day Weekend away and in Michigan and I would like to say that GGB&B was awesome! When we arrived, Jerry welcomed us very warmly and easily helped us feel at home. He showed us to our room and when we got there, it was beautiful and clean. There was lots of room, a HUGE bathroom with a walk-in shower, and a very nice jacuzzi. Every morning, breakfast was left outside our door and it was very tasty. No continental breakfast here; full course breakfasts with a bowl of fresh fruit.

If you want to experience a really nice B&B, try Jerry and Paula's place in Union Pier! You'll enjoy it very much!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lavender Room! Great room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Every year we go see a college football game and stay at our favourite B&B Garden Grove in Union Pier. By far the best B&B experience I've had. Excellent food and accommodations, very friendly and welcoming. You feel right at home with the peaceful surroundings, yet very close to major attractions like the casino, New Buffalo, Notre Dame University, restaurants, etc. Be sure to check out their Carriage House rooms!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Top notch! Loved the Woodland Suite! Breakfast was lovely. The in-room massage by Angie...luv her! Perfect weather to be snowed in with your loved one in front of the fireplace. We like to travel to different b&b for our anniversary.....this place is right up there for #1 in our book.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Grove Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Grove Bed & Breakfast

Address: 9549 Union Pier Road, Union Pier, MI 49129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Union Pier
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Union Pier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're hoping to celebrate a Summer honeymoon or simply a Winter getaway, Garden Grove Bed & Breakfast is the right place for any season! Located in Southwestern Michigan's picturesque Harbor Country, Garden Grove is just a short drive from Chicagoland and a quick walk to Lake Michigan's sugar-sand shoreline! Escape from the city's hustle and bustle to enjoy the area's many nature trails, wineries, golf courses, and restaurants. Garden Grove Bed & Breakfast is nestled into a secluded acre of mature pines, maples, and lush gardens for the ultimate in peace and comfort. Take in the sunshine on our enclosed porch or enjoy a delicious in-room breakfast each morning! A romantic and relaxing retreat from your busy day-to-day, our amenities are truly second to none. With beautifully decorated, spacious rooms and deluxe features such as double Jacuzzi tubs, wet bar sinks, air conditioning, and high-speed internet, our country cottage features a variety of modern conveniences. The luxurious 3-room Carriage House is truly an unforgettable experience and a popular choice for celebrating special occasions with its cathedral ceilings, in-room fireplaces, and privacy. Join us to relax, recharge, and renew with a memorable getaway full of outdoor adventures or romantic seclusion at Harbor Country's Garden Grove Bed & Breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Garden Grove Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Grove Bed & Breakfast Union Pier, Michigan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Grove Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.