We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Found Love!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goldberry Woods Bed & Breakfast Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Union Pier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Goldberry Woods Bed & Breakfast Cottages
Save
You added Goldberry Woods Bed & Breakfast Cottages to your Saves list
9902 Community Hall Road, Union Pier, MI 49129   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekday Discount
Ranked #1 of 4 Union Pier B&B and Inns
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“New Found Love!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My husband and I chose this place for a weekend anniversary getaway and after booking it we realized that we had stayed here several years prior before the current owners bought it and rennovated it. We barely recognized it on-line! Julie and Eric have done a beautiful job redecorating and making it feel so comfortable! Each room has a lovely touch and the breakfast were such a delight! We definitely plan to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieHab, Owner at Goldberry Woods Bed & Breakfast Cottages, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We are humbled by your kind words and look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
57
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I have been looking for a vacation spot in the New Buffalo-Union Pier area to call "home" for over ten years, and I have finally found it! Goldberry Woods was everything I expected--AND BETTER. Great owners, amazing food, fabulous accommodations, perfectly clean, lovely location, and affordable. I spent three nights there with a friend last September and can't wait to go back. I've passed out all the business cards I had to friends where I live.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieHab, Owner at Goldberry Woods Bed & Breakfast Cottages, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! Your visit was pure joy! We still have pears in the fridge from the great picking extravaganza, and my needles are ready for instruction!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We were only hear one night but we were treated royally by the hosts. We're big fans and loved the imaginative beds, designed and built by nearby Hearthwoods. We enjoyed our stay and the food.

BJ and Candy

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieHab, Owner at Goldberry Woods Bed & Breakfast Cottages, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
King BJ J: We are humbled by your kind words! Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My two girlfriends from high school days and I met up for a fantastic weekend at Goldberry Woods! The B&B was nestled in the woods on 40 acres of property. You can hike, bike, kayak or for those less athletic types the Blue Chip Spa and Lighthouse Outlet mall are both close by. Also close are multiple wineries. We ate dinner at Tabor Hill Winery and it was wonderful. We sampled Norman Love chocolates for dessert and they more than met our expectations and we are chocolate affectionados! Our room had a jacuzzi and fireplace and was nicely decorated. Everything is tastefully done and super clean! Eric and Julie were excellent hosts. We were provided with information on the area, local wine and cheeses in the evening, delicious breakfast in the morning. Would definitely return. A perfect weekend away with wonderful friends!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieHab, Owner at Goldberry Woods Bed & Breakfast Cottages, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
In return, you ladies were EXCELLENT (and very fun) guests! Thank you for taking the time to write such kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

A mother/ daughter (girls: 15 & 11) get-a-way weekend has brought us to this fantastic B/B for 3 nights! Our experience here was truly an exceptional one. April made our time there wonderful & very special. She truly took care of both my girls & I our first 2 nights. April ALWAYS went out of her way to make us feel welcomed, we loved April! This B/B was so beautiful & had a peaceful location. We rented the back cottage. It was VERY clean & had everthing there we needed. Julie's awesome homemade breakfast(s), daily water/ tea and treats & evening snacks (5-7pm) were unbelievable.... wow she is gifted! We did go to the main house often & sat in the sun room to play games, we always had it to ourselves which was nice. They have lots of games, DVD's and books to use during your stay. They also had information on local things to do & resturant menus to look through as well, which was very helpful to us. We ate at the Grand Mere our 1st night (which April reconmended & made our RSVP for us), which was WONDERFUL! We took walks through the woods, which they had a scavenger hunt throughout with treats for us when we finished. There was a railroad behind the B/B that we could hear as the train can through, but it did not bother us at all in fact we loved hearing it. We did not hear the highway at all. We did see all the rooms in the B/B, and each room was beautifully decorated, private bath, fireplace & very spacious. The decor thoughout the B/B and all their extra amenities they offer were fantastic. Eric & Julie have an eye for detail and captured what true hospitality really is!!! They make you feel welcomed and comfortable the minute we got out of our car. This is such a wonderful place to visit! Myra C.

Room Tip: We loved the back cottage we stayed in. There are 2 bedrooms right off the kitchen, I don't know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieHab, Owner at Goldberry Woods Bed & Breakfast Cottages, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Do it again! Do it again! You are the girls were an absolute delight, and we were so impressed by all of the electronic-free hours your girls spent playing board games!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We spent two nights at Goldberry Woods last week and loved the place. The room had a jacuzzi and fireplace, was spacious with great lighting, and very quiet. Julie and Eric were gone the first day, but April (and her husband Julius) were there and ubercapable!! The breakfasts both days were just delicious. We wanted to do a self-guided wine tour and Julius was all over that. He mapped out a great local route that took us to 4 wineries. He'd never done that before, but I think he's found a new calling. LOL We would recommend this to anyone looking for a laid-back, beautiful place. Make sure to take the river walk, and go a half-mile or so on their bikes to Lake Michigan. Nice late afternoon libations as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieHab, Owner at Goldberry Woods Bed & Breakfast Cottages, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We are so happy that you loved Julius and April as much as we do! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a generous review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This place was recommended by friends. What a great experience we had. A great room with a Jacuzzi and a fireplace. Beautiful common areas and grounds. Nice hiking trails along the river. The innkeepers Julie and Eric really do everything to make your stay great and make you feel at home. Probably the best thing about the place is the amazing breakfasts Julie cooks. They were truly outstanding. Located between Union Pier and New Buffalo it's a great location to explore Michigan's Harbor Country!!! About an hour's drive from Chicago's south Suburbs, Its the perfect spot to get away. Great restaurants in the area too! Denny and Joanne N.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieHab, Owner at Goldberry Woods Bed & Breakfast Cottages, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give Goldberry Woods such a great review! We are so grateful for a whole year of wonderful guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Goldberry Woods Bed & Breakfast Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldberry Woods Bed & Breakfast Cottages

Address: 9902 Community Hall Road, Union Pier, MI 49129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Union Pier
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Union Pier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 28 acres of beautiful wooded land, we are a family-run Bed & Breakfast and Organic MicroFarm in the middle of Harbor Country, Michigan. Less than a mile from the beaches of Lake Michigan, tucked peacefully in a secluded space along the banks of the Galien River, our exceptional amenities and focus on homegrown, homemade, farm-to-table food will make your visit with us a one-of-a-kind experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Goldberry Woods Bed & Breakfast Cottages Union Pier, Michigan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goldberry Woods Bed & Breakfast Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.