We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's time to move on...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Gordon Beach Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Union Pier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gordon Beach Inn
Save
You added Gordon Beach Inn to your Saves list
16220 Lakeshore Rd, Union Pier, MI 49129   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Union Pier B&B and Inns
Chicago
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“It's time to move on...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Like its sister Inn, The Lakeside Inn, just down the road less than a couple of miles in Lakeside, MI, this place has sadly lost its charm. I can refer you to 50john1234 who best sums it up. The rate for the rooms/suites??(hardly) is out of touch with reality, but they get the rates from uninformed guests who have been mesmerized with the "historic" element and undeserved hype. Not to be misunderstood, the Lakeside Inn is barely..barely better. Inadequate A/C, smallish bathrooms, uncomfortable beds, chipped paint, NO tv now in at least a few suites( ..and those that still exist have 12-15 inch screens at best), plus, plus. Unique, quaint, and charming about 15 years ago, now these inns could be best described as run down and are lingering using their historic landmark protection as an excuse to do nothing to improve the properties. The owner(s) need to drop several thousands of dollars into both places and regroup. Until extensive upgrades are made, we'll stay away. Timothy's Restaurant in the GBI is the only reason to visit either inn. Still, very good...not excellent, but very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    11
    9
    8
    16
See reviews for
7
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Very over priced ,it's a dump we had the best room with a private deck filthy dirty ,paint chipped , over looking garbage .room was run down ,dirty,smelled terrible,6 in TV from 1980, terrible mattress,shower barely worked and they called this a suite , when we checked out didnt even ask if we enjoyed our stay don't waste your money with place wish I read reviews earlier .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

What a find this area is and especially this inn. It offers a very quaint setting, comfortable rooms and great dining - the close proximity to the Lake Michigan beach is a plus! You won't be disappointed with time spent here!!!

Room Tip: Choose one with a deck out back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

The Gordon Inn is ideal for those seeking a convenient location and proximity to a very good restaurant. The staff are friendly. My room was sub-par, however, with a tiny bathroom and a thick coating of dust under the bed. The bed itself was comfortable but was oddly sloped and saggy. Strangest of all, the management opted to rent the lobby (adjacent to the guestrooms) to a birthday party, complete with a blues band playing so loudly I could hear every note they were playing right through the walls of my room. At some hotels and inns, $150 barely buys you a bed and a flat screen TV. At The Gordon Beach Inn it buys you live jazz while you're IN bed!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Ridge
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

It is really in need of upkeep. Bathroom could use some touching up and we could hear everyone staying there. The walls are paper thin and the bed was very uncomfortable. I will look around for a better place next time. It is not a cheap place money wise just living wise.

Room Tip: No good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lena, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This was our first visit to the sandy beaches in Union Pier. We adore the laid back atmosphere and nearby attractions in New Buffalo. The Gordon Beach Inn was truly relaxing. If you love the sound of wooden floors under your feet and yesterday's charm, you'll love it here, too. Our room was clean, but we found the overall Inn needed maintenance and the grounds begged for attention. There was little attention paid to the exterior of the building. The grand front porch needed dusting and cleaning and the grounds were not manicured. The walk to the beach was pleasant and there were many cottages and homes to see along the way. Gordon Beach is amazing! The sand is brilliant white and it's clean. We love the area but on the next visit we will look for different lodging.

Room Tip: We booked a room that had a deck overlooking the very small back yard. Timothy's Restaurant also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

I decided to surprise my wife for our anniversary. Thought it would be fabulous. Boy was I wrong. We showed up around 8 after driving for 3 hours. Unloaded our car and went to the room. What a joke. Small, outdated and tacky. Not like any of the three pictures that they show. Then we decide to go downstairs for dinner. We walk up to the reception desk at the restaurant and tell them we would like a table for two. The girl rudely tells us that "to eat HERE you meds a reservation". We just spent nearly $300 in there Inn and we can't even eat there. After carrying our luggage past tables in their lobby. Will never go back and recommend this place only to enemies.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gordon Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gordon Beach Inn

Address: 16220 Lakeshore Rd, Union Pier, MI 49129
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Union Pier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Union Pier
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Gordon Beach Hotel Union Pier
Gordon Beach Inn Union Pier, Michigan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gordon Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.