We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint find in Harbor Country” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fire Fly Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Union Pier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fire Fly Resort
Save
You added Fire Fly Resort to your Saves list
15657 Lakeshore Road, Union Pier, MI   |  
Hotel amenities
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Quaint find in Harbor Country”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

This property is a number of joined cottages that are great for a family, or multi-family, stay. We had a 13 and 15 year old in a one bedroom cottage and it was fine (although the sleeper sofa was not very comfortable). Besides the cottage being cute and practical, the private beach access is awesome. Warren Dunes is great, but if you just want to relax on the beach, a private beach is the way to go. The "resort" has a nice yard with picnic tables and grills. A 5 minute walk also takes you to the Red Arrow Highway Roadhouse which is a surprisingly good (and crowded) restaurant. Pets are allowed in most of the cottages, but we asked for one that did not accept them. Finally, I did get the feeling that management company was a bit absent, but fortunately we did not need anything during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
15
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkville, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

Love the resort! Very cute and well kept. Steps from the beach, either private or public. Very close to great restaurants and shops. Close to the Warren Dunes.
Only negative that I can possibly think of is that it might be a little hard to get a hold of anyone that works there when you need them.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

Rented 2 cabins (#11 & 12) 2 adults & 3 teens in one, 3 adults & 2 todlers in the other. Cabins are a bit small, but nicely decorated & equipped for family fun.  They are individually owned, so it's fun to check out all the differences in style.  Nice back yard with play house, swings, firepit, 3 grills, & plenty of picnic tables ended up being where we spent most of our time.  There was a public & private beach entrance, we used both, not really a preference they were both nice. Our family had a great time, nothing bad to say about this stay except towels seemed to be very difficult to get, other than that no complaints.  Going into New Buffalo for sunset, shopping, & food was a blast as well.  We've stayed in this area for the past three years & will return next year.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

The Union Pier location is great. The private beach is the highlight of Fire Fly. The hotel is located across the street from the beach, but guests get access to the private Lake Michigan beach area. We stayed in a one bedroom one bath room which included a decent kitchen and living room. It has nice enough furniture and cable tv with a DVD player. The condo was very comfortable for 2 people. Charcoal grills are provided. The hotel also has a large back yard with a nice fire pit. We had the opportunity to meet the other guests sitting around the firepit. The walls are a little thin and we could hear our neighbors walking around and talking in the mornings. This was not terrible, but enough that we noticed. Overall it is a great place to stay if you love the beach.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, IL
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

In July 2009 we had an extened family vacation at the Fire Fly Resort. It was perfect for the whole family including 5 children under the age of five. There was a play area in the back with swings around the fire pit. Along with plenty of area for the kids to run.

The cabins are all owned by different people but managed though the Fire Fly office. So each cabin is different. The one bedrooms are small but if you have two or three people it is fine. They have everything you need in the kitchens so cooking is easy. The two bedrooms had more room and were very comfortable. I woud say that you cannot sleep as many in each cabin as the website claims. We had two one bedroom cabins the first on would sleep 2-3 people and the two bedrooms would sleep 4-5 people.

The beach was great! there were two options when it came to the beach. There was a public beach just a few steps across the street and there is a private beach equally as close but not as easy to navigate with small children.

There were plenty of places to eat and a gorcery store not a far car ride away. As well as an ice cream place within walking distance.

Overall a great place for families and friends to get away for a low key relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2008

Just completed a nice little stay over the Thanksgiving weekend at one of these charming cottages. Our family of four (two kids aged 6) stayed in #7, which has a nice layout (complete kitchen, fireplace, TV). This is a privately run little operation, not a hotel. No phone. Only issue is that Resort management was hard to get hold of when trying to book our stay.

Please note that this was an off-season rental, and your mileage for an in-season rental may and likely will vary....

  • Liked — Fireplace and location
  • Disliked — Difficulty in contacting management to make booking
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2008

I reserved four cottages for one week for my family reunion for 18 people. Two cottages were in fair shape, but the other two were dirty, tv broken, and not well-equipped. Linen and towels are difficult to come by---bring your own. I called the manager for more towels and a change of sheets because my son got sick that morning. No one was in the office and I called the 2 phone numbers and left messages. No response. That evening I called again and finally spoke to someone, who promised to be there in 20 minutes. I waited one hour--no one. No one is in the office and the cleaning staff, when around, are very unprofessional and lazy. I also informed her that my cottage was very dirty when we arrived and that the tv in the cottage my father was staying in, did not work. She promised a refund on the tv and the cleaning fee. I have not seen a check, as promised. The management of this cute resort is terrible. Two other families checking in a few days later, arrived with cottage not cleaned and with dirty linens still in place. The owners of the cottages should invest in a new management company. Never will I stay there again!! Look elsewhere.---chicago, il

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fire Fly Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fire Fly Resort

Address: 15657 Lakeshore Road, Union Pier, MI
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Union Pier
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Union Pier
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Fire Fly Hotel Union Pier
Fire Fly Resort Union Pier, Michigan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fire Fly Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.