We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute and quaint” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fire Fly Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Union Pier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fire Fly Resort
Save Saved
You added Fire Fly Resort to your Saves list
15657 Lakeshore Road, Union Pier, MI   |  
Hotel amenities
Yorkville, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cute and quaint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

Love the resort! Very cute and well kept. Steps from the beach, either private or public. Very close to great restaurants and shops. Close to the Warren Dunes.
Only negative that I can possibly think of is that it might be a little hard to get a hold of anyone that works there when you need them.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
15
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood, Indiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

Rented 2 cabins (#11 & 12) 2 adults & 3 teens in one, 3 adults & 2 todlers in the other. Cabins are a bit small, but nicely decorated & equipped for family fun.  They are individually owned, so it's fun to check out all the differences in style.  Nice back yard with play house, swings, firepit, 3 grills, & plenty of picnic tables ended up being where we spent most of our time.  There was a public & private beach entrance, we used both, not really a preference they were both nice. Our family had a great time, nothing bad to say about this stay except towels seemed to be very difficult to get, other than that no complaints.  Going into New Buffalo for sunset, shopping, & food was a blast as well.  We've stayed in this area for the past three years & will return next year.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

The Union Pier location is great. The private beach is the highlight of Fire Fly. The hotel is located across the street from the beach, but guests get access to the private Lake Michigan beach area. We stayed in a one bedroom one bath room which included a decent kitchen and living room. It has nice enough furniture and cable tv with a DVD player. The condo was very comfortable for 2 people. Charcoal grills are provided. The hotel also has a large back yard with a nice fire pit. We had the opportunity to meet the other guests sitting around the firepit. The walls are a little thin and we could hear our neighbors walking around and talking in the mornings. This was not terrible, but enough that we noticed. Overall it is a great place to stay if you love the beach.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, IL
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

In July 2009 we had an extened family vacation at the Fire Fly Resort. It was perfect for the whole family including 5 children under the age of five. There was a play area in the back with swings around the fire pit. Along with plenty of area for the kids to run.

The cabins are all owned by different people but managed though the Fire Fly office. So each cabin is different. The one bedrooms are small but if you have two or three people it is fine. They have everything you need in the kitchens so cooking is easy. The two bedrooms had more room and were very comfortable. I woud say that you cannot sleep as many in each cabin as the website claims. We had two one bedroom cabins the first on would sleep 2-3 people and the two bedrooms would sleep 4-5 people.

The beach was great! there were two options when it came to the beach. There was a public beach just a few steps across the street and there is a private beach equally as close but not as easy to navigate with small children.

There were plenty of places to eat and a gorcery store not a far car ride away. As well as an ice cream place within walking distance.

Overall a great place for families and friends to get away for a low key relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2008

Just completed a nice little stay over the Thanksgiving weekend at one of these charming cottages. Our family of four (two kids aged 6) stayed in #7, which has a nice layout (complete kitchen, fireplace, TV). This is a privately run little operation, not a hotel. No phone. Only issue is that Resort management was hard to get hold of when trying to book our stay.

Please note that this was an off-season rental, and your mileage for an in-season rental may and likely will vary....

  • Liked — Fireplace and location
  • Disliked — Difficulty in contacting management to make booking
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2008

I reserved four cottages for one week for my family reunion for 18 people. Two cottages were in fair shape, but the other two were dirty, tv broken, and not well-equipped. Linen and towels are difficult to come by---bring your own. I called the manager for more towels and a change of sheets because my son got sick that morning. No one was in the office and I called the 2 phone numbers and left messages. No response. That evening I called again and finally spoke to someone, who promised to be there in 20 minutes. I waited one hour--no one. No one is in the office and the cleaning staff, when around, are very unprofessional and lazy. I also informed her that my cottage was very dirty when we arrived and that the tv in the cottage my father was staying in, did not work. She promised a refund on the tv and the cleaning fee. I have not seen a check, as promised. The management of this cute resort is terrible. Two other families checking in a few days later, arrived with cottage not cleaned and with dirty linens still in place. The owners of the cottages should invest in a new management company. Never will I stay there again!! Look elsewhere.---chicago, il

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paoli, Indiana
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2008

This was the first time in several years that I booked a stay ANYWHERE without having the advantage of TripAdvisor reviews. I promised myself I would write one upon return for anyone else interested in this property.

The Fire Fly Resort is an updated, renovated 1930s motor
court -type motel. There are 18 charming private cottages set on a large, lovely wooded property directly across from Lake Michigan. There are one and two bedroom layouts to choose from, many with screened-in front and back porches. The front and back lawns are beautifully kept and perfect for children and pets to play on. The back "yard" is more than suitable for families with its large fire pit for evening campfires, swing set, playhouse, picnic tables, and grills for guest use.

Our two bedroom cottage was perfect for our traveling party of three, but would have been a little crowded with more than that (resort guidelines say we could have had five). The kitchen was VERY well equipped. Since we were just there for two nights, we didn't do any real cooking, but for families staying longer, having a kitchen like this would be a real savings. It was nice to have a refrigerator for leftovers from the nearby restaurants we visited.
The open layout of the kitchen/living room was nice and didn't feel crowded at all...the bedrooms and bathroom were very small...but understandably so, given the history of the property.

The beach is across the road and the entrance is a short walk away. The hotel has a small private beach area if you head north from the resort and there is a public beach access the same distance away to the south. This is definitely a spot for walking and bike riding. Lakeshore Road seemed to have much more foot traffic than cars.

This is a great place for families and that seemed to be the make up of the guests when we were there. I couldn't help but think this would be a the perfect spot for a family reunion - plenty of cottages to offer everyone their privacy, but also a number of gathering space for being together. AND the area offers something for everyone - great little cafes and restaurants, boutique shopping, antiques, wineries, and the beach - all within a short distance.

Be aware - they ask for cash or check ONLY. When we checked in and she presented the contract to me, I was very surprised and told her that I didn't read that anywhere on the website. She replied that it was in the contract (which they didn't mail to us, as we made our reservations only a few days before) and she didn't push it any further. They accepted the credit card that I had given to reserve the room...just something to mention, especially if you are staying for an extended time.

  • Liked — Location - proximity to restaurants, shopping, and beach
  • Disliked — Very small bathrooms and "skimpy" towels
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fire Fly Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fire Fly Resort

Address: 15657 Lakeshore Road, Union Pier, MI
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Union Pier
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty lodging in Union Pier
Also Known As:
Fire Fly Hotel Union Pier
Fire Fly Resort Union Pier, Michigan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fire Fly Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.