We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Candlewood is synonym for Budget” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2550 Troy Center Dr., Troy, MI 48084   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Troy
Noida, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Candlewood is synonym for Budget”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

If you are in Troy, Michigan and there for a long stay, Candlewood Suites is the place to be because of its rate, location prefernce and the quality of service/failities. When I entered in the hotel late night around 2.10 AM, the best part I liked about hotel was extended check in. They had placed my keys and other documents in the safe locker right on dorr and shared a number with me to access it. I picked up my keys and entered the room. I was full of asleep and the white clean bead was inviting me. I still remember the comfore of the sleep. The best part is they provide option of pillows as per one's need. The hotel does not have restaurants but have a 24X7 candlewood cupboard for basic things like juice, milk, cookies, chips and chocolates. It has a gyma\nasium, and housekeeping is available for once a week. Toileteries and replenishments happen once a week but if required one can contact the front desk. It has a front office pamphlet stand where one can pick up the different information about detroit and windsor and staff will be happy to help anyone and arrange for the cabs. All in all staff is very friendly and helpful. The best part about hotel is proximity to the Walmart store which is opened till 9.30 PM. Its at walking distance and you can walk for your daily needs.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    14
    14
    7
    5
See reviews for
8
15
10
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Delhi, India
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

Candlewood Suites is a perfect place to live if you are in Troy nad Indian because it has library of bollywood movies and a DVD/CD player free of cost available. it has world class gym and has ample parking area. The hotel is near to Walmart so the shopping is easy.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

I stayed in a queen-sized room for a night, it was wonderful, it has all the accessories you need for cooking. And the bed is comfortable too.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

Stayed here in September '10 for a 3 day stay over the holiday weekend. The room is pretty cleen, along with the bathroom. The cookware was decently clean, but decided to wash prior to use anyways. **ONE BIG PROBLEM** IF YOU NEED FAST INTERNET THIS IS NOT THE PLACE. They only have wired internet, which was fine with me. I connected to the free internet, they make you digitally sign an agreement and it logs you in. I decided to run a ping and DL/UL speed test to see what I was dealing with. an 88ms ping time, and a whopping 404 kbps DL and 214 kbps UL speed. This is worse then dial up speed. Called the front dest, they gave me the support phone number. Called support, they reset my connection, I reset the DSL router located under the desk. The connection didn't get any better. Sigh.... Tech support could not help any further. Other then that free laundry was nice. Wal Mart is 2 blocks away, I-75 is very close. Area is quiet.

Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

what's okay: relatively sorta clean; free laundry machines; decent and friendly help at front desk; affordable. Don't really hear neighbors through the walls. A more-or-less full kitchen w/full-sized fridge. Okay cookware.

what's tedious: housekeeping is lame - they knock on your door at 7:30am. If you work at night, like we do, this is unacceptable. Since they don't clean rooms in the afternoons we've had housekeeping in our room only once in a 3 week stay. Really bad fitness room. Furniture doesn't fit the room well, ie. a bed should have two bedside tables. No need for a dishwasher if you only get 2 of everything; plates, bowls, forks, etc. You end up washing these by hand in the end. There should be an oven instead.

what's more annoying: there is no place to go other than your room, no coffee shop, lounge or restaurant; the laundry/convenience/fitness room is not a place you want to hang in for more than a few minutes. The air conditioner/heating unit (in our room) sounds like a freight train. The 3rd floor is supposedly "non smoking" but our noses were repeatedly slammed by the stench of cigarettes when getting off the elevator.

HIDEOUSLY SLOW INTERNET.

Most of the rooms at Candlewood Suites are not, in fact, suites at all. We were despondent that ours was a smallish room with a kitchen next to a bed. The hotel was mostly empty but they were adamant nonetheless about not upgrading us.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Candlewood for 3 days in March 2010. The staff was friendly, easy checkin and checkout. Our room had a queen size bed, a full size refrigerator, microwave and stove with some dishes. They have a convenience store on site with food items. They also have a couple washers and dryers available for free. The room was clean and looked nice. They offer an excellent military discount. We stayed for just $65 a night.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western US
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

I just finished working on the crew of Whip It and stayed at the Troy Candlewood for a few months. It more than suited my needs while I was away from home. The staff was always extremely accomodating. My room was clean upon arrival and had everything I could need for my extended stay. The reason we had selected this hotel in the first place was because of the great location and proximity to our job site. The Troy Candlewood is very quiet, clean and affordable.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy

Address: 2550 Troy Center Dr., Troy, MI 48084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Troy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. The Candlewood Suite Detroit Troy is only minutes away from downtown Detroit and Auburn Hills/Pontiac and within close proximity to companies such as Arvin Meritor, BAE Systems, Chrysler, Delphi, General Motors, EDS, New World Systems, SBC Ameritech, and Siemens. If traveling on pleasure visit Detroit s local teams, Red Wings at Joe Lewis Arena,Detroit Tigers at Comerica Park, or visit Ford Field to see our Detroit Lions. MGM Grand Motor City Casino are located within a 25 minute radius. The moment you enter the hotel you will enjoy the warm comforts of home. Offering free high speed internet, relax and enjoy the amenities we have to offer. Each room offers, full kitchen, VCR, and a CD player. Visit our Candlewood Cupboard where you can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. So whether you here for the night or a month, take advantage of our comforts. Utilize our complimentary on-site 24 hour fitness and laundry facility. Studio and one-bedroom suites are available. Each suite features living/sleeping area, full kitchen and private bathroom and weekly housekeeping. Standard amenities include a 25' TV, VCR, CD player, hairdryer, iron, ironing board, desk and chair, multiple phone lines, voice mail, a full-size refrigerator with icemaker, stovetop, and a full size dishwasher. Pet Friendly Restrictions apply ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and BookIt.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy Hotel Troy
Candlewood Suites Troy
Candlewood Troy
Troy Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.