We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed in the service!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Troy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Troy to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Troy
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1525 East Maple Road, Troy, MI 48083   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Troy
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Disappointed in the service!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel while visiting my uncle who was very ill. Upset with the situation I left my prescription eye glasses in the bathroom. As soon as I arrived back home, I called the hotel and the response I got was to call back at 9am for housekeeping. The woman on the phone sounded dismayed that I had called about it. The next day I called and I got the run around that it was not in the Lost and Found and that the person who cleaned my room was not in yet. I left my number in hopes that the person who cleaned my room would have set the glasses aside. Well, apparently the glasses that was in the bathroom walked off and disappeared on its own! I left a message with the General Manager and no one called back. So the moral of this story is that if you happen to stay at this Marriott, don't assume that if you leave anything behind that you will get it back. Really disappointed in the way the management handled this situation. Very poor service and dishonest housekeeping staff!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are quieter in the evening.
See more room tips
Green Features: Not very environmentally friendly as I did not see any recycling bins in the room or anywhere in the hotel!
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy F, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Troy, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
I am so sorry that we did not find your glasses. I did receive your message, however the reason I did not contact you directly is that your brother in law spoke to me on the telephone and said that he was handling it. I apologize for the confusion! I want you to know that I personally searched the guest room, every single housekeeping cart, the laundry room and the housekeeping supervisors office where the lost and found items are turned in. I have the laundry ladies watching for the glasses and have made note of your contact information in the event that they turn up. I did follow up with your sister to let her know about my efforts and that I would file a report. I assure you I will be in contact with you immediately if we find them.

Sincerely,
Wendy Fresorger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    31
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
13
9
3
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Very nice hotel. Warm welcome. Gave 400 bonus points and welcome snacks. rooms are very big and clean. staffs are very friendly. close to major malls and shopping center. nice breakfast and starbucks available all the time

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
127 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Visiting clients in Detroit and had an early morning meeting in Troy so booked this hotel based on other reviews.

The hotel is a standard Courtyard. The hotel is nice and clean. Check-in was fine, acknowledged my Gold status. I had booked a King bed with breakfast so I was given a breakfast voucher for the next morning. As others have mentioned, breakfast is not free.

Room itself was clean and spacious. Plenty of plugs and a nice working desk. Wifi worked fine which was a plus. Gym was adequate. Drove to the somerset mall for dinner that evening.

Breakfast was made to order and included coffee. Service was very courteous which was a nice touch.

Overall, enjoyed this Courtyard, bright, clean and good service. Would stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed here 3 nights in March this year. The hotel is very nice, the lobby and restaurant area is organized very well, nice ambience and the reception staff is friendly and helpful. The food was good but there was no complimentary breakfast. The room was large and spacious and wifi was good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
156 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

For starters I am not easy with my stars!
And we were really pleasantly surprised to find it
1. Excellent service
2. Very courteous staff
3. Spacious luxurious room
4. Pleasant small in hallways
5. Nice reception

I didn't try the Bistro or the food but seems to be tempting -:)

Job well done
Coming back if in Troy again
And was a n excellent deal too

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I chose this hotel because it was close to where i was doing business the 2 days i was here. Upon check in the staff was friendly and the overall process was quick. My room was very clean and i had a nice balcony overseeing the garden or greens area. I could hardly hear my neighbors through the wall. Most of the people here seemed on business so there were no kids running around. The pool area looked very nice and they had a great lobby where you could sit and get drinks and use the internet. The internet was fast and i was able to watch netflix no problem. The reason this doesn't get a 5 star review is the breakfast isn't free and isn't cheap. That alone will make me look at a different hotel in the future but I would be willing to stay here again as the overall experience was good.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campos Do Jordao, SP
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

As all franchising hotel, Courtyard in Troy offer to you an average service, a honest room, clean, with low level of amenyties, a funcional forniture without care to give to the business traveler, a small remeber of friendship. Use just for short term.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy F, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Troy, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you choosing the Troy Courtyard for your visit to Detroit. I appreciate you taking the time to review our Marriott managed hotel on Trip Advisor. You are indeed correct that Courtyards are ideal for the business traveler. The upgraded high speed internet access throughout the hotel enables our guests to work from their guest room or public space while enjoying the Bistro or just relaxing by the fireplace during this tough winter that we've had! If you have any specific concerns that you would like to discuss with me I encourage you to contact me at the hotel at 248-528-2800. Again, thank you so much for staying with us!

Wendy Fresorger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Troy hotels
1.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Troy
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit North - Troy
1.9 mi away
Detroit Marriott Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills
2.8 mi away
Homewood Suites Detroit Troy
2.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Troy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Troy

Address: 1525 East Maple Road, Troy, MI 48083
Location: United States > Michigan > Troy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Troy 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Troy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Detroit Troy Hotel Troy
Courtyard Troy
Troy Marriott
Troy Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Troy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.