We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT EXPERIENCE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Detroit - North / Troy - Auburn Hills

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Detroit - North / Troy - Auburn Hills to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Hotel Detroit - North / Troy - Auburn Hills
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   850 Tower Drive, Troy, MI 48098   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fill 'er Up! Gas Package
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Troy
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brook Park, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“GREAT EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

HIGHLY RECOMMEND - STAFF IS AWESOME, HOTEL WAS CLEAN - ONE OF OUR TOP EXPERIENCES WITH EMBASSY - a bit away from everything, elevator doors close quickly, we had an issue come up and the staff was right on it and very helpful

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESTroy, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Detroit - North / Troy - Auburn Hills, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear ReadyToGo44142,

Thank you very much for your Excellent review of your recent stay with us! I appreciated all of your positive feedback throughout the review, and especially your opening statement "STAFF IS AWESOME, HOTEL WAS CLEAN - ONE OF OUR TOP EXPERIENCES WITH EMBASSY"! I will definitely share your compliments with all of our Team Members as they appreciate hearing of how their efforts truly do impact our guests' experiences. I am sorry that you had experienced an "issue" but I am glad to see that our Team made it right for you it appears; thank you for your graciousness in handling that matter, appreciate it.

Thank you again for your Excellent review and for your valued business, and continued loyalty to our Hilton Worldwide Hotels. We hope to service your future lodging needs soon.

Best regards,

Eric Welch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    123
    34
    19
    3
See reviews for
145
57
11
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Took a large group of basketball fans to the Embassy Suites last week for the NCAA Tournament.
The hotel accommodations and service were great. The group loved the free breakfast and the managers party. It gave everyone a chance to get together and visit in the early afternoon, after a day of games and shopping. The staff was wonderful. They have shuttle service within a 5 miles radius and that was wonderful, I didn't have to bus people around. The shuttle will take
you to a great mall and some very nice restaurants within that radius.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESTroy, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Detroit - North / Troy - Auburn Hills, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear JCB9223,

Thank you for the wonderful review of your recent stay with us. That particular week was a very busy time for our property and our Team Members, so I am happy that your group attendees were happy with their experiences and our services through their stay. Thank you also for complementing our convenient shuttle services that was helpful for transporting the group attendees around our local area.

Thank you again for writing your wonderful review and especially for your valued business, we all appreciated servicing the groups' lodging needs through that exciting NCAA Tournament week; and we hope that we will be your top choice for future group events.

Best regards,

Eric Welch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I remember a time (in the late 1980s and early 1990s) that staying at the Embassy Suites was a treat! The rooms were always immaculate, the breakfasts were superb, and the hospitality was exceptional. Not so at this Embassy Suite hotel.

I've stayed at this one on and off over the years when in town for business. I stayed there three nights. It has really gone down hill and needs some updating. The other patrons staying at this hotel certainly did not reflect the clientele that I expected - young children running the hallways, parents yelling at them, then all family members (as well as others) going down for breakfast in what looked like their pajamas. YIKES! And their rudeness when obtaining their breakfast! Why don't people have any manners anymore!

The room I had was fine - just fine. I slept well each night. You can see that the hotel has done some updating to incorporate granite counter tops in the bathroom and mini-kitchen area. The carpets in my room were dirty - I purposefully wear clean white socks around the room and check the bottoms to see how clean the carpets are. The pillows are cheap and the sheets are like sandpaper.

The ambiance of this hotel is very nice. I don't think that I'll stay here again on my next trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESTroy, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Detroit - North / Troy - Auburn Hills, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear bearina,

I appreciate the review of your recent stay at our hotel. I understand that you were disappointed and that we came short of delivering what you are accustomed to expect from us. I truly apologize if this was the case and I can assure you that I will definitely keep your review in mind to improve our in-property experience. We appreciate your business and sincerely apologize that we did not provide you with the level of quality that you are accustomed to receive from us. We do everything we can to ensure our guests enjoy our hotel. With that said, I assure that your feedback is incredibly important to us and I will definitely take your comments into consideration.

Again, I thank you very much for your review and sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity and stay with us next time you’re in town.


Best regards,

Eric Welch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Large 2 room suites with a king-size bed in main and a pull out sofa in the anteroom .Each room/floor overlooks a 5 storey glass covered indoor atrium accessed by 3 windowed elevators. Pleasantly quiet rooms for sleeping considering layout. A nice sized indoor pool . Easy to get to hotel ...right off the 1-75 heading north or south. Special rates are often featured. Close proximity to Somerset Mall and a plethora of dining /entertainment venues. Did I forgot to tell you about the fabulous made- to- order breakfast in the atrium dining lounge and the two drink snack in the afternnon ...all complimentary with the room. We had a great time with family in adjoining suites. A very friendly staff was experienced throughout our stay.We will definitely book this place in the future.

Room Tip: Get to the complimentary breakfast early to avoid the crowds and/or to get a booth with a tv ... ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESTroy, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Detroit - North / Troy - Auburn Hills, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear WINDSORTWO,

Thank you for the Excellent review of your recent stay with us! Your details of all of the hotel accommodations from the suite amenities and furnishings to the complimentary "fabulous" breakfast, are all appreciated very much. I will share your positive feedback with all of our Team Members as they will appreciate reading your compliments of the property and especially your compliment of the service being "a very friendly staff experienced throughout".

Thank you again for writing the Excellent review, and we appreciate your valued business, and we hope to service your future lodging needs again for your future visits to our area.

Best regards,

Eric Welch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Ive stayed at this location many times. The rooms are spacious and clean. The staff is always friendly. The pool area is clean and well maintained. The breakfast is amazing. The managers receiption is very nice, they offer drinks and snacks. The reception area has tables so you can bring your favorite board game and play with the family. No complaints.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESTroy, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Detroit - North / Troy - Auburn Hills, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Tp47832,

Thank you for your Excellent review of your family's recent stay with us! I appreciated all of your wonderful compliments of our property, everything from the spacious and clean suite to the complimentary, "amazing" breakfast and Manager's Reception services. I especially appreciated your statement that you and your family visit our property many times now and that our Team Members are "always friendly", as we believe that our guest service is what truly impacts our guests the most.

Thank you for writing the Excellent review again and for your valued business and continued loyalty to our hotel.

Best regards,

Eric Welch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very good Hotel, it is really possible to rest and relax after a working day. The late afternoon receptio is really nice and kind. Nice people and very efficient. The Suite is very good with a big bed and a sitting room. Need to improve the offer of Healthy Food for Breakfast: Light Cheese, Fruits, fresh orange juice,...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESTroy, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Detroit - North / Troy - Auburn Hills, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Paula P,

Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us. I appreciated reading your compliments of the daily reception that helped you to relax after a long day at work, and how you recognized our Team Members as being nice and efficient. Additionally, I will share your suggestions with our Executive Chef as we do like to try new breakfast items for our guests and value our guests input on these services.

Thank you again for the review and we hope to service your future lodging needs when you are back in our area for business or leisure purposes.

Best regards,

Eric Welch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Township, Michigan
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Wanted to give my kids an opportunity to swim in a pool, decided on a short jaunt to an Embassy Suites near home. Nice room, great cocktail reception (kids enjoyed the snacks!) but the pool is COLD. General pool area is nice, with whirlpool and tables. But turn up the heat!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESTroy, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Detroit - North / Troy - Auburn Hills, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear AST77,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with our hotel. I was happy to read that our suites were satisfactory and the family enjoyed the Manager's Reception beverages and snacks, thank you for mentioning these positive experiences. Regarding the cool swimming pool water and area, I am sorry that your family had this unpleasant experience. As our swimming pool and Jacuzzi are important services that our guests enjoy, our management team will investigate this matter further and implement the necessary actions to correct this matter.

Thanks again for taking time to write the review and we appreciate that our local area residents choose to stay with our hotel for their weekend getaways.

Best regards,

Eric Welch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Detroit - North / Troy - Auburn Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Detroit - North / Troy - Auburn Hills

Address: 850 Tower Drive, Troy, MI 48098
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Troy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Troy
#1 Business Hotel in Troy
#3 Family Hotel in Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Detroit - North / Troy - Auburn Hills 3.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Detroit-Troy/Auburn Hills is located in the Michigan suburb of Troy, just a short interstate drive from Downtown Detroit, however, our Troy hotel is located just minutes from attractions such as The Palace of Auburn Hills, Walter P. Chrysler Museum, Somerset Collection Shopping Mall, and Great Lake Crossing Mall. As with all Embassy Suites hotels, we offer complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast, evening Manager's Reception, and spacious two-room suites. Enjoy the other amenities of our hotel including high speed wireless internet access (for a nominal fee), on-site fitness center, business center, and indoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Detroit - North / Troy - Auburn Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Troy
Troy Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Detroit - North / Troy - Auburn Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.