We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Detroit - North / Troy - Auburn Hills to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Hotel Detroit - North / Troy - Auburn Hills
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   850 Tower Drive, Troy, MI 48098   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Troy
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Aurora, OH
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“labor day get away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

we've stayed in this hotel many times before and have always come back! excellent service, breakfast at times can be challenging specially if there was a wedding or soccer tournement in the area but you work around it and make extra time for breakfast. my kids love the pool, the elevators. the open atrium space with the bar and they serve Starbucks too! are EXCELLENT

Room Tip: we have always gotten a suite with 2 beds. with 3 boys, 2 are on the pull out couch and one with my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESTroy, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Detroit - North / Troy - Auburn Hills, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear mzdi3,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent stay with our hotel, and for your continued loyalty to our hotel when traveling! Our Team truly enjoy servicing and welcoming back repeat guests, and I appreciate your gracious compliments of their consistency in service, guest accommodations and amenities. Thanks again for your valued business and we look forward to servicing your lodging needs again soon.


Best regards,

Eric Welch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    137
    42
    23
    3
See reviews for
164
63
12
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Hotel was clean. Fitness facility was good. The swimming pool is kind of small but adequate for a quick swim. Breakfast was a bit disappointed. There are a lot of variety but the food quality was below average on regular dishes. The omelet station had a long line up on Friday morning even there wasn't too many people. It was even worst on Saturday. Good thing is that, it worth the wait compares to other food offered.
Location is good. It is close by to Somerset Collection, only 20min away from Great Lake Crossing Outlet and The Henry Ford Museum on highway.

Overall, I will return to the same hotel until I found some place as nice and provide better food.

Room Tip: My booking has a complimentary drink but I have missed it serves only between 5:30 to 7pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESTroy, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Detroit - North / Troy - Auburn Hills, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Richardctchan,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with our hotel. Thank you for recognizing and complimenting some of your experiences during your stay with us. I apologize for the longer lines and wait times that you had to endure during your breakfast experiences those mornings. Our Team actually recently brainstormed on ideas and procedures that could help reduce wait times for our guests during peak breakfast times, and we implemented a few changes to current buffet stations, added a separate breakfast pastry station, and an additional coffee sub-station. We are hoping that these efforts will help reduce our guests wait times and further enhance their breakfast experience satisfaction. Also, I wanted to thank you for taking those excellent pictures of our Atrium setting and guest corridors at night time, nice quality and interesting perspectives. Thanks again for your valued business and we look forward to servicing your lodging needs again soon.

Best regards,

Eric Welch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I highly recommend this hotel it was awesome all around!!! All staff were so accomodating and very friendly!!! Complimentary breakfest was so GOOD so much to choose from. I will definately return back with my family just got in and I had to make sure I wrote a review. We travel alot and when its EXCELLENT it should be known!!! Thanks to all the Staff for making this trip so memorable can't wait to return to your hotel. So much restaurants and shopping in this area like I said HIGHLY RECOMMEND YOU WON'T BE DISAPPOINTED!!!!!!


ZABIAN'S
London On

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESTroy, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Detroit - North / Troy - Auburn Hills, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Iman Z,

Thank you for the excellent review of your recent stay with our hotel! I appreciated your compliments of so many of our guest accommodations, especially that your experience with our breakfast was “so GOOD”, thank you. Above all though, your compliments of our Team Members being accommodating and friendly is exactly the impression we want to leave on all guests. I will definitely share your review with our Team as they appreciate reading guests’ positive feedback of their efforts. Thanks again for your valued business and we look forward to servicing your lodging needs again soon.


Best regards,

Eric Welch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Who are these people kidding!! I get free wifi at Motel 6!! Are they in the 20th Century or something?? Otherwise a very nice, spacious room, great breakfast, nice location. But; I don't stay where there is no free wifi.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESTroy, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Detroit - North / Troy - Auburn Hills, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear BajaBobSanDiego_CA,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with our hotel. Thank you for recognizing and complimenting some our guest services and accommodations. I do apologize for the WIFI charges, as it is still a Hilton Worldwide Brand Standard for our Full Service hotels, and to some extent I agree with you that charging for the service is becoming less frequent at hotels nowadays. While this does not help in this past situation, all of our Hilton Honors Members (HHonors frequent guest loyalty program) receive complimentary WIFI as a standard at our location and receive that service complimentary at all other Embassy Suites hotels after reaching Gold HHonors Membership level. Thanks again for your valued business and we look forward to servicing your lodging needs again soon.

Best regards,

Eric Welch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

My elementary school aged children loved this hotel and were in atrium heaven. I do not like chain restaurants and must say that chains were the absolute only thing available in this location. It wasn't near anything I wanted to do, but we were just driving through. It was a perfectly nice and very clean hotel, just nothing special. The breakfast, however, was one of the best we had on our 8 day road trop. Omelette bar, lots of choices for a hot breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESTroy, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Detroit - North / Troy - Auburn Hills, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear JenCoy,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with our hotel. I was happy to read of how your children enjoyed our Atrium setting and that it seemed you generally liked our hotel’s accommodations and cleanliness throughout. While we are located near several restaurant chains which sometimes do not appeal to every visitor to the area, I am glad that our breakfast services seemed to help make up for that shortfall; and thank you for expressing how your breakfast experience was one of the best during your road trip, appreciate it. Thanks again for your valued business and we look forward to servicing your lodging needs again soon.


Best regards,

Eric Welch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We really enjoy the Embassy Suites. Our family has room to sleep and the indoor pool and hot tub are always a treat. We were on Spring Break and visiting family but the hotel never felt crowded. The breakfast was great and the kids loved the tv's at the tables. Sometimes the atrium setup is noisy but it was never a problem here.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESTroy, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Detroit - North / Troy - Auburn Hills, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Dear Stewartsix,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with our hotel. I was happy to read your comments about how your family enjoyed themselves during your visit to our area during Spring Break, and that our hotel’s various guest amenities helped in making your stay more comfortable. Additionally, your compliment of the LG LCD TVs inside our booths in the restaurant was appreciated; they are very popular with families and business guests alike. Thanks again for your positive feedback and valued business and we look forward to servicing your lodging needs again soon.


Best regards,

Eric Welch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Like all Embassy Suites this one features the nightly managers reception and cooked to order hot breakfast each morning. Every room is a 2 room suite complete with microwave, sink and fridge. But this hotel has been recently upgraded and the furnishings are up to date not old and worn. This hotel stays booked at 100% capacity throughout the year so they are accustomed to handling large numbers of guests and do a great job! Staff are friendly and anxious to assist. The rooms on the top two floors have been updated with european (open) style showers which some guests don't like.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESTroy, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Detroit - North / Troy - Auburn Hills, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Dear JagIlbert,

Thank you for the wonderful review of your recent stay with our hotel. I appreciated your compliments of some of the renovated suite and public space amenities and furnishings, thank you for mentioning this. Additionally, your description of our Team Members’ ‘anxiousness’ to assist and service our guests was also very appreciated and I will share your excellent review with them as they enjoy hearing positive guest feedback always. Thanks again for your valued business and we look forward to servicing your lodging needs again soon.


Best regards,

Eric Welch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Detroit - North / Troy - Auburn Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Detroit - North / Troy - Auburn Hills

Address: 850 Tower Drive, Troy, MI 48098
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Troy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Troy
#2 Business Hotel in Troy
#3 Family Hotel in Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Detroit - North / Troy - Auburn Hills 3.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Detroit-Troy/Auburn Hills is located in the Michigan suburb of Troy, just a short interstate drive from Downtown Detroit, however, our Troy hotel is located just minutes from attractions such as The Palace of Auburn Hills, Walter P. Chrysler Museum, Somerset Collection Shopping Mall, and Great Lake Crossing Mall. As with all Embassy Suites hotels, we offer complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast, evening Manager's Reception, and spacious two-room suites. Enjoy the other amenities of our hotel including high speed wireless internet access (for a nominal fee), on-site fitness center, business center, and indoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Detroit - North / Troy - Auburn Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Troy
Troy Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Detroit - North / Troy - Auburn Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.