We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food & service all the way around” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Detroit Marriott Troy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Detroit Marriott Troy to your Saves list
Detroit Marriott Troy
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 W. Big Beaver Road, Troy, MI 48084   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Shop 'til you drop!
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Troy
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food & service all the way around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The hotel sleeping rooms show it age. A little damp for my liking. Plenty of convenient electrical outlets. Happily the Air Conditioning does not blow on the bed. The food was very good; meat especially.
Front desk agents, servers in restaurant very professional, competent and friendly. Free self-parking. Valet available too. Bed very comfortable. Rooms near elevator are NOISY

Room Tip: Elevator rooms are noisey from hydraulics.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott Troy, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Hello Amy and thank you not only for visiting, but for also taking the time to post your review. Your comments have all been passed to our general manager for her review. We apologize for any disappointment in your room, however please know that we will soon begin renovations. In the meantime, we appreciate your patience. Thank you again and we do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    117
    51
    6
    9
See reviews for
61
49
13
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed at the hotel for one night for a business trip. The hotel has a nice location and the fitness center is modern and well equipped. Beds are comfortable.
The hotel is functional and the rooms/bathrooms could certainly use a bit of an update, but everything works. After a long day of travel, would have appreciated a smiling friendly face at the check in counter, but i figure everyone is entitled to a bad day and perhaps the check in person was having one.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott Troy, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Hello cubsfan and thank you for visiting. We appreciate all of your kind words regarding your stay. We wanted to apologize for any less than stellar interaction with anyone on our team. We take great pride in offering a high level of guest service to all visitors and we're very sorry for falling short in your case. Our general manager would like the opportunity to investigate who may have assisted you and should you wish to share details of your checkin, please email thetroymarriott@marriott.com. Once again, we thank you very much and hope that you'll return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I ventured to this hotel as part of a relaxation package. When I arrived the staff was extremely pleasant and checked me in very quickly. The room was immaculate and the bed was very comfy. I ordered room service and it arrived very fast and the food was very good. The package included breakfast at the restaurant and my meal was fantastic. The package included a massage at Schendens Day spa. The hotel driver dropped me off at the doorstep and promptly returned when I was finished.The Swedish massage given by Heather was amazing. Overall my entire experience was very relaxing and I would not hesitate to return to this hotel when I need to renew and recharge.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott Troy, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Hello Nancy and thank you for being such a frequent guest at our hotel. We appreciate the generous five stars and did want to apologize about your disappointment in our wifi policy. Please note that complimentary wifi is available in our lobby great room. It is also complimentary for Marriott Rewards Gold and Platinum Elite members and since you're a frequent guest, this may make sense for you to join and take advantage of that and other benefits. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We always try to stay at this hotel when visiting the Detroit area to see family. The hotel staff are always extremely courteous and helpful, and the rooms clean, quiet and well appointed. My only complaint is that they began charging for wifi a couple of years ago.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott Troy, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Hello Nancy and thank you being such a loyal guest here in Troy. Regarding the charges for wifi, please know that Marriott rewards gold and platinum elite members so perhaps as you're a frequent guest, it might make sense for you to join our rewards program and take advantage of that perk. We do apologize, that you're disappointed in that policy. Thank you once again for all of your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We were going back to MI to visit family. My sister recommended the Troy Marriot. This hotel had a great central location for us, once we chose the Marriott, we had the pleasure of dealing w/ Jen. She was amazing, very friendly, she got us set up in a beautiful room...she took the time to make sure we were in a room away from the multiple wedding parties they had that weekend. She even managed to find my electric toothbrush for me that I left behind. Awesome place, great service. Would definately go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott Troy, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Hello Michelle and thank you very much not only for choosing to stay with us, but for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate your kind words about Jen and please know that your comments have been passed directly to our general manager for her review. We're thrilled to hear your entire visit was a success and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Clean, comfortable......price is right.
As a Marriott Platinum I always search out the best the chain has to offer.
Spent four nights here. No complaints.
Room was big and King bed was just what the doctor ordered.
Anyone who complains about " the Décor" is a hotel snob. Go stay at the Ritz!
This is a Really nice suburban Marriott....enough said.
Highly recommended for stays in Troy Area.
I WILL BE BACK !
Thanks

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott Troy, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Hello Bond and thank you for the stellar review! We're happy to hear that your four days with us was a total success! We appreciate you taking the time to post and look forward to your next visit. Until then, safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Above average but not Very Good. Just in between.

Stayed for work and whilst the hotel was nice, I felt it was a little dated in decor.
Rooms were clean, bed was comfortable and quiet and overall I was happy with the stay. I would have preferred an in room safe as a traveller concerned re passports etc but managed to control my OCD.
Breakfast was pretty good value compared to other hotels I have stayed at.
The best thing about this hotel is their minibus service. These guys were great and very helpful. Even with tipping them the price is cheaper than a taxi. I managed to get a trip to Best Buy and back again for a quick shop as well as the Somerset centre. Great service.
Can't comment on the gym as did not get a chance to go.
Would happily stay here again when in the area.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott Troy, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Hello Simon and thank you for taking your time to write a review. We're happy to hear that overall you would stay with us again because we offer some fantastic news - each of our 350 guest rooms will be undergoing a complete renovation later this year! We agree with you that some things are a bit dated and due to that, we'll be offering guests an entirely new experience in the near future. Thanks also for your wonderful comments on our shuttle team - we've passed those directly to our general manager for her review. We look forward to your return and until then, safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Detroit Marriott Troy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detroit Marriott Troy

Address: 200 W. Big Beaver Road, Troy, MI 48084
Location: United States > Michigan > Troy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Troy
#5 Business Hotel in Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Detroit Marriott Troy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the upscale, contemporary design of a Troy, Michigan hotel in affluent Oakland County near downtown Detroit, The Somerset Collection, Chrysler, GM Tech Center and TACOM, as well as The Palace of Auburn Hills, home of the Pistons. This hotel boasts comfortable accommodations featuring an array of pleasing amenities such as 37" flat screen TVs and spacious baths with marble details. Travelers will appreciate the many thoughtful touches at this 350-room hotel, including wireless high-speed Internet access, well-appointed work-stations and deluxe bedding, as well as on-site restaurant, 200 west. The reinvented hotel lobby features plush seating, state of-the-art technology and creative food and beverage concepts in a stylish setting—all designed to meet the needs of today’s travelers. As a certified Michigan Green Lodging Facility, you can count on the Detroit Marriott Troy hotel to provide you with a comfortable and eco-friendly stay each and every time you visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Detroit Marriott Troy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Detroit Marriott Troy Hotel Troy
Marriott Troy
Troy Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Detroit Marriott Troy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.