We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High satisfaction” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Detroit Marriott Troy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Detroit Marriott Troy to your Saves list
Detroit Marriott Troy
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 W. Big Beaver Road, Troy, MI 48084   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Shop 'til you drop!
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Troy
Tustin, Califirnia
1 review
“High satisfaction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2008

Stayed four nights in connection with a convention event held at this hotel. Staff was extremely helpful, both in convention details and personal accomodations. My room was upgraded to a suite which included concierge services, much to my delight and surprise. The free breakfast in the Concierge Lounge was extensive and delicious. The bed was very comfortable, and room attendant was invisible but thoughtful with turned-down sheets and chocolates on the pillow. Shula's Steakhouse downstairs has excellent food. Try the Salmon if you aren't into red meats. Good wine list, too. Overall, I was very happy with all aspects of my stay.

  • Liked — Excellent service and staff helpfulness.
  • Disliked — The 'Michigan Turns" you have to make to access the hotel and surrounding sites. "Can't get there from here!"
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    117
    51
    6
    9
See reviews for
61
49
13
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ada, MI
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2007

Usually I stay at Hilton properties since I have gold status with them. We were in Detroit for a funeral and choose this Marriott since it was really close to the funeral home. Arrived on a Sunday. Nobody to help with luggage. During the reservation process, asked for a king room, but when checking in, was told too bad, none available. Had a late lunch consisting of two salads, appetizer, two beers and a glass of wine. $50+ and it gave me an upset stomach the rest of the night. Carla, the bartender was great however. Teny tiny room, the bed was uncomfortable and the blower fan was LOUD. Both mornings, no Starbucks coffee in the lobby. They made some more, but took a long time and acted like I was asking for some huge favor. Oh, and they were charging for it too. The average cost for the room each night was $225. Total rip-off. Maybe it was my fault for not knowing the Marriott system, but from now on I'll stick with Hilton.

  • Liked — The bartender.
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Ridge, Illinois
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights in December. The hotel was clean, and nicely decorated. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. I'd stay here again.

We attended a wedding at this hotel and the staff was great. The room was beautiful.

  • Liked — Clean rooms, heated bathroom lamp
  • Disliked — uncomfortable beds
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2007

We just returned from a one night stay at the Troy Marriott. We took our daughter and her girlfriend to celebrate her 16th birthday and to let them go on a shopping spree at the Somerset Mall. They had a blast. We thought the hotel was very beautiful inside and also very clean. You could always see someone cleaning or dusting everywhere that you went in the hotel. We reserved two adjoining rooms. The rooms were a bit on the small side but adequit. The rooms and the bath rooms were extremely clean and the bed was so very comfortable. Nice fluffy bedding with lots of pillows. I would certainly not hesitate to return to this hotel.

  • Liked — The Location and the cleanliness of the hotel
  • Disliked — The rooms were a bit on the small side
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2007

I stayed here on Christmas day. The lobby was decorated wonderfully. It was mind blowing. Great Customer service. My husband and I tried to order a movie on the tv and it would not connect. After calling the front desk the repair man had told us it was the satellite and comped us 2 movies. So we got to see 2 movies free and they were great. Everything was wonderful. If I had to complain at all; I would say the bed was "Too Comfortable". There was a featherbed top mattress that sucked you in and on top of that you had a super soft feather blanket- it was like I was getting buried by softness. A very nice stay I would recommend to others.

  • Liked — There was Bath & Body Bath products
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2007

I recently stayed at the Troy Marriott and was very happy with the stay. The hotel is in a very convenient location off of I-75 and Crooks Rd in Troy.

I travel often and desire nice clean accommodations. This Marriott was perfect. The hotel has recently gone through a large renovation and it was very evident. The lobby is very inviting with nice large sitting areas, bar, and Shula's restaurant. The breakfast buffet at Shulas was very nice.

I had a feeling the room would be nice due to the fact that when I got off the elevator, I was greeted with the aroma of fresh laid carpeting. This is always a good indicator. The walls and all room doors were spotless down the hallway. The room was very nice with new carpet, new linens, nice bathroom (granite sink) with new tile, shower curtains, etc. The desk was nice. Nightstands were nice with granite tops and well placed electrical outlets for power adaptors. The beds also have a small directional halogen reading lamp on the headboard in addition to the lamps above the nightstand.

I was very pleased with the hotel and will stay the next time I am in the area. I paid $107/night for a Thursday, Friday, Saturday. The rooms for only midweek were going for $207/night.

  • Liked — Cleanliness of entire facility
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Tips/Secrets — Use the parking ramp connected to the back the hotel. Free and covered from rain/snow.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2006

We really enjoyed this hotel and plan to stay again when visiting family in the Troy area. The service was excellent. Everyone is very friendly and incredibly helpful. The room was clean and attractive and the bed was very comfortable. We even had a nice view. The small touches made the package complete: there was a robe, complimentary bottles of water, q-tips, and USA Today and a local newspaper were delivered in the morning. I highly recommend this hotel, and I am very particular about where I stay.

Stayed October 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Detroit Marriott Troy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detroit Marriott Troy

Address: 200 W. Big Beaver Road, Troy, MI 48084
Location: United States > Michigan > Troy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Troy
#5 Business Hotel in Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Detroit Marriott Troy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the upscale, contemporary design of a Troy, Michigan hotel in affluent Oakland County near downtown Detroit, The Somerset Collection, Chrysler, GM Tech Center and TACOM, as well as The Palace of Auburn Hills, home of the Pistons. This hotel boasts comfortable accommodations featuring an array of pleasing amenities such as 37" flat screen TVs and spacious baths with marble details. Travelers will appreciate the many thoughtful touches at this 350-room hotel, including wireless high-speed Internet access, well-appointed work-stations and deluxe bedding, as well as on-site restaurant, 200 west. The reinvented hotel lobby features plush seating, state of-the-art technology and creative food and beverage concepts in a stylish setting—all designed to meet the needs of today’s travelers. As a certified Michigan Green Lodging Facility, you can count on the Detroit Marriott Troy hotel to provide you with a comfortable and eco-friendly stay each and every time you visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Detroit Marriott Troy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Detroit Marriott Troy Hotel Troy
Marriott Troy
Troy Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Detroit Marriott Troy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.