We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shields Rest., Great Pizza, Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shield's Pizza

Shield's Pizza
1476 W Maple Rd, Troy, MI 48084
(248) 637-3131
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #77 of 232 Restaurants in Troy
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“Shields Rest., Great Pizza, Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We selected Shields Restaurant on Maple at Crooks Rd. based on the recommendation of a local friend. We had a group of 10 and we arrived at 6PM on a Saturday without a reservation. They set up a table for us and we were seated within 15-20 minutes. The menu has many delightful Italian dishes and an unlimited variety of pizza. Everything was excellent and we had a server who was charming and fun.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    14
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Sports Bar with Great Gluten-Free Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Shield's is famous in the Detroit area for their thick crust square pizzas. Since being diagnosed with Celiac Disease, I am not permitted to eat pizza with wheat four crusts. Thank goodness for Shield's adding a gluten-free pizza to their menu. Now I can go out and enjoy sports on TV and pizza with it. Need to convince them to add a gluten-free beer like Red Bridge to their bar. Always friendly wait staff, and very complete menu including salads and other entrees makes Shield's a welcome destination.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Top Contributor
343 reviews 343 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Always a great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

I've been here many times over the years and the food is always yummy. I really like the Shield's submarine and the ribs. The pizza is great too and the house dressing on the salad is my favorite. They also have a back room which is good for big groups.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Roberts, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Very good Pizza, at an incredible price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

My wife and I stopped in at Shields in Troy for dinner one night while on a weekend shopping trip to the Metropolitan Detroit area.

Shiels has great pizza, at a very reasonable price. I'd recommend it to anyone.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland County, Michigan
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Great pizza & salads!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2008

When we want a good pizza, this is one of the top places on our list. If you aren't a pizza fan, they have a lot of other fare to chose from as well.
One of the great things about this place are the "Kid's Nights"... they pretty much run throughout the school year on Tuesday evenings. They have different characters come in and entertain the kids. We didn't know about it until we were in the middle of dinner one night and along comes Elmo. Now, that our daughter is a little bit older, we will be taking her back so she can enjoy seeing her Elmo buddy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shield's Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Shield's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shield's Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.