We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a Troy hot spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mon Jin Lau Restaurant

Mon Jin Lau Restaurant
1515 E Maple Rd, Troy, MI 48083-1102
248-689-2332
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 246 Restaurants in Troy
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Troy, Michigan
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Still a Troy hot spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I've been going to Mon Jin Lau for around 20 years. It's a bit out of the way for Troy (Stephenson & Maple) yet they always seem to bring in guests. The food is very good, some standard chinese dishes but also sushi and a variety of unique entrees. It also boasts a good wine menu, nice bar area, and I think it's a bit of a hot spot after work later in the week (though never go in for that).

Would recommend having reservations just in case as it can get busy, especially on weekends. Very nice ambience, romantic, a nice first date spot.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    30
    14
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Troy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Good food and great service, wine way to expensive ....Should try and bring it into a fair price market...

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlevoix, Michigan
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“If you like Asian style dishes give Mon Jin Lau a try”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a business dinner at this property. First time visit. I was pleasantly surprised by the ambiance, quality of the food and excellent service by our waitress. She suggested appetizers and provided accurate answers to various dishes that we ended up ordering. Food was served hot and was nicely timed. We had time to finish the appetizers, the dinner order was taken as soon as we were done and dinner was served in less than 15 minutes for a group of 7. They have a huge selection of dinners and of the 7 different dinners we ordered all were very good.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Asian goes hip...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is truly an upscale Pan Asian restaurant. Every item is cooked to perfection and the place is always busy and lively. Many of your old favorites done in ways that make you appreciate them more. But, also many creative new items to explore. Sushi is made in front of you if you take a seat at the bar and the drinks are generous. Highly recommended. One of my wifes favorites.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Chinese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Mon Jin Lau during Troy restaurant week is great value and great food. All items on the menu are very good and drinks are very good as well.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mon Jin Lau Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mon Jin Lau Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mon Jin Lau Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.