We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“capital grille is a winner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Capital Grille

The Capital Grille
2800 West Big Beaver Road, Troy, MI 48084
248-649-5300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Capital Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 232 Restaurants in Troy
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $80
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 16 Mile Road & Coolidge
Troy, Michigan, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“capital grille is a winner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

having been to capital grille 2 times late in 2013 makes it easy to recommend it highly the atmosphere is upscale yet very comfortabe
service is well executed with plenty of knowledge making timely and helpful suggestions yet the best is the quality of the food that comes close to perfection on all levels

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    43
    17
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great for Special Occasions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Very expensive. Wonderful service. Visit at least 4 times a year. It is a go-to place for my friend and I. We call it Cappy!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Cart_Toronto
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“New Years Eve dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Overall an enjoyable meal. Service was better than average but not consistent (ie. had to pour my own wine, ordered decaf caps and never received them). I expected perfection given the exhorbitant prices - Dinner for a family of 4 (2 adults and 2 kids ages 12 and 10) = $300+.

The seafood plateau was ok but I have had better at other high end steak houses (Harbour 60 in Toronto).

Good place for a special occasion meal or client entertainment. I will give it another shot when back in town.

Decent wine list. Expect to spend at least $70 for a bottle.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I dined here with my family for a belated Holiday meal. For starters, the service was superb, as it should be in a restaurant of this caliber.
We started with a cold seafood platter, which was fresh and delicious. Two of the four of us had the lamb chops and two had steak. All were cooked perfectly and so tender!
We ended with the cheescake and flourless chocolate cake for our desserts...Decadent!!!
Excellence in every way!!!
Be prepared to pay!! Very pricey, but well worth it, if you want to treat yourself for a special occassion.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadillac, Michigan
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great meal if you're willing to pay the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We recently dined at The Capital Grille for the first time. The atmosphere is "men's club" -- dimly lit, leather and wood. Not really a place for intimate conversation however, at least the night we were there, as tables are close together and the noise level was fairly high. Those negatives were more than made up by the service, which was very good to excellent, and by the quality of the food, which was excellent all the way around. Our entrees ranged from filet, to filet and lobster, to salmon; and all were delicious. Be prepared however -- nothing is inexpensive (or even moderately expensive) -- when the menu on the website doesn't have prices, that's a clue.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Capital Grille also viewed

 

Been to The Capital Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Capital Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.