We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Capital Grille

The Capital Grille
2800 West Big Beaver Road, Troy, MI 48084
248-649-5300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Capital Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 246 Restaurants in Troy
Price range: $21 - $80
Cuisines: American, Continental, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 16 Mile Road & Coolidge
pleasant ridge, mi
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My family and I had dinner here this past weekend and it was fantastic. I have never had a bad meal here. Top notch quality and service!! It is not cheap but it is worth the money. We did include our children but they do eat adult food and portions.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    40
    16
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Consistent quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Always a quality meal and yes you do get what you pay for! Filet,seabass and sole were cooked perfectly. Service friendly,efficient and unobtrusive.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“TCG”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is a very nice restaurant with very good ambiance and top notch service. We had the chopped fillet mignon and fish for main course. Both the items were excellent with one caveat. The chopped fillet mignon came with chetake mushrooms which turned out to be overly sweet.

Overall, it was a nice experience.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlevoix, Michigan
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Capital Grille is an excellent steak restaurant which also has a few other fish / chicken dishes. The décor is rich dark wood, subdued lighting and plenty of room between tables. The noise level is very low allowing normal conversation levels. Great wine list by the bottle or half bottle. Limited wines available by the glass as well but this is a separate menu that I asked my waitress for. I had one of their steak selections and it was excellent in all respects: 1) done to the degree asked for 2) well seasoned (not too much / not too little), 3) great cut of steak (very tasty), 4) very nice presentation and, finally 5) served hot. All this along with great friendly service. The tariff is a little stiff but this is an excellent restaurant. The only thing that is missing is a great view but then again it is located within an upscale shopping mall and there is nothing to view that would be nicer than the interior décor.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent First Class Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I have eaten here several times and have yet to be disappointed. Our server this time was Jason and he takes his craft of being a waiter very serious-a true professional. Drinks are excellent, food was excellent and the over the top service made for a great evening. We will be back and asking for Jason Leung’s section.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Capital Grille also viewed

 

Been to The Capital Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Capital Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.