We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Festive restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Granite City Food & Brewery

Granite City Food & Brewery
699 West Big Beaver Road, Troy, MI
248-519-1040
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 246 Restaurants in Troy
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Michigan
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Festive restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I usually avoid chains, but the Granite City is a good choice if you go that route. They have a wide-ranging menu of good choices at reasonable prices. We had an excellent flatbread pizza, attractively served on an unusual plate. The Asian glazed shrimp made a tasty appetizer; the sauce seemed inspired by a similar dish at the Bonefish Grill. The grilled salmon could have been more moist, but it was tasty and had a nice charbroiled taste. The soups looked good and were described as made from scratch. Although they had big beer tanks, I was surprised at how few beers I saw being served. There were a lot of specialty drinks being served. The one I had looked and tasted good, but I barely felt anything after having two of them. Service was really friendly, although our waitress seemed overloaded and took awhile to return after we asked for a minute to decide. We are looking forward to returning to try intriguing items such as rosemary steak salad and adult mac and cheese. The latter sounded appealing to my vegetarian dining partner until she saw it included chicken and bacon. The atmosphere is bustling and contemporary, though a room with a fireplace off the bar looked to be a bit quieter.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    60
    30
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North, South Carolina
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Over rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The building is beautiful. Being unfamiliar with the name I thought it was a granite distributor. It is a brewery, men were coming in with their growler. There was five of us and we try to meet once a month. We do try new places and this won. We met at 5:30 on a Saturday and had a zero wait. Quickly after that is was packed with a line around the building. The food was average. 2 in our party had the flat bread pizza which hardly had anything on it. Very little sauce or toppings. Another in our party had tuna which came well done. The manager caught sight of it and took it back and returned it the way tuna should be cooked. The last two had a steak which was average. Prices were average. We all were not impressed and would not go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“The food is terrible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

People must come here for the beer. We had the chicken marsala and the mac n' cheese. These were two simple dishes that they could not get right and were mediocre. The service took forever to get us lemons for our water and a napkin.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Visiting for JUST the restaurant, and not the beer, it is average.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I am not sure how good their beer selection is, perhaps that is a better draw than the food. The pretzel cheese appetizer was fantastic, but the main courses were simply ok. I would come back again to try other meals and perhaps the beer, but the 'Adult Mac & Cheese' didn't impress, and the salads were enormous.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Twp., Mi.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Apres concert light fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very attentive staff. menu is HUGE, both in size and in the number of selections. Beer is delicious. They make their own version of a Black & Tan that tastes good however, the components were mixed when the glass arrived at out booth. Highly recommend the French Onion Soup and the Turkey dinner. Unique offering of mixed drinks. In my opinion, wines are over priced.($12.00 for a glass of Santa Margarette Pinot Grigio). Noise level is high but it's that way at every Granite City I've dined. Yes I do like the establishment and will return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Granite City Food & Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Granite City Food & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Granite City Food & Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.