We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fattoush” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Marsa

La Marsa
3720 Rochester Road, Troy, MI 48083-5243
(248)524-0300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 246 Restaurants in Troy
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Restaurant details
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best fattoush”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

You can't go wrong with a wonderful fattoush with bread for $5.29! Staff is always super friendly as well.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    5
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Not authentic”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

As a middle eastern myself, I was very disappointed.
Good points: they have high chairs and crayons to entertain kids. Waiters are nice. Decoration and tables setup was fine.
Homos and eggplant homos were very good.
Tabbouleh was good but make sure to order extra lemons and olive oil, it was a bit dry but I guess not everyone likes it with a stronger taste.

Bad points: falafel were bad- the taste has nothing to do with falafel and maybe there were too much spices.
Grape vine leaves has nothing to do with the real middle eastern ones, barely could taste the lemon taste and they were dry.
Fried kibbeh were okay but not amazing.
Yoghurt drink (Laban Ayran) had too much salt.

I guess it is middle eastern Americanized food. Will not go back there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“My favorite mediterranean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The food here is always great! Many different choices, always fresh, and excellently prepared. The pita bread is homemade. My husband and I usually split a meal, as the servings are quite large. The staff is friendly and concerned. No liquor license. The carry-out right next door carries the same food, and is quite convenient.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cockroaches!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I have dined at La Marsa's Farmington Hills restaurant and the food is excellent, great service and clean. Decided to get lunch in Troy today and the empty table next to me had roaches running around. I notified the manager, who appologized and explained that the work next door was causing them to come in. He offered me a new table, but I had lost my appetite and where there is one cockroach there is many, a new table would not resolve.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“fresh and flavorful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

I went with my family and enjoyed the succulent char grilled quail. We also enjoyed lamb with hummus, huge and delicious salads, spicy char grilled shrimp and endless bread. This place is quaint with white linen tablecloths and great atmosphere. We shall return.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Marsa also viewed

 

Been to La Marsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Marsa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.