We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not go back- Terrible Customer Service.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Met Troy

Save Saved
You added The Met Troy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Met Troy
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5500 Crooks Road, Troy, MI 48098   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 14 hotels in Troy
1 review
“Will not go back- Terrible Customer Service.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I stayed at The Met Hotel for only one night. When arriving to the hotel after traveling all day. We were assigned to a room that was in shambles and not clean. There were no linens on the bed, trash was on the floor and the restroom was filthy. After returning to the front desk we were assigned to another room in the same condition. After the front desk searched for a vacant and clean room for several mins we then were assigned to a "check-in ready" room. The front desk manager apologized for the inconvenience but did not seem at all concerned about offering us any compensation for the trouble. Even when asked she said "I can only be apologetic" and that there is nothing she could do. The Assistant General Manager Oz Sheikh refused to speak with us. Sending someone out to say he was on the phone and would call us; which never happened. When we called the front desk we were again not allowed to speak with Oz but advised he would call the room; which never happened. It is a shame he feels it is acceptable to ignore guest.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    25
    35
    30
    51
See reviews for
42
41
17
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Troy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The hotel property is beautiful and when we arrived we felt like we were staying in a five-star hotel. But, then we got in the room and were disappointed. The room is large but needs to be updated....



  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Chose this hotel because it was near family. The desk and breakfast staff were enthusiastic and welcoming. The gym was clean and has modern equipment. The lobby was large and inviting. The grounds are beautiful and the sculptures are impressive. Tons of parking. A few minutes from the Somerset Mall.Our room was large. Bed was large and comfortable. Now, for the downside:
Rooms are cooled by an in-room A/C that lacks a thermostat, leaving the room either cold or hot and humid. Furnishings appear to be 20+ years old, left over from the hotel's days as a Hilton. There were three hangers in the room when we arrived for a 5 day stay. Staff were happy to bring more when we asked.There was no hanger bar in the closet (but there is one in the cabinet). TV is a small, tube TV with few channels. No radio. Two towels, except on day 2, when there were none. No in-room coffee. Breakfast is an assortment of cold breads, apples, oranges, juice and dry cereal. Coffee was OK ... or terrible, depending on which day we tried it. No eggs, meat or breakfast sandwiches. We brought breakfast to our room on day 1. Housekeeping didn't pick up the dishes on day 2 or day 3, so we removed them ourselves.
The hotel was virtually empty. There is no bar and no restaurant. It's obvious that the MET is run to attract meetings.
A place to sleep. Not a place to entertain or relax.

Room Tip: Insist on a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Great location. Staff was friendly and helped us find a nice restaurant after a very long drive. However, on the second night we found bed bugs!! I typically inspect our mattress before sleeping but we got in so late and I was pretty exhausted. The bed bugs were engorged with lots of blood. Meaning, they'd been there a while. The night time receptionist moved us quickly - to a nice room. However, when I spoke to the front desk manager she was very unresponsive and replied; "we have exterminators." Well, they should try calling them!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRAVERSE CITY
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hotel is easy to get to. It has a nice continental breakfast. The staff upgraded us and was professional and helpful.
The overall appearance was old. The pool had dirty towels left all about from the night before and the water was murky. The rooms are dated and need a fresh coat of paint. The bed was comfortable.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Used hotwire before and got some great deals. But dissappointed at this one. Great suburban location but the place smelled and needs a lot of care. Even my kids are complaining its not clean. They should be knocked down a star for sure. The management needs to clean up their act. In addition the pool was not that clean and they didnt refresh the towels.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

We are at day one of our 3 day stay. Got a real good deal on hotwire and read reviews so i was a little worried.

But the room is clean, the people are nice. The breakfast is more than a so called carb fest. There are hard boiled eggs and they do make waffles (yes carbs), had fruit, yogurt even though it was a bowl of plain, and oatmeal. For a cont. breakfast it had all the normal things exceipt some places have omlettes but i have seen worse.

Our air went out briefly in middle of night but after playing with it,
Is now working and they are sending down maint to look at it and move us if needed.

Yes the hotel could use a update but the carpet is clean and doesnt look worn. No smell on floor 1, still need to check out the rest of the floors. The pool is clean and doesnt have a strong clorene smell. No sign of bed bugs in our room and they keep the place clean. Its before 10a and i see housekeeping on our floor. With the few people staying here, it shouldnt take long to housekeep.

It is ovious that the money maker here is conventions, they had one last night and another this morning already. The room portion is 2nd priority but they dont treat it like a 2nd priority.

Weight room looks nice, will try it out later today. Warning this hotel is a half circle shape and if you get a room near the end you will get your walk in!


For the price i would recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Met Troy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Met Troy

Address: 5500 Crooks Road, Troy, MI 48098
Location: United States > Michigan > Troy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 hotels in Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Met Troy 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MET Hotel is conveniently located in Detroit's affluent Northwestern suburbs near upscale shopping, dining & entertainment venues, as well as a number of corporate headquarters. We offer 23,000 square feet of conference space, making The MET one of the largest conference hotels in the area. With 180 spacious guestrooms, we can perfectly accomodate groups large or small. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Met Troy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Met Troy Hotel Troy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Met Troy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.