We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Prime

Ocean Prime
2915 Coolidge Hwy, Troy, MI 48084-3250
248-458-0500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ocean Prime is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 246 Restaurants in Troy
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Big Beaver
Tecumseh, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Always a great meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

went for my husbands birthday, always like to go earlier than later since it gets quite noisy when full. Food is always awesome. Service was great, BUT at end of meal, shouldn't ask customers if they want their coffee to go. Wasn't sure if it was a bad joke or was being smart because he wanted us to leave? We were by no means difficult customers. Is it odd to ask for your leftovers to go if you order extra for that reason?

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    35
    13
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE, FOOD, SERVICE! WHAT MORE?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This restaurant is consistently excellent, summer and winter! The terrace is spacious, the bar cum booths area is wonderfully decorated and the main room is adequately spaced for the very professional waiters and supervisors alike to move flawlessly. The spicy calamari and the ahi tuna as starters leave you asking for more! The selection of meats and fish is equally top-notch. We opted for excellent scallops and swordfish which would be very difficult to match in taste, abundance and presentation. The wine selection is also very eclectic while the baked Alaska put the finishing touches to an excellent dinner. The waiting staff is very well trained, polite, personable and eager to please. What more can a frequent diner ask for? Go and go often, it's well worth it, every time!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Outstanding evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We met some friends at Ocean Prime on a Saturday night. Started in the bar for a cocktail. The ladies each had a Cosmo. They came with a piece of dry ice, making it bubbly. Really cool, kept the Cosmo at a cold temp too. My husband got a special cocktail, bourbon sour. It was awesome. The other male in the group got a ruby red with vodka. The grapefruit was fresh squeezed. The munchie was homemade popcorn lightly salted and flavored with truffle oil. It melted in your mouth. Mike and Mike the bartenders were great. Piano bar music was starting as well.

Our server, Paul was excellent. Outstanding knowledge of wine selections. We started with the tuna tartare which was to die for. A.torte of sorts with avocado, crunchy middle and tuna on top. With a very good sauce. It was really very good.

We each split a salad (Paul recommended splitting salads since they are hearty). We had the chop chop which was excellent. The bread was just out of the oven, crusty, with whipped butter. Yum.

My entree was the special blackened snapper. Awesome. Not too spicy. My husband had the tuna. Very good. Friends had the scallops which were very large and he said quite good. The other friend had the swordfish and liked it very much.

We shared the sides: mushrooms, creamed spinach and scalloped jalapeño potatoes. All were very good, especially the spinach and potatoes.

We split two desserts, peanut butter and chocolate cake and white chocolate key lime pie. We really did not need these but they were both pleasing to the eye and palate.

Overall, it was an outstanding dinner. One of our best in Detroit area. Very relaxing, never rushed, excellent service by Paul and the team.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had a family dinner here and it was lovely. While our waiter was much too busy he kept checking back with us so we didn't feel neglected.
It is expensive but was worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Awesome and memorable experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I recently relocated to the area and he picked out Ocean Prime for my birthday celebration. It was such a great experience. They acknowledged my birthday early on, which I appreciated! The meal was phenomenal. It started with warm sourdough bread and we had a very spicy calamari dish to start. We ignored the waitress and went for the peppers and it was worth it. I ordered the dual lobster tails with a side of truffle fries...yum!!!! Then for dessert the waitress let us order dessert and said it was on her (don't you hate it when other restaurants bring out a free dessert you don't want!). We had the butter cake which was just as good as everything else. To top everything off the decor in this restaurant is chic and beautiful. One last small point that went a long way with us, they did not have an older vintage of wine that was available on the menu for cheaper than the later vintage. They gave the later vintage to us and charged us the reduced price without saying anything. Class act. We will be back!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Prime also viewed

 

Been to Ocean Prime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Prime, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.