We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but not for the price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Prime

Ocean Prime
2915 Coolidge Hwy, Troy, MI 48084-3250
248-458-0500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ocean Prime is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 246 Restaurants in Troy
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Big Beaver
windsor ontario canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food but not for the price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

A night out with four friends at Ocean prime, while the food and the service were excellent, I found it to be too pricey. Four people, appetizers, drinks and dinner, coffee but no dessert, with tip was almost $500. That is a little more than I think is reasonable. The atmosphere is contemporary and our waitress was very attentive. I just think a menu adjustment is in order if they are looking for return customers.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanPrime, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Prime, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear PSTTK,
Thank you so much for your review of Ocean Prime. We’re happy you enjoyed Ocean Prime and appreciate the feedback about the menu pricing. We always appreciate any opportunities to make improvements and would certainly love to hear any other feedback you would like to share if you would email us at info@cameronmitchell.com
Thanks again!
Sincerely,
Jessica Sauter
Guest Services Manager
Cameron Mitchell Restaurants
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    35
    13
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful food but expensive.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We loved the service, the menu items, the atmosphere. Be prepared to spend a great deal of money. Our lunch for 2 with a drink a piece was $100.00.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We have been to Ocean Prime several times over the last few years. The atmosphere is contemporary and clean. The first time we were there we loved it, but each time we go it seems to go down a notch. The last visit we waited 20 min to get a drink order and then the waitress went to the kitchen without making the drink order and then took another table's order before getting our drinks! The fondue was runny and tasteless. The fish overdone. I will say that my drink, Fresh Ruby Red, was amazing. It was mostly the bad service that made our visit so bad, but the food was very average.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanPrime, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Prime, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Karenfeet,
Thank you for your review of Ocean Prime. We sincerely apologize the service and culinary experience has declined during your recent visits. We will be sure to share this with our team as our guest feedback is very important to us. We would really like the chance to apologize personally and hear more about your experiences if you would please email us at info@cameronmitchell.com

Again, thank you for your review. We hope to connect soon.

Sincerely,
Jessica Sauter
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison Heights, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not Worth it”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Pretentious atmosphere , way overpriced. Food is good but not exceptional. Go to Kona Grill , or Kruse and Muir instead

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanPrime, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Prime, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Jeffrey,
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to have disappointed you at Ocean Prime and would very much appreciate your feedback if you would please be so kind as to email us at info@cameronmitchell.com
Thank you.

Warm Regards,
Jessica Sauter
Guest Services Manager
Cameron Mitchell Restaurants
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, MI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“My favorite spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Ocean Prime offers a nice blend of seafood and steaks in a lively atmosphere. The crowd is posh and the ambiance upscale, yet relatively casual. A very nice establishment for a night on the town or a business dinner/lunch!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Prime also viewed

 

Been to Ocean Prime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Prime, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.