We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the nicer Traverse City hotels” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bayshore Resort

Save Saved
You added Bayshore Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bayshore Resort
833 E. Front Street, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 38 hotels in Traverse City
Harbor Springs, Michigan
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“One of the nicer Traverse City hotels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Bayshore Resort one evening in early October and then again one evening three weeks later. On both occasions we were in the same ground level non-lake-view room and were very pleased with both stays. I am somewhat surprised by a few of the negative reviews, but must point out that our stay was in October, not during the summer months and that our stay was simply to be close to Traverse City Cherry Capital Airport for a flight to Great Britain and back. Obviously we did not require a lake-view room, and the room rate was quite reasonable, both because of the time of the year and the non-view location of the room. Staff was cordial, although my one disappointment was that I was clearly told over the phone that a complimentary airport shuttle started at 7:00 a.m. (our departure flight was at 8:00), but when we checked in two weeks later were told that the shuttle started at 8:00 a.m. The airport shuttle picked us up at the airport at 10:45 p.m.on our return flight, and the van driver was polite, helpful, and drove safely. We found the breakfast room attractive, with a large selection of both hot and cold items. Our room was spacious and bedding was comfortable.

As for the "Victorian" decor of the hotel, I note with amusement some negative comments by other TripAdvisor reviewers. My guess is that the view of this Victorian decor is a generational one. My wife and I are an older couple, and we found the decor quite charming. Also the landscaping of the grounds is as nice or nicer than other bayfront hotels. As others have noted, the Bayshore Resort is significantly closer to downtown Traverse City than most of its competitors.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    54
    39
    20
    12
See reviews for
51
69
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Linden, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I just visited this hotel for the first time. The location is wonderful with bay views and within walking distance to downtown. The room, however, had no comfortable chair for sitting. The standard room also has no refrigerator or microwave. This is a good spot for a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The property itself is just north of the downtown strip right on Grand Traverse Bay. Very nice location. The property itself is nice overall. Some upgrades are being done. My room itself was somewhat dated but nice and clean. I wish that I would have had a water front room versus a room that you had to hang your head out the window to see the bay. Family friendly resort. Nice pool and beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

no value found here. room was odd shaped and dark. breakfast was horrible - eggs that didn't look or taste like eggs, sausage swimming in grease, unripe fruit but lots and lots of carbs. would get an ok rating if rates were 30% less. still need to drive anywhere so location was of no particular importance.

Room Tip: not at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Michigan
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed here for two nights during the week in October to enjoy the fall colors. The Bayshore is a great location just a quick drive from downtown. The hotel and its rooms are clean and comfortable, just a little bit dated in decor. I guess I would call it "girlie" ... a bit flowery ... but who cares if you get a good night's sleep. We got a two Queen side room that was not waterside, but had a small balcony and a view of the water if you looked over the balcony a bit. The only thing I didn't like about the room was that there was no mini-fridge or in-room coffee maker. I knew that going in, but I don't want to trudge downstairs in the morning for my "make me human" first coffee.

For those looking for a free breakfast, you can do pretty well at Bayshore's buffet. All the usual breads, fruits, and beverages, plus some hot items. We had cheese omelettes, sausage, and pancakes. It's not the made-to-order type of thing, but good for the price (free!). It was jam-packed with people, too, and there was plenty for everyone. I did not use the pool or spa but they looked very nice and they were nearly empty since kids were back to school.

A good place to stay when in TC in the fall looking for reasonable prices. It will stay in my list of go-to places when I come back the next time.

Room Tip: East side balcony rooms have a tiny balcony with two chairs and a small "drink" table. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were there for a wedding. Although it was cool out, I think we had season prices, so it was about $180 per night for two relatively horrible beds. The furniture in the room was not quality (but the TV was okay). It seems that they use the term "Victorian" as an excuse to not update mattresses for decades. The view of the water is not that great. You can see land on every side. The pool is right in front of the checkout counter so basically nobody was using it. Almost every time we walked by the checkout counter, a worker would tell us to have a nice day, even if we were walking back and forth multiple times to get things out of the car (which is a long walk but that is okay). The workers seemed like freshmen in college, being underpaid. As I left, I actually found the manager and told her I was not impressed. By that point, I did not want to make a scene. I would never go to this hotel again for season prices.

Room Tip: The only thing that makes it a resort is you can walk out to the small water area in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, Michigan
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in late September. It was a great location for touring the wineries in both the Old Mission and Leelanau Peninsulas. It was also very conveniently located near downtown Traverse City. The staff was very friendly and efficient. We never had any problems during our stay. The breakfast buffet that was included with the room was quite good and better than other hotels we've stayed at in the past. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Bay front rooms offer a beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayshore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayshore Resort

Address: 833 E. Front Street, Traverse City, MI 49686
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Traverse City
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#16 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are ready for a romantic relaxing getaway or simply enthusiastically wanting to indulge your sense of adventure, you can do it here at Bayshore Resort! Our Victorian style hotel is nestled on the beach of West Grand Traverse Bay and offers the best of all you love about Traverse City - a great waterfront location and a short stroll away from downtown with its diverse dining, shopping, and nightlife. Bayshore Resort has the perfect room to fit the specific needs of every guest from amazing views to Spa Rooms, Suites, and more! Our complimentary Wi-Fi makes it convenient to mix business with pleasure. Join us every morning for a fresh, complimentary breakfast before spending the day on our private beach, taking a swim in the large indoor pool, or venturing out to explore the charming shops and restaurants that the area has to offer. Taking a day trip couldn’t be easier as it is only a short drive to the area’s elegant wineries, exciting casinos and exceptional Sleeping Bear Sand Dunes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Bayshore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayshore Hotel Traverse City
Bayshore Resort Traverse City
Bayshore Traverse City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayshore Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.